We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel, Not the Best Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Le 20 Prieure
Ranked #625 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Average Hotel, Not the Best Location”
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We stay at the hotel in May for 4 days, the rooms were clean but extremely small, just an average hotel, the staff was really nice they all speak English, and the price is very good. However we did not like the location, is far from the touristic places, the nice bars & restaurants, after 10 pm at night is better to take a taxi to the hotel because is safer than taking the metro.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adriana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
le20prieure, Directeur général at Hotel Le 20 Prieure, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear Sir,

I thank you very much for taking time to share your experience at the 20 Prieuré Hôtel.

We are very glad to read that you spent a good time in Paris, it was a real pleasure welcoming you.

You booked one the 5 single rooms of the hotel which are made for one person in the required standard for a 3 stars hotel, and we thank you for the nice pictures you have taken.

As for the location, I afford to remind the Trip Advisor readers that the hotel is only a few steps from Centre Pompidou, the Marais, Bastille and Canal St Martin. Moreover, with the closest metro station, Republique, and its 5 metro lines, you can go everywhere in the city, as for instance : Eiffel Tour, Champs Elysées, Opéra, Rivoli, Madeleine…

Our neighbourhood is also full of typical restaurants and bars that we’re always happy to recommend.

Taxi is comfortable and easy to find wherever you are, but the metro is still the quickest way to travel inside Paris. The city and its public transportations remain very safe even late at night (unless you keep your bag opened for pickpockets!).

Giving you the best memory of your stay is our greatest reward, we would be very happy to host you another time. Feel free to contact us before your next Parisian trip, we would love to help you preparing it.

With our best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    190
    44
    10
    4
See reviews for
81
143
50
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012 via mobile

It was our first time in France and we had a wonderful 4-night stay in this hotel. Everything was simply perfect! The hotel was really comfy and clean; room was nice and cozy; location is excellent (very near to the metro, 2 mins walk only). The reception people were really friendly and helpful! It is definitely a little gem in Paris and we will definitely stay here again for our next visit.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2012

My partner and I stayed here for three days in mid-May and enjoyed our stay. The hotel is reasonably priced, near transportation and is not far from the Marais (i.e. not super touristy, which I always prefer). The room wasn't "corner clean," but other than that it was great.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErinD073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012 via mobile

Modest but efficient room; desk clerk consistently friendly and super-helpful. Free water bottle each day, as well as fresh fruit and pastry.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladygadgetkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

After days of figuring out the hotel I would be staying, I came across this one. I already had a room on hold at another, but was hesitant because of the photos. While Hotel Le 20 Prieure mostly decent reviews, I was concerned about a few of the negative comments.
Well, it turned out to be perfect! My only negative would be the size of the shower in my room.
Otherwise, the breakfast (paid separately), staff, location and comfort was just perfect!
The Manager, Benoit really knows how to run the hotel and make the guests feel very welcome.
Nice non-touristy restaurants in the area and the metro is just around the corner. Definitely a hotel I would return to as well as recommend to others!!

Room Tip: I was on the 6th floor which perfect for me
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jfspin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholms Län, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Nice little hotel, very friendly and helpfull staff and and a clean room. Will be happy to return

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parisweekend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Great hotel with walking distance from practically everything. Nice helpful staff, englishspeaking. Rooms on the small side but modern and bathroom great. Lots of restaurants and bistros nearby. We had a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Cecilia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Gabriel Paris
Hotel Gabriel Paris
#296 of 1,800 in Paris
735 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Angely Hotel
Angely Hotel
#554 of 1,800 in Paris
503 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Alhambra
Hotel Alhambra
#503 of 1,800 in Paris
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Saint-Martin
Ibis Paris Avenue de la Republique
Bastille / Oberkampf
Le General Hotel
Le General Hotel
#407 of 1,800 in Paris
139 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel du Nord et de l'Est
Hotel du Nord et de l'Est
#1,054 of 1,800 in Paris
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le 20 Prieure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le 20 Prieure

Property: Hotel Le 20 Prieure
Address: 20 rue du grand Prieure, 75011 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf , République
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#457 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le 20 Prieure 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design & cosy 3 stars Hotel closed to the neighborhood of the Marais and Republique. 5 metro lines at 300m. Free Wifi access, colored breakfast and friendly staff ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Le 20 Prieure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 20 Prieure Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing