We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Neighborhood and wonderful (but noisy...”
other travellers have booked this property
French window and French doors opening onto garden courtyard.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
French window and French doors opening onto garden courtyard.
The ideal Paris vacation apartment. 17th century stone walls and oak beams characteristic of the Marais.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
French window and French doors opening onto garden courtyard.
The ideal Paris vacation apartment.
17th century stone walls and oak beams characteristic of the Marais.
Antique hand-carved bed, with new high quality mattress, 100% cotton sheets.
The charming, well-equipped kitchen.
Modern appliances, plenty of space for cooking wonderful meals.
View from the kitchen to front door, windows, French doors.
Elegant, modern bath.
Large bathtub w/hand shower wand, and separate luxurious overhead shower.
View from courtyard toward apartment door (open) and windows.
Rare 17th c. 'colombage' in the courtyard -- the way all of Paris once looked!
Just around the corner from the apartment...
The splendid Picasso Museum, just steps away.
The Rue Charlot, a narrow street in the Marais full of interesting shops.
A few doors down, the oldest open air market in Paris! A real treat.
Your local boulangerie -- so good, there's sometimes a line out the door.
In the window of the same boulangerie on another day.
Romantic! This famous fountain is less than ten minutes walk from the apartment.
3 minutes walk from the apt! Ask me about accessing the secret gardens here.
Lunch inside the Marche des Enfants Rouges, a vibrant spot!
Organic bread stand, Marche des Enfants Rouges.
One of 17 (yes, 17!) gardens within a few 100m of the apt. Several are secret!
The convivial Cafe Charlot. There are many other cafes on the same street.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Paris, Ile-de-France

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

michaelbr...
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Neighborhood and wonderful (but noisy) apartment”
Reviewed 28 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Located in an enchanting part of the Marais, truly a wonderful place to call home. Restaurants, shops, and boutiques surround you in this well appointed and comfortable apartment. Resting on the ground floor, there are few stairs to climb. Although we were told repeatedly by the owner to respect the privacy of others in the building (which we would have done without being told), we found that the neighbors above us loved to throw parties throughout the night. In the morning, they argued as loudly as their partied. So, if you are immune to being disturbed by the noise of those who live in the apartment building, then this is an absolute must!

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: noise
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jan 2016
Having never had a complaint about noise in more than a decade of renting our apartment, I was surprised by your experience that one night. (As you told me in your email, it was just one party one night.) I called the woman who lives above, and she asked me to extend her apologies to you. It was, in fact, the first get-together she had hosted in a very long time. She explained that she had stepped out, and during that time some of her guests got carried away (which was the subject of the argument the next day). Of course, since you only stayed a couple nights, it was difficult for you to judge what is normal, but I can assure you that you just had bad luck and that there's never been a problem before or since. In fact, just to be sure, I've asked every visitor since your stay if there was any noise and everyone has said no. So, I hope you'll accept her apology. Also, just for future reference, disturbing the neighbors is taken very seriously in Paris, much more so than in many other places. It comes from centuries of living in high density urban environments like Paris. Practically speaking, that means that complaints are responded to. So, should you ever experience nocturnal noise in Paris again, whether from another apartment or from the street, you should call the owners of the apartment where you are staying. In this case, I would have called the apartment in question and can pretty much guarantee that the noise would have abated immediately. If it did not, I would have called the owners of that apartment, and then the police. The latter do, in fact, respond to such complaints, generally sending an officer to knock on the door in question. In any event, we would welcome the chance to have you back so that you can have the normal experience of the surprising quiet that our other visitors have enjoyed in our apartment, despite being in the center of a big city. Being ensconced within stone walls off of a quiet little garden away from the street, it's a haven of peace. And that's the main reason we purchased it many years ago.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George D
Lawrence, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cozy quiet well located gem in the Marais”
Reviewed 15 December 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

While I am reluctant to provide effusive praise as this will contribute to even longer book in advance times :) I would highly recommend this apartment. My only regrets are that we we only there for a 3 day stay and I ended up having to leave a Belgian beer for the next occupants :).

Chris was very professional and thorough in our dealings and was able to arrange an early bag dropoff for us as well as make taxi arrangements to the airport for our departure. This was our third trip to Paris and the first to use an apartment. The apartment was well laid out with attractive lighting and very homelike. It made me feel like a Parisian to walk to the bakery in the morning for the traditional baguette, visit the local grocery stores for supplies and visit the Caractère du Cochon for a traditional jambon-beurre at a very reasonable price returning to the apartment to listen to some classic jazz.

Art lovers will appreciate the proximity of the Picasso museum, the Musee Carnavalet and the Musée Cognacq-Jay with the latter two having free admission. If your stay includes a Sunday it certainly is worthwhile to walk over to the huge Bastille market. We certainly hope to be able stay at the apartment again on our next visit and explore the charming neighborhood more thoroughly.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and apartment ambience
Liked least: long advance booking time
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon S
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Quiet, Clean, and Comfortable!”
Reviewed 29 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed in the Marais Cottage in November of 2015. The apartment is clean, cozy, and comfortable, and has a lot of character. It is also very quiet, being situated on the interior courtyard of the building. The kitchen and bathroom have all that you need, including a washer and dryer. All of the appliances work, and work well! The shower has great water pressure and there is ample hot water (not always the case when I've stayed at other rentals in Europe). There is a large, clean bathtub, if you enjoy taking a bath after a long day of walking around Paris.

The neighborhood in which the apartment is situated has beautiful small shops, galleries, and cafes, as well as restaurants and markets. Again, all one needs for a comfortable, enjoyable stay is just around the corner.

Arriving from London, the apartment is an easy commute from Gare du Nord.

The owner is a pleasure to work with and was very accommodating when I arrived several hours later than planned, due to an error on my part in the transfer of information regarding my arrival time. Chris was gracious and hospitable, despite the inconvenience that I caused.

I would definitely recommend this apartment to others and I would be happy to stay again!

Date of stay: November 2015
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perpignan, France
Reviewed 21 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: November 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Locationj
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
daisy2642
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful apartment.”
Reviewed 24 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We are just finishing 5 nights in this lovely ground floor apartment that has much to offer. No stairs for those with mobility issues or just to avoid that common problem of hoisting luggage up steep narrow stairways. Spacious even with the foldout bed open. We didn't bother collapsing the foldout during our visit because there was still plenty of room. Fully equiped kitchen and 2 supermarkets within a block and numerous produce shops meant cheaper eating for one on a budget. A bath as well as shower which is not common in Paris apartments. Plenty of storage options so suitcases could be put away. Almost like living at home. The apartment was comfortable, beautifully decorated and contained all those extras that make a stay special. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and privacy. Very quiet.
Liked least: Everything was great.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ntaher
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just lovely....”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed at Chris' lovely cottage in Paris with my husband and 8 year old daughter. We had an amazing stay. The cottage is so adorable with the structure and interior decorated in such a cozy and relaxing manner. Everything was spottless, I could move here any day! Chris was so gracious with the information he provided leading up to and during our stay, there were no surprises, delays, etc. Everything happened as expected as far as meetup, keys, interior and we had a fabulous and relaxing time. The cottage opens onto a little courtyard which is like a little haven in the city, quite cute! Also, we were able to explore the area(le Marais) in addition to venturing out into other areas of the city easily. Lots of great options for food nearby, in addition to touristy and non-touristy destinations alike. Thanks again Chris! Definitely recommend to all :)

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage setup, cleanliness, location!
Liked least: Nothing, we loved our stay!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
919debbie...
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautifully designed & constructed, this small Marais apartment has it all.”
Reviewed 17 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Great location, attentive owner with helpful insights into how to live among Parisians, comfortable bed, attractive furnishings, full bath (washer & dryer) & kitchen (stovetop & oven), comfy couch, books on France& Paris. A lovely combination of old --beamed ceiling, stone walls -- & new -- appliances, dishes.

Date of stay: June 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.