We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Charming spot in the perfect neighborhood!”
other travellers have booked this property
French window and French doors opening onto garden courtyard.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
French window and French doors opening onto garden courtyard.
The ideal Paris vacation apartment. 17th century stone walls and oak beams characteristic of the Marais.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
French window and French doors opening onto garden courtyard.
The ideal Paris vacation apartment.
17th century stone walls and oak beams characteristic of the Marais.
Antique hand-carved bed, with new high quality mattress, 100% cotton sheets.
The charming, well-equipped kitchen.
Modern appliances, plenty of space for cooking wonderful meals.
View from the kitchen to front door, windows, French doors.
Elegant, modern bath.
Large bathtub w/hand shower wand, and separate luxurious overhead shower.
View from courtyard toward apartment door (open) and windows.
Rare 17th c. 'colombage' in the courtyard -- the way all of Paris once looked!
Just around the corner from the apartment...
The splendid Picasso Museum, just steps away.
The Rue Charlot, a narrow street in the Marais full of interesting shops.
A few doors down, the oldest open air market in Paris! A real treat.
Your local boulangerie -- so good, there's sometimes a line out the door.
In the window of the same boulangerie on another day.
Romantic! This famous fountain is less than ten minutes walk from the apartment.
3 minutes walk from the apt! Ask me about accessing the secret gardens here.
Inside the fabulous cheese shop, right on the corner. One of the best in Paris.
Lunch inside the Marche des Enfants Rouges, a vibrant spot!
Organic bread stand, Marche des Enfants Rouges.
One of 17 (yes, 17!) gardens within a few 100m of the apt. Several are secret!
The convivial Cafe Charlot. There are many other cafes on the same street.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Paris, Ile-de-France

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Jessica J
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming spot in the perfect neighborhood!”
Reviewed 8 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We wanted a cozy honeymoon retreat in Paris and that is exactly what we got! Chris was a great host. The apartment was tucked away in a quiet building and stocked with everything we needed. It looks exactly as it does in the photos. Very clean and well-maintained.

Things you don't need to bring: Umbrellas, adaptors, Paris travel books, French-English dictionaries - there are tons to borrow in the apartment. Plus there was a flat iron (in addition to the blowdryer and curling iron mentioned in the description)...I was worried I'd have to purchase one in Paris.

The neighborhood is exactly what we were looking for: friendly folks, cafes on every corner, an outdoor market (Marche Les Enfants Rouges), epiceries, casually-stylish locals (both young and old), cool restaurants (other guests leave recommendations for you in the apartment guest book), boutiques, parks, museums, and metro stops. We felt a little like Parisians by the time we left, and we were very sad to go.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2017
It's heartwarming to hear that you had a perfect stay. Helping people celebrate special occasions like your honeymoon is one of the things we hoped to do when we decided years ago to make our hideaway available. And thank you for mentioning all the details! That's very helpful for others. All the best to you two, and congratulations again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel K
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The perfect Paris apartment in a great location”
Reviewed 20 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
3
people found this review helpful

The apartment is perfectly located in a quiet street in the Marais, in close proximity to shops, cafe's and restaurants, as well as the many galleries, clubs and beautiful hidden gardens. It is also close to other main attractions, such as the Notre-Dame and the Latin Quarter, and walking distance from a couple of Metro stations.
The apartment itself is very well-equipped and well-maintained. It was very spacious and comfortable for us as a couple. The owner, Chris, is extremely friendly and made sure to give us all the detailed information about the apartment, the neighborhood and Paris in general. He even greeted us with a bouquet of flowers.
We had a great time and definitely intend to stay in this Marais apartment again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2017
I see you mentioned hidden gardens. Did you make good use of my hidden garden map? I hope so! Thanks for taking the time to leave comments, and I'm glad you had a great stay. Cheers, Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StevePegg...
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“The Perfect Place. ”
Reviewed 23 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Our forth Paris visit, we stayed here for one rainy wonderful week. Perfect location for walking all over the city (all the neighboring districts) and perfect for the immediate neighborhood amenities. Killer meat shop almost across the street (ham sandwiches and to die for sausage), amazing cheese shop steps from you, that perfect bakery next to the wine shop around the corner and the historic market kept us happy with fresh fruit and meals. We bought fresh squeezed orange juice at the grocery less than a block away (you make your own). Writing this I want to come back right now. Look into a wine and cheese class at the cheese shop- this one has a city reputation (along with the meat shop)-don't miss it. Also highly recommend the history museum-thanks Chris. The apt was perfect-modern bath/nice shower, kitchen supplies-in a legitimate quiet historical residential building. Be a Parisian for a week. This is the apartment, the right neighborhood and a most helpful caring host. Thank you Chris for an amazing week exploring an amazing neighborhood. We will see you again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2017
I'm glad to hear you liked the museum(s) and the neighborhood. (We think it's the best neighborhood in the city! :) For you next visit, you'll be happy to know that we consider our return visitors to be our VIP club. :) All the best, Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SherinaPe...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Lovely in every way!!!!”
Reviewed 9 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed in this lovely little hide away apartment for about 5 nights over the Christmas period. It is perfect in every way for two people. Brilliantly located in the heart of the Marais with a choice of lovely patisseries to get fresh baguettes and croissants for breakfast from. On the same street as the apartment is a little place where we bought some lovely ham and the best pate smoked in hay.

The apartment has a wonderful location. We walked everywhere from the apartment - to walk to the Eiffel tower took us about one hour.

The owner of the apartment has organised everything very well and systematically. He was a pleasure to deal with and even called us a day before we left to find out if we wanted him to book us a taxi.

Kitchen was really well equipped and everything was neat and clean.

All in all, a lovely place to stay for two people. Highly recommend this place and would definitely go back to stay here when we visit Paris again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2017
Thanks so much for leaving comments. You walked to the tower! That's great. Thanks for mentioning the rich offering from the nearby stores. It's the reason it's our favorite neighborhood in the city. We enjoyed having you as guests, and would be happy to have you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emy60
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent stay!”
Reviewed 23 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Our family of 4 had a superb 6 nights stay at Marais cottage. The cottage is not only as lovely & charming as pictured, but it's warm and cosy too. Very well decorated, maintained and well equipped with everything that one will need to feel completely at home - extremely good use of space to fit in so much, so well!

Though there were 4 of us, it didn't feel cramped at all. The sofa bed was sturdy and very comfy too, with sufficient bedding etc.

Chris was a wonderful host. His availability was just a call away, and the information & advice he gave was always helpful. Having previously stayed at other places, I would say Chris sets the bar very high for other hosts to emulate. His attention to detail from decorating & setting up the apartment for a great, comfortable stay, providing info & advice on how to go about ensuring guests know the what-to-dos is very impressive!!

I would not hesitate to highly recommend Chris' Marais cottage to family & friends, that is if they are lucky enough to even book a stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Dec 2016
Thanks for the kind words, and I'm glad that you had a relaxing stay. That's really our goal -- to make everything easy and comfortable, so that you can get the most out of your time in Paris.

All the best to you and your family,
Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cruzdoggi...
Galveston Island, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great apartment with an owner who cares about the comfort of his guests!”
Reviewed 9 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in The Cottage as first time visitors to Paris. The apartment is as shown in the photos, close to everything we needed and close to the sites we planned to visit. It is my first choice for my return visits to Paris.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeaneWh
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paris with my family”
Reviewed 25 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This is a very good place to stay as a jumping off point to see Paris. My daughter, granddaughter(age 19) and I spent a week here. Even thought it was hot during the week, this apartment stays beautifully cool as the building is stone. The landlord, Chris, is very responsive and helpful. The 2 beds are fine, kitchen nicely stocked, bath also good. Only disadvantage, and it isn't promised so it isn't really a disadvantage, is that the central courtyard, which is lovely, cannot be used to sit/eat out in. I think the neighbors probably don't like the in and out of rental customers, so one needs to keep a low profile - which isn't hard as all of Paris is right outside your door. The neighborhood has everything you want in walking distance. and the Metro connections are easy. Would return in a minute!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2016
Thanks for leaving comments, Jeane! These days, the neighbors are fine with the fact that we rent our place (legally!), and that's due to the fact that our guests are all respectful people like you. :) The courtyard is really a separate issue -- no one in the building is allowed to sit out there. This is true of pretty much all the courtyards in Paris! As you can imagine, many Parisians already have to deal with lots of street noise, so they prefer to keep the courtyards quiet.

Hope to have you back sometime!
Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;