We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of L'Empire Paris

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
L'Empire Paris
Ranked #427 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The hotel staff were professional and pleasant. They also all spoke English. Our room was nice and clean, though lobby was lacking due to constructino of restaurant at the time our stay. Location was "mostly" great. The street is a little isolated so it made it a little worrisome at night, but this was really only due to the fact the building next door is under construction so it appeared a little darker than normal. Once that is done, I am sure it will be fine. Overall, I enjoyed our stay and would definitely work well. Wifi worked well and so did air conditioning. room was normal size.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    218
    60
    37
    33
See reviews for
145
326
37
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Elgin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We spent three nights at L'Empire on our first visit to Paris and have to say this was a great hotel, even to USA hotels! We were nervous when we arrived and saw all the construction outside the hotel, dont let it bother you! Upon check in, we knew we were in for a nice visit, as Sonja at reception was unbelievable! She was so friendly and helpful, it made our stay. Although Im not a big fan of dark colored hallways, when we got to our rooms we were so surprised at the comfort of the bed, and the overall size. The showers are fantastic, and dont be worried about a room facing the courtyard. This was honestly the QUIETEST hotel I may have ever slept in. A/C worked great as well.
As lounge area was under construction, we were offered free room service breakfast. I thought I wasnt a fan of eating in my room, yet the breakfast was incredibly good, and a perfect start to the day. This may be a new habit for me!

Kudos to L'Empire, great place to stay!

Room Tip: Dont be afraid of courtyard rooms, they are so quiet! Besides you shouldnt be looking out your hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We had a single night with this hotel on the way home from 2 magic weeks in Provence. Due to the renovations our hotel booking company status, we were upgraded to the executive suite on the top floor with the roof top balcony. We actually chose the hotel based on it's proximity to the restaurant (SPRING) we were dining at on this last evening - 20m walk, so the upgrade was a very welcome surprise.
The staff were oh so lovely and accommodating - its must be trying for them during this renovation process. The room was huge, well appointed but it is obvious the finishing touches were still being made to the room and we may have been the 1st guests to even use it post refurb. A great breakfast was enjoyed on the roof-top balcony instead of downstairs in the yet to be completed cafe. Location is fabulous - a true review is not appropriate given the circumstance of our stay, however I would certainly consider staying again.

Room Tip: Ensure renovations are complete or will not affect your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat_DocMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by friendly staff who informed us that we had been upgraded to a deluxe suite as a compensation for current construction work within the hotel.

The room certainly did not disappoint. Decent size, giant comfortable bed and modern bathroom. Ideal location for central Paris; the Louvre, Notre Dame.

The hotel does need some modernisation to make the hallways more appealing, but I guess that is what they are doing at the moment.

Overall, I would stay in this hotel again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

If I could give this 3.5 stars that would be the rating. Pros: Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice and clean breakfast buffet. The best A/C we have ever had in any hotel anywhere. Great location to walk to all attractions and one block from the subway. Cons: Construction in building next door that was quite loud. We had a room on the 6th floor. In Europe that is actually the sub level 5 - (-1)= 6. The windows made the room feel very large and inside never felt like a 1/2 basement. The hallways are in desperate need of paint and the carpets were all ripped and torn. Our room was big and fine, but getting there was quite ugly and not appealing. We stayed 5 nights, and maid service was OK with turn down two of five nights. Not sure why not all nights. We would stay again, however, I would verify if the construction was complete.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveljunkies2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, NE
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

This was the first stop on our honeymoon and we were very excited! I got a basic room at less then half the regular rate.

Looking at other reviews I was worried about the construction next door. Upon arrival I was worried since there was loud jack hammering and power drilling going on when we got out of the cab.

We were exhausted from jet lag and somehow slept through heavy construction from 10-3pm. We are both light sleepers who were amazed we slept at all.

The construction ended up not being a big deal. They didn't start too early or work very late so mostly while we were out and about.

Location is GREAT! Right by the Louvre. Easy walk to Eiffel Tower, metro, shopping, Notre Dame.

The king sized bed was comfortable and the small bathroom was equipped with a towel heater and stand up shower. Modern design looked cool but ended up with a wet floor.

The staff were some of the friendliest people we encountered in all of Paris.

There's a market a few doors down to get water, beer, snacks for the room and not pay high mini bar fees.

I would definitely stay here again if I could get the same kind of deal.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeremy_jeremy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed at L'Empire for two nights. PROS: The location is great- near many of the major attractions in Paris (Notre Dame Cathedral, Louvre, Musee D'Orsay, Saint Chapelle). The hotel itself is very nice. Rooms are spacious for a Paris hotel, bathrooms are huge, and the front desk staff are helpful. Breakfast was a basic buffet but was very good. CONS: In room wi-fi is terrible, had to request housekeeping service for our room as they either skipped us or weren't going to service room without asking. OTHER: Hallway lights are on a motion sensor, which means hallways are dark when you first enter which was somewhat odd.

Overall, I'd say it was a good hotel experience but not quite up to 5-star status.

Room Tip: If planning to get breakfast, book a room with the breakfast prepaid. It is much cheaper than payin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank booma94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Les Halles
Hotel Konfidentiel
Hotel Konfidentiel
#853 of 1,800 in Paris
193 reviews
Les Halles
Best Western Ducs De Bourgogne
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Best Western Premier Louvre Saint Honore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Les Halles
Citadines Les Halles Paris
Citadines Les Halles Paris
#477 of 1,800 in Paris
1,035 reviews
Les Halles
Le Relais du Louvre
Le Relais du Louvre
#62 of 1,800 in Paris
665 reviews
Les Halles
Hotel de la Place du Louvre - Esprit de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Empire Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Empire Paris

Property: L'Empire Paris
Address: 48 rue de l Arbre Sec, 75001 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Les Halles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#87 Family Hotel in Paris
#263 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#268 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#438 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Empire Paris 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fastbooking, Agoda, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your L'Empire Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Empire Paris Hotel Paris
l Empire Hotel Paris
Lempire Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing