We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel des Academies et des Arts
Ranked #105 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Romantic”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Lovely little hotel, very friendly helpful staff. Close to Metro, less than 2 minutes walk. Macarroons were a nice touch on arrival. Restaurants close by. Well decorated with artistic flare, would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel des Academies et des Arts, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear guests,
What a pleasure for us to read your warm review!
Charlotte created a really nice and unique atmosphere in our hotel, where arts are omnipresent from the lobby to the rooms, as well as in the staircase. We take great pride in providing the highest level of service to our guests. Our staff is always delighted to recommend restaurants or places to visit in Paris. It is very important for us that our guests enjoy their stay as much as possible. We therefore pay a lot of attention to every single detail in our hotel: music, fragrance, welcoming note and small gifts…
The whole team hopes to welcome you again in our hotel.
Best regards,
Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    173
    27
    10
    5
See reviews for
50
464
45
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We spent a week at Hotel des Academies et des Arts and we loved it! It is small, charming and has a great staff. Also, has a perfect location near many restaurants, Saint German and really close to a metro station.
Hotel it is nice in all details, that starts from macarrons left in the room on arrival. All staff is very friendly and helpful, specially Alan from the front desk, that helped us a lot with reservations and great Paris tips! He also speaks Portuguese fluently.
We had a wonderful stay and we definitely recommend Hotel des Academis et des Arts for a Paris stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VanessaVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel des Academies et des Arts, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear guests,
We were delighted to read your comment.
Our hotel is indeed a boutique hotel, i.e. a small hotel with exceptional service. We would therefore like to thank you for noticing it. Charlotte created a very unique atmosphere for our hotel where art is omnipresent: video art, sculpture, paintings…
At any time, our staff is always happy to help our guests, doing their best to make them comfortable during their stay.
The location of our hotel is indeed really convenient with 3 metro stops within 5 minute walk (line 4,6 and 12). Moreover, there are countless restaurants and bistros in the neighborhood.
We hope to welcome you again in our hotel.
Best regards,
Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I recently stayed for the second time in this hotel in a quiet street just off the Boulevard du Montparnasse. The rooms are nicely appointed, as are the reception and dining areas. The staff could not be more helpful: really first class. A number of classic brasseries, including La Rotonde, are nearby, and The Montparnasse train station is a 10-minute walk away. All in all, a good location a bit away from the most touristy areas of Paris.

Room Tip: I think most of the rooms are quite small, but there may be some that are a bit more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeslieMTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel des Academies et des Arts, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you for kind review.
Art is one of our passions. With that in mind, Charlotte created a very unique atmosphere for our hotel where art is omnipresent: video art, sculpture, paintings…
At any time, our staff is always happy to help our guests, doing their best to make them comfortable during their stay.
The location of our hotel is indeed really convenient. Our guests can easily discover Paris during the day, and come back to a quieter place in the evening to relax. Moreover, there are countless restaurants and bistros in the neighborhood.
We hope to welcome you again in our hotel.
Best regards,
Charlotte and Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We recently had a great stay at this small hotel. Superb staff, speaking fluent English. We were in a Man Ray room on the third floor and found it very quiet and, although the room was small, it had an good king size bed and all the facilities we needed. The continental breakfast was superb and they have a good room service (cold foods, salads and the like). We were in Paris to visit the main art galleries and were able to walk to them all comfortably. If visiting the galleries, especially the Louvre, get tickets before hand at a department store approx. 250m from the hotel - we walked straight into the Louvre bypassing a long queue.

Room Tip: "Inside" rooms away from the street are quieter although the street itself is not a main r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Z0rbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel des Academies et des Arts, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear guests,
Many thanks you for your kind review!
Our guests can therefore easily discover Paris during the day, and come back to a quieter place in the evening to relax. Indeed our hotel is located on a quiet street in a nice and convenient area with 3 metro stops within 5 minute walk (line 4, 6 and 12). Moreover, there are countless typical restaurants and bistros close to the hotel as well.
We only serve fresh products to our guests for breakfasts: freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit salad, fresh bread and croissants…
At any time, our staff is always happy to help our guests, doing their best to make them comfortable during their stay.
The whole team hopes to welcome you again in the future.
Best regards,
Charlotte et Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This hotel is very cosy. The room I found really small compared to other hotels I've stayed in, but I believe for Paris it was a good size - and it had everything we needed.
The location was good, a minute or twos walk from the metro station. ( it did take us about half an hour on arrival to find it when walking from the metro - having walked the wrong way then having a map without all the minor roads on). We were able to walk from the hotel to the Eiffel Tower and around all the tourist spots without need to get on the metro.
On arrival we were quickly checked in, we were greeted by a friendly member of staff. The people on the reception desk were the only ones we saw the whole stay, but they were nice.
Wifi was complimentary.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AS185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel des Academies et des Arts, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear guests,
First of all we want to thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel.
The location of our hotel is indeed really convenient with 3 metro stops within 5 minute walk (line 4,6 and 12). Our guests can therefore easily discover Paris during the day, and come back to a quieter place in the evening to relax. Moreover, there are countless restaurants and bistros in the neighborhood.
We do have 3 different types of rooms, with different sizes as well. Photos and descriptions are available on the hotel’s website.
At any time, our staff is always happy to help our guests, doing their best to make them comfortable during their stay.
We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Best regards,
Charlotte et Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We had an excellent stay at the Hotel des Academies et des Arts. The location is good and close to many metro stations. The rooms are cozy and very quiet. Alan was extremely helpful during our stay and made our trip an enjoyable one. Definitely recommend to anyone visiting Paris!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel des Academies et des Arts, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear guests,
It was a pleasure for us to read your kind review.
The location of our hotel is indeed really convenient with 3 metro stops within 5 minute walk (line 4,6 and 12). Our guests can therefore easily discover Paris during the day, and come back to a quieter place in the evening to relax. Moreover, there are countless restaurants and bistros in the neighborhood.
We take great pride in providing the highest level of service to our guests. Our staff is always delighted to recommend restaurants or places to visit in Paris.
We hope to welcome you again in our hotel.
Best regards,
Charlotte and Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
the med
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Just returned from 3 nights there. Had a room with a bathtub (as is my preference) bathroom very small. Access to the bath very limited. Room small but perfectly formed. Room was on first floor and sounding proofing not great. Could hear the next door room but most of all, could here reception phone & general noise from reception area.

On the first morning I asked for a cappuccino at 11.35 am & was told no, as they had just cleaned the area. I was very surprised at this as the hotel also has a salon du the (tearoom).

Room service breakfast arrived promptly & was of a good standard.

I had an unfortunate incident whilst there - a pipe burst under the basin in the bathroom. The bathroom floor was flooded as was the carpet into the bedroom. I found it at 11.30 pm. No emergency plumber was called & at 1. 30 am the water was turned off. The problem wasn't resolved until midday the next day - rather too long to find someone with a wrench, I believe. The hotel was very apologetic & subsequently didn't charge me for any food & drink during my stay.

The staff were, apart from the one instance, very helpful & the location great.

All in all a clean, compact hotel with a few things to learn - number of a local 24 hour plumber being top-of-the-list.

Room Tip: Go for a high up room to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sallyw13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel des Academies et des Arts, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our hotel.
Our breakfast is served from 07.00am to 11.00 am (or 12.00 during the weekends) and our tea room opens at 02.30pm. Between 11.00am and 02.30pm although we do our best to satisfy our guests’ requests, it is not always easy for us and possible for staff reasons. As you surely noticed, we are indeed a small boutique hotel. We do however apologize for this.
We also would like to apologize again for the pipe burst incident. We phoned the company we have been working with for years now, and none of the technicians were available sooner than the next morning. This is the reason why we were happy to offer complimentary breakfasts and a glass of champagne.
Despite all, we sincerely hope to have the pleasure to welcome you in our hotel again.
Best regards,
Charlotte and Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Sainte Beuve
Hotel Sainte Beuve
#36 of 1,801 in Paris
541 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
#166 of 1,801 in Paris
695 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Legend Hotel by Elegancia
Legend Hotel by Elegancia
#115 of 1,801 in Paris
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Apostrophe Hotel
Apostrophe Hotel
#242 of 1,801 in Paris
663 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Chaplain
Hotel Chaplain
#211 of 1,801 in Paris
793 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel & Spa La Belle Juliette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Academies et des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Academies et des Arts

Property: Hotel des Academies et des Arts
Address: 15 rue de la Grande Chaumiere, 75006 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Green Hotel in Paris
#84 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#120 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#236 Family Hotel in Paris
#265 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel des Academies et des Arts 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel des Academies et des Arts in Paris, a unique boutique hotel located next to the Jardin du Luxembourg and Montparnasse, is dedicated to the creative arts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel des Academies et des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Des Academies Et Arts
Des Academies Et Arts Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing