We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel des Academies et des Arts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel des Academies et des Arts
Ranked #167 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reykjavik
1 review
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Great, small and comfortable hotel. Very nice and helpful staff. Location is good. About 25minute walk to downtown but Metro is very close. A lot of restaurants and cafes close by and also a 5 minute walk to a shopping center.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jakobsig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel des Academies et des Arts, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Sir,

We thank you for this comment,
We are happy to know that you enjoyed the location and the atmosphere of the hotel. We take personal commitment in making your stay the most comfortable possible in this intimate hotel, so as to fully enjoy your stay among us. The hotel is located only a few minutes away from the Luxembourg garden, in a very charming area of Paris. Thus, it is really close-by to the numerous monuments of Paris, without suffering from the inconvenience of staying in a touristic street of Paris, so it is not exactly downtown.
All of the staff sends their greetings, and we hope to welcome you soon again in our hotel !

Best regard,

Charlotte et Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    154
    27
    10
    5
See reviews for
44
448
40
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

What an amazing find! Hotel is boutique style, in the very best area of Paris, close to several new favorite cafés. Room was small but spotlessly clean and the beds were the most comfortable ever. The hotel made our trip!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tudollarbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel des Academies et des Arts, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Sir,

We sincerely thank you for the nice comment and for the time you have dedicated to the hotel !
The team as well as ourselves is very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, and that your time in Paris was a success!
Indeed, the hotel is located in the charming 6th district, with the Luxembourg garden and so many typical restaurants close-by. It is this specific atmosphere, very soothing and full of charm that our clients usually recommend when they stay in Paris.
We hope to see you again next time you visit Paris!

Yours sincerely,

Charlotte et Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights and had such a fantastic time. The location is perfect, close to everything, and yet far enough away from the areas that are too busy. Nearby restaurants, movie theaters and bakeries galore.
Staff are wonderful, helpful and had lots of suggestions when needed.
Overall a great place.

Room Tip: Room on the fifth floor was perfect, with a view of the street across, lots of light,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank May233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel des Academies et des Arts, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your warm comment
We are definitely pleased to know that your stay in Paris, and in our hotel was a success !
The location of the hotel, that you so kindly noticed is one of our specialties here at Hotel des Academies et des Arts. This particularly charming area of Paris, with the Luxembourg garden and so many typical restaurants close-by is really close-by to the numerous monuments of Paris, without suffering from the inconvenience of staying in a touristic street of Paris!
All the staff hope to see you soon again in our hotel !

Charlotte et Laurent Inchauspé /
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Wonderful hotel in a great location and with real aesthetic appeal. Fantastic design from top to bottom. Very nice breakfast. And a runner's delight, being just a short jog from the fantastic Jardin du Luxembourg. Travellers from London will love the one-train service from Gare du Nord to the station 4 minutes' walk away. Easy and delightful, in every way.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank E_Lederman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel des Academies et des Arts, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your comment on our hotel!
We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the personal service of our staff ! We place the highest value on the quality of service that can be provided at the hotel, so that you feel completely at ease, and it starts with fresh and complete breakfasts, so as to have every day beginning smoothly and energetically!
One of the special features of the Hôtel des Académies et des Arts is also that we are an hotel specifically dedicated to the arts ! The paintings on the wall that you noticed are the work of Jérôme Mesnager, and we owe to Sophie de Watrigant the sculptures you can find at the reception and in the staircase.
At last, we are very glad that you appreciated the location of the hotel! Only a few minutes away from the Luxembourg garden, close-by to the numerous monuments of Paris, it is the reason why our clients usually recommend the hotel when they stay in Paris. With the metro station near when you need to go or come from the Gare du Nord, we hope it perfectly fitted your taste!
All of our team hopes to see you again for your next stay in Paris !
Kind regards,

Charlotte et Laurent Inchauspé /
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

We had a lovely stay at Hotel des Academies et des Arts. It's in the perfect location next to Jardin du Luxembourg. The staff was so friendly, helpful and kind. We will definitely come back next time we visit Paris.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank hcarrigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

I loved my stay at Hotel des Academies et des Arts. The staff were simply lovely and couldn't do enough for me, always with a beautiful smile.

My room was beautifully appointed, everything super clean with lovely products in the bathroom. A welcome note, bottle of Evian and macaroons were a fabulous touch. WiFi access is free and very quick and being on the 3rd floor I had the option to leave my windows open in the evening if I so desired - but air-con also available.

There are plenty of fabulous places to eat nearby and it's an excellent base to visit all of Paris either on foot or via Metro.

Highly recommend staying here - it will be my hotel of choice in Paris.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lulu1_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

A lesson in what you need when staying in a hotel.

While the rooms was small, we weren't found wanting for too much (a hairdryer and some conditioner would have been good, but we coped.)
The service was very good - discrete, almost shy. But always helpful. Lovely breakfast, too; it was our first night in France and we noted how much better the croissants were than the imitation pastry we eat here in Australia!
The location is also hard to fault - just a couple of blocks (a quick walk) to the fabulous Luxembourg Gardens towards the back of the hotel, with lots of little boutique shops dotted along the back streets. This made us feel as though this was where natives would stay when visiting Paris.
As for eating, the restaurants in the area ensure you are spoilt for choice for a meal outside the hotel; we can highly recommend Rotunde (on the opposite side of the main intersection where this hotel's street is located.)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mllane2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Sainte Beuve
Hotel Sainte Beuve
#39 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
Hotel Jardin Le Brea
#157 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Apostrophe Hotel
Apostrophe Hotel
#200 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Legend Hotel by Elegancia
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Chaplain Rive Gauche
Hotel Chaplain Rive Gauche
#220 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Villa Madame
Villa Madame
#84 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Academies et des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Academies et des Arts

Property: Hotel des Academies et des Arts
Address: 15 rue de la Grande Chaumiere, 75006 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Paris
#115 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#120 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#237 Family Hotel in Paris
#265 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel des Academies et des Arts 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel des Academies et des Arts in Paris, a unique boutique hotel located next to the Jardin du Luxembourg and Montparnasse, is dedicated to the creative arts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel des Academies et des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Des Academies Et Arts
Des Academies Et Arts Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing