We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly budget hotel”
Review of Hotel Monnier

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Monnier
Ranked #1,400 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed four nights start of June 2013 and enjoyed this small quaint hotel in Montmarte. Our room was on the top floor , had a small balcony with nice views over typical Parisian street scape to the city. Staff were friendly and spoke English so could assist with directions and offer help. Rooms were clean and comfortable but yes bathrooms are small. Great location within 5 minutes walk to Moulin Rouge . Plenty of eateries within metres of the hotel. Metro station just a few blocks away all this make it a great little hotel at affordable price

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shane a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2013

The rooms and bathrooms were clean enough, but the toilet/bathrooms were tiny and stinked like hell. It was a torture to be in there.

A basic breakfast was provided but the quantity of items stocked fell far short of requirement. On both mornings croissants were over by 8:15am, though breakfast time was until 10am. When we asked they refused to fetch some more, saying we can buy our own when we went out.

The lady at the reception on the day we arrived was very friendly and welcoming and offered a lot of useful information on sightseeing in Paris. The other receptionists were also friendly. The let us checkin in the morning itself (around 11am). The hotel was well located, close to Pigale and St.George Metros. We could also walk to the Sacre Cour. Taxi to Gare du Nord / Est costs 6 to 7 Euros.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
Thank bike_lad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in the middle of June 2013. The receptionalist was a very possitive person, polite and friendly. The room was big enough, the bathroom and the room were very clean, we had a flat TV. The main reasons to choose Monnier hotel are:
- the location (close to 2-3 metro stations), close to the Train Station (20 mins walking) and close to Monmartre (walking distance).
- the budget. The price for 2 nights was 1/2 of the alternatives
- the bakery across the the street and the restaurant "Chez Sofia", situated a minute away from the hotel
Nice and cosy hotel.
Best,

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ABC D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised how nice this hotel was. Our family stayed in a 4-person room for 3 nights, which had two queen (?) beds and a clean bathroom. We had free wifi in the room and a tv. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The elevator was small so I took the stairs most of the time. We bought our breakfast at the nearby bakery each morning (because I had been looking forward to doing that, nothing against the hotel), so I can't say anything about their breakfast, though they did give us free coffee one morning! Around the corner from the hotel are 4 café's and plenty more in walking distance, so plenty of options for dinner/lunch/drinks. The hotel is located near at least two metro locations and we were able to get to where we wanted to go easily from there! Maybe not the best neighborhood to be in late at night (toward Pigalle), but the hotel is fine!

1  Thank airwin-ca
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 August 2012

5 night stay, made all the better by this wonderful hotel. Paris in August is always very hot and the only downside is that there is no air-conditioning, but it would be unusual to find that in a small Paris hotel anyway. The staff went out of their way to be helpful & friendly, even offering us their own portable A-C unit. Very good when offering directions etc. 2 minute walk from either St George or Pigalle stations. Clean & comfortable, tea & coffee facilities, the lift was a real help as we were on the 5th floor. Quadruple room which was fine for 2 adults, teenager & 9 year old. Quiet area. Although it is near the red-light area didn't encounter anything untoward. Breakfast was typical continental with a good selection although only chose to have it on one morning (payable in addition to the room). We were even able to leave our luggage after we had checked out as we had a late flight. Would definitely return to Hotel Monnier!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John666ftm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Stayed here with my parents and younger sister. One room for the four of us, but we found it nice and cosy. It's a quaint little hotel. There are plenty of bars and restaurants around the hotel and the bakery right next to it is fabulous. There's a computer that you can use at the lobby and free wifi at the lobby! The lift was definitely of great help for our huge luggages. The room is very clean. But what really made our stay memorable was the staff, no matter what time of the day, they were all very helpful and they would suggest places we should visit. Don't worry about the red light district, I didn't even see it! Clean room, a working lift and great service, definitely worth the very little money we paid. It's a bit far but we could even walk to Galeries Lafeyette. (It may be quite difficult to locate the place if you dont know your directions well as it is not very close to the metro, that's all)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

I spent two nights at the Hotel Monnier this last weekend and found the accommodations to be very clean, very well located, safe and the staff incredibly helpful. There must be over 50 great cafés, restaurants and bars within 5 min on foot, with both St Georges and Pigalle Metro stations just down the street. Don't let the red light district keep you from booking, you're quite a few blocks from it and the square the hotel is in has a great local feel. 15 min walk to Gare du Nord. Boulangerie next door and one across the street. I will come back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IntlSpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Victor Masse
Hotel Victor Masse
#1,013 of 1,803 in Paris
610 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Villa Margaux Opera Montmartre
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Lorette - Astotel
Hotel Lorette - Astotel
#168 of 1,803 in Paris
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Opera / Bourse
Hotel George - Astotel
Hotel George - Astotel
#91 of 1,803 in Paris
838 reviews
La Villette
St Christopher's Canal Paris
Grand Hotel Francais
#104 of 1,803 in Paris
2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monnier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monnier

Address: 14 rue Henry Monnier | 9th Arr., 75009 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,400 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Monnier 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Monnier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monnier Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing