We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Take the time to find another hotel...” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Jeanne d'Arc

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grand Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
Ranked #1,707 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Take the time to find another hotel...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

This was a last-minute booking as we revised our travel plans... And I was never more relieved to leave a hotel as this one. Our room was on the top floor, at the very end of a long, dingy hallway. The room itself was tiny, barely enough space to walk around, never mind luggage for a family of three; carpet and bed covers looked old and dirty; the bathroom smelled and looked moldy, poor/no ventilation, water leaked everywhere after a shower. No shampoo, just hand soap from a wall dispenser. Wall AC didn't work, but opening the balcony window wasn't an option as there were three large AC generators that took up the entire balcony. A generally unpleasant experience and not one that I will repeat on our next trip to Paris.
Don't be fooled by the photo of the room, unless you are prepared to be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dearmswong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    3
    5
    6
    10
See reviews for
6
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

It turns out that there are two Hotel Jeanne d'Arc's in Paris. The other one gets consistent good reviews and is a recommended hotel by Rick Steves. I booked this one, however, by mistake. The first thing my daughter and I noticed on the way to our room was the smell, faintly like an overflowed sewer. Secondly, the worn and frayed carpet and peeling paint in the hallway outside the room. Thirdly, the door to the room was a flimsy hollow core door with a worn and loose door knob. Made me wonder about the security of the room. When we opened the door my daughter just stood there and laughed. The room was so tiny there would be very little room to put our luggage-just two carry ons and two back packs. At first glance the beds appeared to not even be on bed frames, they were so low to the ground. Next, the bathroom. The bathroom was not only tiny but the ceiling...another laugher..the peeling and decomposing ceiling had been covered up with a pink plastic film. The plastic was not quite wide enough so had been joined together with strips of scotch tape but still leaving a four inch gap.. Even though the room had been booked for two, there was only one towel and no soap. I was starting to get the impression this hotel was usually booked by the hour. Oh, and the stairway, it was completely unlit. We had to carefully feel for the next step before assuming it would be where we expected. (The stairs were spiral so the steps were shaped like a wedge.)
We left our luggage in the room and immediately set out to find another hotel. We eventually found one a couple blocks away, went back and retrieved our bags and moved.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FredO764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

First the good:

Location - five minute walk from St Marcel metro - almost as close to Les Gobelins. Not beyond a longer stroll to reach Notre Dame and Hotel De Ville etc - or perhaps down to Chinatown at Place D'Italie.

Price: Cheap

Staff: Friendly enough - though little English spoken

The Bad:

Rooms: Ours was tiny. The bathroom was even smaller - if you like your French food, so to speak, you really will struggle squeezing in. One very small wardrobe, and an LCD TV - which was fine.

Shower - broken, so you had to hold the hose in your hand

The whole place could have done with a good lick of paint really.

Our room was on the 4th floor. The lift, it will literally fit two people in it - at a squeeze - with no luggage.

Noise - the street below is busy - so if you're not used to traffic noise...it could be a problem.

BUT overall - just about acceptable, if a little too basic. I would NOT return - but it didn't spoil a weekend in Paris.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sior_ap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

The good thing about this hotel is its location and the bus line in front of it that deserves Gare de Lyon, Gare D'Austerlitz and Gare Montparnasse.
The room I had was very very small with hardly any room for luggage. As for the bathroom, let me put it this way: if you are "portly", you won't be able to use the loo.
Repairs have been poorly done and it should not be that way: if you are going to fix something, do it to a correct standard, especially in a hotel.

Staff at reception were friendly enough. I just think this hotel has unused potential and they really need to do something about maintenance. A coat of paint woudl help too. And a pillow with its own cover rather than using the bed sheet.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatouMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

My husband and I travel quite a lot and this month we went to a few cities in Europe and were looking for budget hotels everywhere, in the other cities we found good rooms in our budget and at good locations too. However in Paris we thought a room at a two star budget hotel would at least be basic and clean. But when we reached there the person on duty at the tiny reception asked us for payment immediately even before we had seen the room and said we had to pay now and could not pay later on. Although it is close to the metro station and has a tiny miniscule balcony sort of a window but that all there is to it. The bathroom was a 3feet by 4 feet room where you could hardly stand and brush your teeth and it was not even clean. The room itself was a tiny space where you possible couldn’t have enough space to keep your bags. The staff could only speak French which was quite difficult as we only speak English. One day we decided to get some wine back to the room to drink, but we did not have a cork and assumed the hotel would be able to provide us with a corkscrew and some glasses but on asking the manager downstairs and trying to explain to him what we required, because of the language problem, he said there was no corkscrew or any glasses in the hotel which is odd as they supposedly have breakfast available. I was really excited about Paris as this was my first visit to that city but the hotel really brought us down. But the good thing is you’ll never feel like going back to the hotel so you keep roaming the streets of Paris and come across some exceptionally good places and hidden streets..

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karmakola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2010

My husband and I love Paris and come to visit every two years. This year, we were bringing our two daughters for the first time and were so excited! For a change, we decided to stay in the Marais instead
of the 6th arr. and booked our stay at the Hotel Jeanne D Arc.

Our disappointment started early with the surly staff who pretty much ignores you.
Our room was dour with stained carpet, an old beaten up desk and very little storage space for four people.
The flat screen TV didn't work and it was on the old desk anyway, completely out of view for anyone sitting on the bed (the only place to sit).
But the worst was the bathroom. Black mold on the ceiling above the shower/tub.
A tiny, old shower curtain that didn't fit and let water splash all over the bathroom.
The bar holding up the shower curtain was rusted and held in place by brochures jammed in on each side!
The toilet paper holder was missing, but two ugly holes were left in the wall. The bath towels were threadbare and fraying. The shower head was broken, making it practically impossible to take a shower. It eventually broke off and had to be fixed. It was so depressing. I felt awful that this was my girls first impression of Paris.
We never ate breakfast there. We felt it was safer to venture out and go to local places instead. Would not recommend."

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rhinod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2009

The only thing this hotel has going for it is location. It is very close to everything including restaurants and the Metro. The rooms are very small. The bathroom is so tiny the sink is directly in front of the shower. Turned out that was handy since the shower is so small I had to use the sink to prop my foot up on to shave my legs! The staff speaks almost no English and hate when they have to. We could not get ice or a working telephone for 3 days because the staff ignored us. The elevator is so small you will have to bring your luggage up separately from yourself. There are zero extras in your room, including bedside lights or a WORKING air conditioner.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MilkmanOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Marais
Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
#412 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Gobelins
Hotel Saint-Marcel
Hotel Saint-Marcel
#1,127 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Hotel Garance
#1,092 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gobelins
Media
Media
#1,434 of 1,795 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Best Western Plus La Demeure
#391 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Hotel Devillas
#700 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Jeanne d'Arc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Jeanne d'Arc

Property: Grand Hotel Jeanne d'Arc
Address: 43 boulevard Saint Marcel | 13th Arr., 75013 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,707 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing