We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location”
Review of Hotel Gay-Lussac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Gay-Lussac
Ranked #1,456 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good location”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The location of the hotel was terrific, just few minutes walking from Pantheon. For being that central the price was quite convenient. However, the place wasn't very clean. The wi-fi connection, which was crucial for me as I was travelling for work, was very poor and when I complained about it, they just shrugged.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the street if you're bothered by street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Valeria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    42
    40
    17
    14
See reviews for
28
32
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Comfortable, clean, cozy old hotel with a Fourth Republic aura; ideal for those on a budget but who really want to stay in the Latin Quarter. A bit hidebound but in a charming way (they don't do third-party bookings), you can still either get a complete hotel room or one where you share w/c and/or shower. Breakfast is ample for 8 euros and good for people like me who need a cup of coffee in the morning before facing the world even on holiday. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank troilus_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

In the Quartier Latin, a pleasant neighbourhood, very close to the metro, just 3 stops from Gare du Nord.

It;'s a cosy hotel because it's small and the owners are sweet. The place is somewhat worn-out, but very clean with fresh sheets and good towels. So for people who don't expect fancy things but are happy with clean, good location and a friendly smile from the staff, this is good value for money. One of the few places in Paris I can afford and still be comfortable in.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MTWoltering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The Gay Lussac is a very old and battered hotel. Almost everything shows wear and tear, from the broken ceilling lamps in the stairs to the curtains of the rooms. Some repairs are almost unbelievable, such as ventilation piece nailed to the wall with huge nails sticking out by several centimeters, or a bedlamp cord broken and tied back with a crude knot. The decoration of the hotel and the rooms feels like 1940s or 1950s, and I think this is not just a feeling.

My room had two very small beds. It reminded me of my old boarding school. That, added to the constant noise of the very large street (2nd floor, no double glazing) and the cold (no double glazing again), I cannot say I slept well there.

The breakfast was not very good. The orange was coming from a machine but OK. The coffee was overcooked. The only choice of food was bread, chewy croissants (capital crime in Paris!) and undercooked chaussons aux pommes.

The network was free but a bit erratic, sometimes good, sometimes almost inexistent. This despite the efforts to put several routers at different levels.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lenov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Andover, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I've stayed here three times and the only reason I hesitated to review it was a selfish one - I was afraid it it had more publicity, more people would come and it would be harder to get a reservation. It's a very clean hotel, with a friendly staff. The rooms have just gone up a bit, but are still VERY reasonable for Paris. There are rooms without private bath and shower though for those who want to save a few euro. Breakfast is included, and is really excellent- croissants, baguettes, yogurt, coffee, orange juice, etc. Very convenient to the Latin Quarter, Pantheon, Luxembourg Gardens, etc. The nearest RER is Luxembourg, but two bus lines stop in front of the hotel.. I believe it's family run, and has been in business since the early 1960's. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 132jlj132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannover, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

I've stayed in many hotels in Paris over the last 20+ years - but I just love the simplicity of the Gay Lussac...not to mention the fabulous location. Yes it is a bit tired and old-fashioned, but I have always found it to be clean and welcoming. Let's face it, in Paris the only reason for being in your hotel room is to shower and sleep - so this hotel is more than sufficient.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte NC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

I have gone to Paris at least once a year for 20+ years. Now I stay in different areas, to learn a new neighborhood each time. But for several years I always went to the same place, because it was comfortable, cheap and friendly.
It was the Hotel Gay-Lussac, in the 5th arrondissment, on the Left Bank's Rue Gay-Lussac. Still today, when I am in Paris I always visit the area. It still feels like "the Old Neighborhood", the place you are most familiar with in Your Town.
It's a totally undistinguished hotel. The rooms are small, the bathrooms cut into the corners of the rooms as a nod to the Americans who aren't willing to walk down the hall as we used to do.
But the management is friendly, the area is delightful (Jardin Luxembourg nearby) and the rooms clean and cheap. I recommend it heartily.

Room Tip: There are larger rooms upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank senorcinco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel du Bresil
Hotel du Bresil
#1,188 of 1,800 in Paris
256 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel de Senlis
Hotel de Senlis
#1,485 of 1,800 in Paris
107 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Cluny Sorbonne
Hotel Cluny Sorbonne
#891 of 1,800 in Paris
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel Elysa Luxembourg
Hotel Elysa Luxembourg
#792 of 1,800 in Paris
478 reviews
Quartier Latin
Qualys Hotel Apolonia Mouffetard Paris 5
Quartier Latin
Hotel du Commerce
Hotel du Commerce
#1,609 of 1,800 in Paris
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gay-Lussac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gay-Lussac

Property: Hotel Gay-Lussac
Address: 29 rue Gay Lussac | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,456 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Gay-Lussac 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Gay-Lussac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gay Lussac
Gay Lussac Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing