We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, small, hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel des Academies et des Arts
Ranked #101 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Nice, small, hotel”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This hotel is very cosy. The room I found really small compared to other hotels I've stayed in, but I believe for Paris it was a good size - and it had everything we needed.
The location was good, a minute or twos walk from the metro station. ( it did take us about half an hour on arrival to find it when walking from the metro - having walked the wrong way then having a map without all the minor roads on). We were able to walk from the hotel to the Eiffel Tower and around all the tourist spots without need to get on the metro.
On arrival we were quickly checked in, we were greeted by a friendly member of staff. The people on the reception desk were the only ones we saw the whole stay, but they were nice.
Wifi was complimentary.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AS185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel des Academies et des Arts, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear guests,
First of all we want to thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel.
The location of our hotel is indeed really convenient with 3 metro stops within 5 minute walk (line 4,6 and 12). Our guests can therefore easily discover Paris during the day, and come back to a quieter place in the evening to relax. Moreover, there are countless restaurants and bistros in the neighborhood.
We do have 3 different types of rooms, with different sizes as well. Photos and descriptions are available on the hotel’s website.
At any time, our staff is always happy to help our guests, doing their best to make them comfortable during their stay.
We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Best regards,
Charlotte et Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    162
    27
    10
    5
See reviews for
44
455
42
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We had an excellent stay at the Hotel des Academies et des Arts. The location is good and close to many metro stations. The rooms are cozy and very quiet. Alan was extremely helpful during our stay and made our trip an enjoyable one. Definitely recommend to anyone visiting Paris!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel des Academies et des Arts, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear guests,
It was a pleasure for us to read your kind review.
The location of our hotel is indeed really convenient with 3 metro stops within 5 minute walk (line 4,6 and 12). Our guests can therefore easily discover Paris during the day, and come back to a quieter place in the evening to relax. Moreover, there are countless restaurants and bistros in the neighborhood.
We take great pride in providing the highest level of service to our guests. Our staff is always delighted to recommend restaurants or places to visit in Paris.
We hope to welcome you again in our hotel.
Best regards,
Charlotte and Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the med
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Just returned from 3 nights there. Had a room with a bathtub (as is my preference) bathroom very small. Access to the bath very limited. Room small but perfectly formed. Room was on first floor and sounding proofing not great. Could hear the next door room but most of all, could here reception phone & general noise from reception area.

On the first morning I asked for a cappuccino at 11.35 am & was told no, as they had just cleaned the area. I was very surprised at this as the hotel also has a salon du the (tearoom).

Room service breakfast arrived promptly & was of a good standard.

I had an unfortunate incident whilst there - a pipe burst under the basin in the bathroom. The bathroom floor was flooded as was the carpet into the bedroom. I found it at 11.30 pm. No emergency plumber was called & at 1. 30 am the water was turned off. The problem wasn't resolved until midday the next day - rather too long to find someone with a wrench, I believe. The hotel was very apologetic & subsequently didn't charge me for any food & drink during my stay.

The staff were, apart from the one instance, very helpful & the location great.

All in all a clean, compact hotel with a few things to learn - number of a local 24 hour plumber being top-of-the-list.

Room Tip: Go for a high up room to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sallyw13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel des Academies et des Arts, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our hotel.
Our breakfast is served from 07.00am to 11.00 am (or 12.00 during the weekends) and our tea room opens at 02.30pm. Between 11.00am and 02.30pm although we do our best to satisfy our guests’ requests, it is not always easy for us and possible for staff reasons. As you surely noticed, we are indeed a small boutique hotel. We do however apologize for this.
We also would like to apologize again for the pipe burst incident. We phoned the company we have been working with for years now, and none of the technicians were available sooner than the next morning. This is the reason why we were happy to offer complimentary breakfasts and a glass of champagne.
Despite all, we sincerely hope to have the pleasure to welcome you in our hotel again.
Best regards,
Charlotte and Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Not bad amount of space for Paris but still tiny, rooms are well appointed with large beds and closet space. Decor is really lovely, throughout the property. Love the breakfast room! Close to Metro stations, so no time to get central.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gibtrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel des Academies et des Arts, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear guests,
First of all we want to thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel.
Our hotel has indeed a very arty and unique atmosphere created by Charlotte. Inspired by the hotel’s past and the history of the neighborhood, she worked with several artists such as Jerome Mesnager, a street artist, whose famous “white-bodies” are to be seen all around the world…
We only serve fresh products to our guests for breakfasts: freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit salad, fresh bread and croissants…
We do have 3 different types of rooms, with different sizes as well. Several photos are available on the hotel’s website.
We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Best regards,
Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Our stay at Hotel des Academies et des Arts was exceptional. Best sleep of my life! The room was beautifully decorated and relaxing, provided a tranquil atmosphere and a great retreat from the bustling city. Location of the hotel is amazing for dining just steps away from the famous La Rotonde and other great spots. Metro station Vavin is a around the corner. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We stayed in "May Ray" themed room and the decor was awesome.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank enturin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel des Academies et des Arts, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear guests,
It was a pleasure for us to read your kind review.
The location of our hotel is indeed really convenient with 3 metro stops within 5 minute walk (line 4,6 and 12). Our guests can therefore easily discover Paris during the day, and come back to a quieter place in the evening to relax. Moreover, there are countless restaurants and bistros in the neighborhood.
Our hotel has indeed a very arty and unique atmosphere created by Charlotte. Inspired by the hotel’s past and the history of the neighborhood, she worked with several artists such as Jerome Mesnager, a street artist, whose famous “white-bodies” are to be seen all around the world…
Our team looks forward to welcoming you again.
Best regards,
Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My husband and I stayed 11 days at this hotel and we really loved it. Although the rooms are tiny, ours was very clean, the bed was very comfortable and had a plus which was a little patio.
The service was absolutely great, the staff is very helpful and nice. They always gave us very good tips and recommendations on everything. Besides, the location is just perfect! We found great cafes and restaurants nearby. There is a bike station one block from there, there are two metro stations also one block distance and the Hop on Hop Off bus has one stop just two blocks away. Honestly perfect location. Totally recommended. I wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel des Academies et des Arts, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear guests,
It was a pleasure for us to read your kind review.
The location of the hotel is very convenient with 3 metro stations (lines 4, 6 and 12) and the RER B t to get to Orly or Charles de Gaulle airport) within walking distance.
We pay extra attention to every single details in our hotel: decoration, cleanliness, layout in the rooms, toiletries, …to maintain the welcoming and cosy atmosphere our guests like. Moreover our staff is always happy to answer any questions our guests might have, so that their stay is as enjoyable as possible.
There are 3 different types of rooms in our hotel. Pictures and descriptions are to be found on our official website.
Our team looks forward to welcoming you again.
Best regards,
Charlotte and Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlebar, Ireland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I know, I know I have reviewed this hotel before and yes it's probably silly doing so again but hotels do sag with age but not this one. This hotel gets better and better. The staff have changed but the mannerism haven't a truly marvelous staff await you at this hotel.
We had breakfast every morning which was perfectly balanced and not over filling.
If I had a gripe it would be that the windows look into an apartment block but hey I did not come here to look out the windows !!!
Everything perfect Location, Cafes nearby and metros as well
Can I give 6 out of 5 ???

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heaneman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel des Academies et des Arts, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear guests,
It was such a pleasure for us to read your kind review.
We take great pride in providing the highest level of service to our guests. Our staff is always delighted to recommend restaurants or places to visit in Paris.
We only serve fresh products to our guests for breakfasts: freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit salad, fresh bread and croissants… It is really important for us that our guests start their day with an excellent breakfast.
The location of our hotel is indeed really convenient with 3 metro stops within 5 minute walk and countless restaurants.
We hope to welcome you again and again in our hotel.
Best regards,
Charlotte and Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Sainte Beuve
Hotel Sainte Beuve
#37 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
#155 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Legend Hotel by Elegancia
Legend Hotel by Elegancia
#105 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Apostrophe Hotel
Apostrophe Hotel
#167 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Villa Madame
Villa Madame
#116 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Chaplain
Hotel Chaplain
#214 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Academies et des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Academies et des Arts

Property: Hotel des Academies et des Arts
Address: 15 rue de la Grande Chaumiere, 75006 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Green Hotel in Paris
#79 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#120 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#236 Family Hotel in Paris
#265 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel des Academies et des Arts 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel des Academies et des Arts in Paris, a unique boutique hotel located next to the Jardin du Luxembourg and Montparnasse, is dedicated to the creative arts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel des Academies et des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Des Academies Et Arts
Des Academies Et Arts Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing