We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel -Metro is closed until Aug 2014”
Review of First Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
First Hotel
Ranked #264 of 1,800 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Hotel -Metro is closed until Aug 2014”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The First Hotel is exactly as described in the other reviews. Great decor, small but comfortable rooms and very quiet. We arrived at 10 am and we're in our room by noon. Bakery next door is awesome.

Really glad I chose it. Only downfall is the Metro line across the street is under repair until end of August. You need to go on a completely different line which is about a 10 minute walk. Until this repair is done I suggest you take a taxi from the airport. Too far to walk with luggage.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LupinToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valérie V, Directeur général at First Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Guests,

thank you for your warm comments ! and we are pleased that you feel satisfied with your parisian stay.

Our metro-station is closed for renovation. This will end on the 29th of August. The closer station is Lamotte Picquet Grenelle; 5 minutes walking distance, crossing lines 8 and 10.

We hope to welcome you again on a next stay
regards
Valérie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    570
    411
    115
    24
    26
See reviews for
164
657
63
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Nice place to stay if you travel to paris. closer to city, Eiffel tour and also the metro, although the metri was broken down during my stay. PLUS mark, VERY CLEAN! just wish there was hot water and tea in the hotel room , with some cups and a hot water jug maybe. Other than that, LOVED it!

Room Tip: try to book a room, with the eiffel tour that can be seen from the window.. Breath taking view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dinu7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valérie V, Directeur général at First Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel.

My team and I are very grateful for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations. In a few weeks, our rooms will be equiped with a courtesy tray or Nespresso machine.

Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in our hotel.
Yours sincerely,
Valérie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The location of the hotel is good and the rooms are clean and well done. That's where all the positives for the hotel end. The front desk staff are just rude and downright unhelpful. There is no kettle in the rooms. There is just one iron for the entire hotel. The rooms were tiny. I assumed that's the case with all Parisian hotels.
On checkout we booked the cab the day before for 7 in the morning. We specifically asked the front desk if there are any additional charges and we were told that we would be charged by the meter. We came down at 7:05 and moved towards the cab and saw that the meter was already switched on and it showed €30. On asking the front desk the guy had absolutely no idea about this and left us to argue with the cabbies. We could have just as easily gotten a cab just waiting outside if we were told that reserving a cab was charged extra. A normal taxi ride to CDG which usually costs around €50-€60 cost us €100. We seriously think that the front desk guy had a kickback from the cabbies. It was absolutely disgraceful. I just feel that the front desk should be knowledgeable and help the customers rather than helping the cabbies. That's the least I would expect from a hotel where we stayed for 5 nights.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jaysan87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bénédicte C, Directeur général at First Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
You have taken the time to give us your opinion about your stay in our hotel, and we thank you.

We are sorry that the service did not meet your expectations, and we beg you to accept our sincerest apologies.

Nevertheless, concerning the taxi, I have to insist on the fact, that unfortunately, we can not be responsible for the disagrement you had. We ordered you the service you asked. The cab seemed to be on time. As for any company, the service is charged from the hour of booking and taxis cannot allow to assume the delay of their customers.

I really regret you left our hotel on a bad feeling and I hope I will have an opportunity, in the future, to change this feeling.
I stay at your disposal for any futher information.
regards. Valérie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Hotel is refurbished , but rooms and bathrooms are too small and cramped . Front desk staff is relatively helpful for maps and location of specific points in Paris , but a staff member completely lied to us and conned us by booking a taxi for us and when we asked if there's an extra charge he confirmed twice that there isn't . When the taxis came , the starting meter was supposed to be 2.5 euros but instead it started at 30 euros because of reservation charge that the hotel staff didn't reveal to us when we actually asked twice . When we tried to seek his help , he just avoided his mistake and blamed it on us . Terrible staff , and hotel should reimburse us for the extra 30 euros per each cab (2 cabs ). Also the city tax is a scam by the hotel and it's not mentioned that the hotel will charge it. Beware of staff recommendations about prices and charges . Also the metro line that is "steps away " is closed for the summer , so the closest is about 10 minutes walk away . Overall terrible staff service , hotel is understaffed . I am going to try to get the hotel to reimburse me for a scam or kickback they are involved in .

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kds229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valérie V, Directeur général at First Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Guest;
Concerning the problem you encountered with the taxi, I already answered you in the first message your left : we booked the service you asked us. Nevertheless, we can not be responsible even for the cost companies charge, even for the delays of our customers.

We have Eiffel Tower views in a large part of our rooms. This apperciated option must be booked before and is submitted to a 20-euro increase a night.
We inform you that we have, on request to the front desk but at your disposal, 3 irons, adaptors and as well as a free storage room.
regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

A lovely little boutique hotel in paris we had a room with a view which was lovely meaning we could see the Eiffel tower. A lovely french bakery next door which was also great as we decided not to get breakfast with our room as we wanted to have a real parisian experience which really added to it. Lovely hotel would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zara b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valérie V, Responsable réception at First Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2016
Dear customer,
Thank you for taking time to share your experience at the First hotel in Paris.
We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay in Paris and we would we be happy to welcome you again next time!
Best regards
Bénédicte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, dc
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This hotel was everything we could have asked for. It was a 5 minute walk to just about everything we could need: breakfast (a bakery literally next door), a grocery store ("Monoprix"), laundry, a metro train, and lots of restaurants! The value was great for what we got. Swanky design and very clean. We almost didn't stay here because someone said it smelled but it didn't at all. Many hotels in Paris do not include breakfast. That's okay! Don't pay for their breakfast either (15€ per person for a continental style breakfast). Find a bakery get some croissants and really experience Paris (for just 3€ pp)! Our room was the standard one bedroom. Yes it was small but totally manageable. Randomly we got a balcony and an Eiffel Tower view! Every night we watched the light show and it was magical. Hotel staff all spoke English well. Would stay here again and would recommend this to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brtrackchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bénédicte C, Directeur général at First Hotel, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel.

My team and I are very grateful for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in our hotel.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This was my first trip to Paris so I don't have anything to compare it to. The hotel was very nice and a good location for me. It was within a few blocks from the Eiffel Tower where I easily walked to to get on tour buses for the rest of the city. I also had a very good price with a few discounts from the website I booked through.
Reception was very helpful and always super friendly they even remembered my name and room number during my stay. I also heard them speak Spanish as well as English and French.

My only complaints which may not reflect the hotel but Paris life in general: the traffic was a little loud. They honk a lot. The breakfast buffet was 15 euros and was very light. (the typical french croissants and cold meats and yogurt, but nothing substantial). There also wasn't a kettle in the room for tea or anything.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lauren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valérie V, Responsable réception at First Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2016
Dear customer,
Thank you for taking time to share your experience at the First hotel in Paris.
We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay in Paris and we would we be happy to welcome you again next time!
Best regards
Bénédicte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Citadines Tour Eiffel Paris
#437 of 1,800 in Paris
244 reviews
Hotel Le Marquis
#93 of 1,800 in Paris
272 reviews
Hotel Tourisme Avenue
#156 of 1,800 in Paris
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Ares Paris
#66 of 1,800 in Paris
2,447 reviews
Le Parisis Paris Tour Eiffel
#812 of 1,800 in Paris
138 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel La Comtesse
Hotel La Comtesse
#64 of 1,800 in Paris
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel

Property: First Hotel
Address: 2 boulevard Garibaldi | 15th Arr., 75015 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#162 Business Hotel in Paris
#182 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#224 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#262 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ideally located in the middle of the business and the pleasure districts close to eiffel-tower many rooms with exceptionnal view, invalides, unesco.Hotel completly renovated one years for the renovation openning first september 2010 HIGH STANDING HOTEL UNLIMITED WIFI CONNECTION Near to the porte de versailles exhibition hallAwarm welcomand quality know-how are the trump cards that will help make your stay in the capital a successful one ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Lastminute, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your First Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing