We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location can't be beat” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Helvetia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Helvetia
Ranked #1,096 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Location can't be beat”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

I booked this hotel for one reason only: I was arriving quite late at the Gare de Lyon and it wasn't even a 5 minute walk from the station, and you could check in very late.

The hotel itself is not spectacular. It looks a little dated, no breakfast provided. There is wifi provided (you need to get a receipt at the main desk for free). However it's clean, nearby, and the service was just fine! It is a bit pricey though, but in this case I imagine you're paying for the location!

A good spot to stay if you're arriving late from the Gare de Lyon, or needing to be at the Gare early the next morning. Not sure it would be optimal for a long term stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Velouaaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    117
    101
    18
    6
See reviews for
57
107
36
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antibes, France
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

The staff is pleasant, no stress attitude as opposed to other Parisians. Room and bathroom were big and very clean. Really close to Gare de Lyon train station (5 minutes walk), and there is a subway just in front of the hotel! Only problems: no air conditioning and unfortunately WiFi was not working. Otherwise I still recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I booked a twin room. 5th floor (elevator only til 4th floor). Nice little breeze during the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank french_carioca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights and we were assigned a room next to the main road. It is noisy at night but you need to keep the windows open during summer. Otherwise, it will be stuffy. Only a heater inside the room but not an air-con or a fan...

There are 2 plugs provided but 1 is out of order. It is inconvenient as we need to recharge our mobile and camera.

Free WIFI is provided but sometimes not stable. You need to ask for login name and password per device from the counter.

Breakfast is simple, tea and bread. If you wanna have an affordable and very full dinner, I will recommend you to try Le Maximilien. It is just next to the hotel. Their 3-course dinner is under Euro20 (include starter, main course, dessert and red wine). For the desserts, there are many choices and the boss even bring me to the fridge and allow me to choose the one I want. The boss is very friendly!!

Location is great as it is near the Gare de Lyon, 5 mins walk to the main station while Metro Exit 10 & 11 is near the hotel. There are 2 grocery stores near the hotel: 1) marche franprix (close quite early- can't remember the opening hour) 2) BIO (open until 10pm).

Room Tip: Avoid to choose this hotel during summer. There is no air-con, no fan and no fridge. Don't cho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WCLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

I chose this hotel as we needed to be near the Gare de Lyon next morning for an onward trip to Geneva and it is very conveniently situated. The room was small and the bathroom tiny with no lock on the door, but the shower worked fine and the bed was comfy enough. It was very hot when we were there in July and since there was no air conditioning the room itself was roasting hot and the heat brought out some ants on the bathroom floor. Wi-Fi was free, which was a big plus as far as my son was concerned. All in all though, an ok hotel for an overnight stay but not sure I would like to stay any longer.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathleenmelvincls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

I have stayed there twice. The staff are friendly and efficient and it is very convenient for the Gare De Lyon. The room was small but comfortable. It was not too expensive given the need to be near the Gare de Lyon for an early train

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RD4PD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Excellent location, 2 blocks away from La Gare de Lyon and steps away from bars, restaurants and a metro station. A mini Market is just across the street. Vey nice and helpful staff. Clean and safe rooms, noise and smoke free.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Prince Albert Concordia
Prince Albert Concordia
#1,291 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon
Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon
#530 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Lyon Bastille
Hotel Lyon Bastille
#918 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Adriatic
Hotel Adriatic
#1,199 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Terminus Lyon
Hotel Terminus Lyon
#468 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel de Reims
Hotel de Reims
#1,061 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Helvetia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Helvetia

Property: Hotel Helvetia
Address: 28 B boulevard Diderot | 12 Arr., 75012 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation , Reuilly
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#179 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Helvetia 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Helvetia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helvetia Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing