We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good venue, in a perfect location”
Review of Le Placide

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Placide
Ranked #547 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Lovely boutique hotel, intimate in the heart of Paris; Rooms are large considering we're in Paris, and so are bathrooms. The location just next to the Bon Marché and rue Saint-Germé des Prés is ideal.
Be informed that breakfast is typically French (no eggs for example) and if you book through their website, ensure you keep a screenshot of what you've selected, that's what I did following another advice on TripAdvisor, since they also told me afterwards that breakfast wasn't included. The screenshot cleared it all but It wasn't the best way to start the stay.
Other minus: radio station and iPhone deck were out of order in the room.
Overall a good hotel for a family stay but a little overarated if you're looking for a typical 4 stars hotel quality.
To note: top staff.

Room Tip: Rooms facing rue Saint-Placide. Quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
placide48, Propriétaire at Le Placide, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear guest,


We would like to thank you for retrieving on hotel Le Placide.
It is true that location of the hotel is one of our main strength.
We are sorry for such a confusion during your check-in but we are happy to read that problem was solved afterwards.
We often check every radios and docks to replace batteries, we will pay more attention to it.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again in our hotel.

Best regards
Mme Bessade
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

Wonderful, small, boutique hotel in St. Germain, Paris. Excellent location for walking to major attractions or hoping onto the Metro. Quiet neighborhood at night (good for sleeping after a long day exploring the city).Clean rooms, comfortable bed, in-room safe and free wifi. Breakfast in the morning was delicious/well-appointed.
The staff is friendly and attentive. Very helpful. Our first night recommended a wonderful restaurant only a short walk away and it did not disappoint. One of our favorite of the trip.
I would stay here again in an instant. Perfect hotel for our first (and certainly not last) trip to Paris. I recommend the top floor rooms as they have a balcony over looking the street.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
placide48, Propriétaire at Le Placide, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your retrieving on Le Placide Hôtel Paris.
It is true that we offer a convenient location, Bon Marché just a few meters away, 3 different subway line by 2mn walk. And lots of good restaurants and shops around.
We are always looking forward to make your stay the more comfortable and respond to your needs.

Looking Forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best regards
Fabien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This a fantastic small boutique hotel in the heart of Saint Germain, Paris. Given European sized rooms are typically small, the rooms at Le Placide are generous in size and was perfect for a 7 night stay.

The rooms are clean, spacious, with adequate storage options. The bathroom was also spacious, clean and modern. The bed was very comfortable!

The staff are welcoming, friendly and no request was ever to big. Fabien was standout, he was friendly, attentive and always wiling to help. This made our first time in Paris a real highlight of our trip.

The hotel location is another plus - Le Bon Marche is across the street. As are many Saint Germain shops, cafés and within walking distance to the Seine if you want to take a different route and take a boat to see the sites.

We loved Paris and will definitely stay at Le Placide again - thank you for having us.

Room Tip: Room facing Rue Saint-Placide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joonjooni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
placide48, Propriétaire at Le Placide, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear guest,

We are honored by your comment.

We would like to heart fill all requests of our guests, and meet all the needs expressed. Your loyalty is our greatest reward. We will pass on your praise to our entire team.

Waiting to welcome you back, we send you our bests regards.
Mme Bessade
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Lovely hotel, very clean and modern. In an area with very good transport links and not too far to walk into the very centre. Lots of restaurants nearby but the concierge booked us into two excellent restaurants, so would recommend asking him.
Will certainly stay here on our next visit.

Room Tip: The junior suite, with a street view is great .... and surprisingly quiet at night. Good air conditi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed11700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
placide48, Propriétaire at Le Placide, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Ed,

Thank you infinitely for your message.
We shall be delighted to welcome you again to the Calm hotel, and to allow you to discover the city Light.

With our thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

On previous trips to Paris we've stayed at a wonderful French hotel with very large rooms and at a spacious American hotel as well. Thinking that we might want to stay in Sainte Germain this time I consulted with my American Express Platinum travel guide who suggested I book a room at this French hotel.
Situated very close to Au Bon Marche', the location was great and the hotel was certainly fine but not what we're used to. Having booked the "junior suite" with 3 beds I anticipated that it would be more spacious. It was so small in fact that the concierge suggested they take some of our luggage and store it elsewhere in the hotel! I know that most French hotel rooms are small but this was quite crowded for the three of us.
The bathroom was about the size of the main room and had a wonderfully large vanity, a towel warmer and a tub//shower. The shower head would not stay in place to allow for the water to flow freely and we found that we could not comfortably lather and shower without getting a huge amount of water on the bathroom floor and not very much on ourselves! I must say the room was clean the beds were very comfortable but the room became incredibly hot during the night despite the fact that it was air conditioned. Because the hotel has a 2 day cancellation policy we stayed a second night and enjoyed our days ( albeit rainy) in lovely Sainte Germain. The concierge was not happy with our decision to leave and we certainly understand but my family and I decided we'd be more comfortable at a hotel with which we were familiar. Please be assured that it is not a bad hotel by any means but it just didn't work for us.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FQRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
placide48, Propriétaire at Le Placide, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Client,

We are sorry that the hotel Placide is not able to meet your expectations. The concept of the boutique hotel is different: human size, tastefully decorated, warm and refined atmosphere, convenient location.

In a mansion of the sixth area of Paris, study room has been designed by a designer who has promoted the crossing light, large bathrooms in the rooms of 25m2.

At another time, we could offer two Junior Suites for your family.

Sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Very nice small hotel. Very clean and comfortable room. We had a balcony room which we liked very much although the bed was very, french style, small. Friendly people at the reception. Good service. Nice neighbourhood, close to many shops and restaurants, little park. Bon Marché at the corner. Walking distance to the Metro. We stayed in many, also nice, hotels in Paris but at Le Placide we definitely come back again.

Room Tip: Balcony room is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RisuKondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
placide48, Propriétaire at Le Placide, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Client,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comment on Tripadvisor.

We are honored that you have come to appreciate as decoration, refined atmosphere as the services and the professionalism of our reception, constantly listening to our customers.

Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I've head a very pleasant stay at this hotel during my one day shopping trip to Paris. The hotel is placed next door to Bon Marche department store which makes it especially useful for shopping trips like mine. The downstairs loft room is decorated with taste and has a very comfortable bed and bathroom. The breakfast area is pleasant and the breakfast itself has a good selection. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msoukhodolets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
placide48, Propriétaire at Le Placide, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear client,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comment Tripadvisor.

We are delighted that you had a memorable time in our boutique Hotel. We will certainly pass on your praise to our team.
Indeed, near the Bon Marché, chic and trendy, an ideal location for shopping and for living!

Waiting to welcome you again, we send you our sincere greetings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
Sevres Saint Germain Hotel
#136 of 1,802 in Paris
524 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Sainte Beuve
Hotel Sainte Beuve
#58 of 1,802 in Paris
585 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Littre
Hotel Le Littre
#222 of 1,802 in Paris
1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Holiday Inn Paris-St. Germain Des Pres
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Le Petit Chomel
Le Petit Chomel
#124 of 1,802 in Paris
344 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel le Senat
Hotel le Senat
#606 of 1,802 in Paris
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Placide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Placide

Address: 6 rue Saint Placide, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#293 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#316 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#344 Family Hotel in Paris
#448 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £149 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Placide 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New design Boutique-hotel in Saint-Germain. 11 Rooms. Some with balcony. Free internet connections, air conditioned, room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Placide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Placide Paris
Le Placide Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing