We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Marais House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marais House
Ranked #64 of 132 Paris B&B and Inns
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Thank you Yann.
Loved the location so discrete, loved the house, the bedroom was so quiet and comfortable very spacious and beautifully appointed . The bed was blissful. Breakfast was perfect and at a very civilized hour.
Thank you again Yann for the use of your beautiful home.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maraishouse, Gérant at Marais House, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Thank you for your kindnes in taking the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    6
    1
    3
    3
See reviews for
3
24
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

You can stay in an ordinary hotel, or you can stay at The Marais House and add another wonderful memory and experience to your Paris visit. Besides being in a great location, the House is all eye candy...antiques, wall hangings, a glass floor, and a hidden elevator to add mystery. The owner/host, Yann, adds warmth, charm, and a vast knowledge of the city to make your visit more enjoyable. We looked forward to having tea at the end of the day with Yann and his two well-behaved chocolate labs that sat at our feet. We look forward to returning to the Marais House in the future.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GarboGretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maraishouse, Propriétaire at Marais House, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Thank you, it was a pleasure to have you stay at the house.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2011

Hi, we traveled to Paris with my wife and decided to stay at Yann's Marais House. We are originally from Paris but live in South America. Our stay was a delight, Yann is a fantastic host and the location of his House is very central. All Paris monuments are within walking distance, which was one of our most important desires. Tea time at Yann's is always fun, with an eclectic group of people from those staying in the House to friends who drop by. A must try !

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jfdelortr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

The discrete location is annoying when you arrive in Paris very early and just want to get to your hotel. Its also rather unwelcoming. The hotel is very dark and somewhat creepy. I certainly wouldn't have been happy staying there on my own. In terms of cleanliness its sort of as clean as I would expect someone's house to be but not sparkling hotel clean. The bed was made in a way that I would make my spare bed up in our spare room but not really hotel quality. Soooo.. in short if your looking for a b&b then this place is very much that and certainly NOT hotel quality. It's all a bit dark and creepy in m opinion and very over priced.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HillaryLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maraishouse, Owner at Marais House, responded to this review, 4 March 2011
It must be a coincidence that the three last negative reviews seem to have one point in common and that is that we have no idea who they are from. This review having been posted on the 24th February for an alleged stay in December doubles our suspicion.

We shall just answer it point by point below.

The discrete location is annoying when you arrive in Paris very early and just want to get to your hotel.

We do not understand what is referred to as a 'discrete location' and if so ; what is annoying about being discrete? As for arriving early, as this person claims to have, yes indeed we do accept early arrivals for which we do not charge. A pity this was not mentioned by this person who claims to have arrived early. Also, this person calls us a hotel which we are not.

Its also rather unwelcoming. The hotel is very dark and somewhat creepy. I certainly wouldn't have been happy staying there on my own.

If this person indeed stayed here and found it un welcoming, dark and creepy, Why stay? Why should anyone stay in a dark creepy place with so many other Paris options?

Again, we are not a hotel but a private townhouse featured in Architectural Digest and many other magazines (a selection of which that can be seen on our web site).

Possibly this person stayed in a dark, un welcoming, creepy hotel and not with us as we repeat, WE ARE NOT A HOTEL.

In terms of cleanliness its sort of as clean as I would expect someone's house to be but not sparkling hotel clean.

If indeed this person stayed here, why not say so and wait two months to complain? This person once again refers to us as a hotel for the third time; having stayed here they should know we are not.

The bed was made in a way that I would make my spare bed up in our spare room but not really hotel quality.

It is a pity we were not explained by this person how she wanted the beds to be made. Seeing that we make them up twice a day, morning and evening, there was ample opportunity to say something. We never have heard about the way the beds are made up in all these years.

Soooo.. in short if your looking for a b&b then this place is very much that and certainly NOT hotel quality.

It's all a bit dark and creepy in m opinion and very over priced.

In short, we actually do not believe this person has stayed here in December, waiting two months to post this, and if indeed they did why did they accept all of these alleged shortcomings? They claim to have stayed here and yet called us a hotel on five different occasions on their complaint.

We have never pretended to be a hotel, we are a B and B, how after staying here could they not know this, if indeed they have been here at all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2011

Four dear friends and I were recently fortunate enough to have stayed at the Marais House for five nights, thoroughly enjoying the magnificence of our surroundings and the graciousness and generosity of Yann, our host and owner. Also welcoming us warmly were Bonheur and Vendôme, Yann's sweet and gentle Chocolate Labs, who added joy to our stay.

We could not have asked for a more wonderful experience. Yann's attention to detail and consideration of our needs were impeccable. For anyone wishing to receive the personal touch never found in chains or hotels, the Marais House is perfect. Yann accommodated our every wish and provided so much information, truly enhancing our enjoyment of Paris. He is very interesting, knowledgeable and charming, and we thoroughly enjoyed our conversations during the delicious tea and champagne hours he hosted in the lovely drawing room. What a treat they were.

The Marais House is a treasure and a reflection of much love for its history and content. Everything in it has an intriguing story. Our rooms and beds were very comfortable and the baths great with an abundance of hot water and plush towels. Breakfast was from 10:00 AM to noon giving us the option of sleeping in and not rushing in the morning, a lovely plus. It was served in the colorful "basement," a cave-like area once part of an important tunnel system that existed through the homes. Breakfast was ample and delicious, and we tended to linger there just to take in the atmosphere. The location of the Marais House is another plus, so convenient in this historic and fascinating area giving easy access to all the sites.

Staying at the Marais House was like staying at a friend's home. It was warm, inviting and very comfortable. Yet the design also provided complete privacy as well. Coming in from each day's activities was a pleasure knowing a friend, Yann, was there. This was our first stay here, the first of more we hope. On a personal note, I'd like to thank Yann for his diligence in finding an important item for me, namely a small earring that has been all over the world with me. I was so sure I had seen the last of it knowing it was lost, but Yann amazed me by finding it in an obscure place no one else would have considered. That's the kind of person Yann is. That's the kind of personal attention he gives and caring he has for his guests.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maraishouse, Owner at Marais House, responded to this review, 25 February 2011
We are always amazed to see how kind some guests are to take time off from their busy schedules to write favourably about us and their stays. It truly was a pleasure having this group of friends at the house and host a birthday drinks party for them and their friends staying at other accommodations in the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2010

I just got back from a great trip to Paris and Rome. I went with a good friend from college whose daughter is studying in Rome. Yann, our host at The Marais House in Paris, exceeded my expectations due to his caring and guidance. He helped us with cabs, maps, set out a lovely European breakfast in the most gorgeous stone room, beautifully appointed. We were welcomed for teas in the lowly lit and lavish living room decorated with floor to ceiling antiques. The elevator worked fine. The place was clean. We were toasty warm. The beds were comfy. I loved feeling like I was in a historic home rather than some new place in America. That's exactly what I wanted! I'm really looking forward to going back with my husband and grown daughters. I found the whole experience delightful and interesting. Thanks very much to Yann and his two adorable chocolate labs for such wonderful hospitality.

Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank pjgwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maraishouse, Manager at Marais House, responded to this review, 25 February 2011
We are incredibly fortunate to have the calibre of guests we do, it truly is more like receiving persons of ones acquaintance then actual strangers for the greater majority of our guests who rapidly seem to blend into the house's atmosphere and become part of it'sambiance. This of course is multiplied when many of our guests are repeat visitors, some yearly and others several times per year making it all so more comfortable when they return.

It always is a pleasure to see that some are able to take time to also be so kind in writing favourably about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

What could have been so very wonderful was so very irritating due to the owner and his attitude.

For the same price as the always spectacular Relais & Chateaux we tearfully handed over 400 Euros for a night spent in Paris prior to an early morning flight the next day.

His restaurant recommendation, having sneered at our own choices was nearby and that's about the extent of it's positives. It wasn't the restaurant's fault but it's cuisine was from the exact region that we live in even though we had stated we were looking for something different.

The house itself is very beautiful but I agree with a previous post, perhaps he should keep his business to photo shoots only as you do get the impression that ordinary folk are beneath him. So beneath him that our toilet wasn't even cleaned from the previous guest.

Regarding breakfast, we were told we would miss the occasion as we were departing at 9:30am, but then in the morning we were invited to an earlier breakfast at the request of another guest.

It was just a great big shame, the whole thing from start to finish and it could have been so wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CultureVulture88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maraishouse, Propriétaire at Marais House, responded to this review, 22 October 2010
We have absolutely no idea who these guests are or where they stayed, truly believing they to be confusing us with somewhere else.

First of all we do not understand the price quoted as it is not in our price structure. We also are not a Chateau Hotel as they seem to believe we to be (not being a chateau OR a hotel). Where do they get this from? Not us!

We also do not understand the reference to photo shoots, this is not what we do, we have indeed had a client who stayed with us and asked to use the house for a photo shoot. Why bring this up?

As for the toilet not being cleaned from the previous client. If this indeed was the case, wherever they were, why not complain about it immediately? Such a horrid discovery is something totally not acceptable; anywhere.

We certainly would have remembered such a legitimate complaint.

They claim that since they had an early flight we informed them they could not have breakfast, but write they did have breakfast here at nine thirty; which is in contradiction to an early flight. If one has an early flight one is not having breakfast in Paris at 9,30 when one needs to be at the airport two hours prior to flight time, counting half an hour to fourty five minutes to the airport; This would place their flight after twelve PM. Not exactly an early flight!

What totally throws us off is the claim that they were invited by other guests to have breakfast as guests are always amazed at how they feel as if they are alone staying at the house never seeing any one else.

Indeed the very few opportunities guests have to meet one another is at the breakfast table situated in the basement dinning room that one has to go out of their way to get to, so if these persons met other guests at 9,30 (in this house at least) it obviously was sitting at that very table having their breakfast. Where else would they meet guests?

What is puzzling is that after five years of experience we rarely have had anyone coming down for breakfast before ten thirty/eleven as guests seem to enjoy sleeping in.

As for the restaurant recommendation that was from their "region" which they did not want, Since 100% of our clients are foreign; what region is meant ? When asked we do give a list of restaurants within walking distance of the house however , reviewing it, all have French cuisine and non are foreign.

All of the above facts indeed bring us to one query and that is "Where did these unfortunate people stay".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Hotel du Petit Moulin
Hotel du Petit Moulin
#326 of 1,802 in Paris
434 reviews
Le Marais
My Hotel in France le Marais by HappyCulture
Le Marais
Hotel de Neuve by HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Marais
Hotel Saint-Louis Saintonge
Hotel Saint-Louis Saintonge
#1,110 of 1,802 in Paris
176 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Les Jardins du Marais
Le Marais
Hotel Jacques de Molay
Hotel Jacques de Molay
#668 of 1,802 in Paris
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marais House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marais House

Property: Marais House
Address: Rue De Turenne, 75003 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais , Notre Dame / Marais
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 132 B&Bs / Inns in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Marais House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marais House Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing