We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You ain't seen nothing yet....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel De Milan

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel De Milan
Ranked #1,690 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Kampen
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“You ain't seen nothing yet....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

We stayed in room #50 on the top floor. This room is - as far as we know - the only room with two private bathrooms! One with the toilet and a washing tub and the other bathroom with a big bath tub and shower. One day we took room service for breakfast. The friendly maid bumped into the room and put the coffee (French style, so like a cup of soup!) and the slices of bagette and jam on the table in the corner. The room had a French balcony and it is very romantic to stay in a strange hotel like this. When we came home late at night, we saw various strange people, like a freak show.... but, we never felt uncomfortable, one does simply not meet guys lik this in a 4-star hotel. The other morning we took the simple continental breakfast in the small breakfast room. Again: a lot to see, hear and watch! If you want to experience Paris like it was 50 years ago in a hotel "dernière classe" (they used to have that classification indeed!), go here and ignore the dirt in the corridors, the smell in the bathroom, the very basic breakfast and just absorb the impressions you will not have anywhere else in Paris! And last (but an issue not to ignore): enjoy the rather low pricing.

Room Tip: Don't go for a room with NO private bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alessandro1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    6
    8
    3
    6
See reviews for
3
7
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Community of Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2010

The hotel between gare du nord and gar de l'est in Paris is very central and near to the metro/train/bus transport. The hotel was very confortable, nevertheless i recommend you to book a room with private bathroom, because the shared facilities aren't very good. The staff was always very friendly, and they always knewed our names and were very helpfull giving us tipps and tricks to see paris the best way. The rooms were very clean and confortable. The bathroom wasn't very luxurious but for taking a shower OK. We really liked the familiar atmosphere, and the helpfull staff. Concerning the area, it is, near a trainstation, its normal that it is dark, and there are strange people. I really recommend this hotel, it is one of the cheapest in paris! For only 65E you have a nice acomodation in a good area.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anabel89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2010

We were on our way back from China when we got stuck in Moscow because of the airport closures in Europe due to the volcanic ash problem. We were diverted to Nice, and having to travel by train to Paris, then Eurostar to home in London. We stayed here because it is close to Gare du Nord - Eurostar's terminus in Paris - knowing that we have to queue for Eurostar tickets from 06:00 the next day. This is the first hotel we found in the vicinity that had availability that night for a family of 4 - we were too exhausted to look around knowing that all the hotels in the area would be pretty full because of the travel chaos. It tick all the boxes that tell you not to stay here again - unfriendly staff, dark and dirty stairs, small dirty room, price that is too expensive than is reasonable, .... Having stayed in a hotel in Beijing that is the 3rd most popular in Beijing from trip advisor's reviewers and in a hotel in Xian that is 4th most popular in Xian, this is really quite a contrast !!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChiFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Bucharest
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2010

the hotel is quite nice but with NO showers in the room, we must pay some euros (I don't remember well) for a shower. The location is very very bad because is between Gare du Nord and Gare de l'Est and near the train stations, we know, it is not the perfect place to stay (even for a week). I do not recomend the area during the night becasuse there are many freaks, drunks and dangerous people

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mihai1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2008

Small rooms,good price, friendly and helpful staff, close to city transportation, good continental breakfast,

  • Liked — The location to city transportation
  • Disliked — Could have been cleaner
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ParrotSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north carolina, usa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2008

Small hotel convenietly located to restaurants, Train station, bus service. We stayed a week and went all over Paris easily. You can see the lit up Sacre Cour at night from here, we walked to the Arch de Triumph, was a long ways but we like to walk and enjoyed stopping places along the way at our leisure. (Bus back!) Hopped on the Red Bus for 2 day pass, picks up Gare du Nord one trip around each morning.
The staff seem to be all relatives & one or the other serve coffee and French bread for a little breakfast. Some mornings we dashed over to the bakery 50 feet away and brought back pastries and yogurt. Grocery store on the corner. Room was stocked with rough towels, adequate shower. The bed spreads needed a good laundering or replacing and looked a bit shabby.

In fact, one could probably do better in the area for the same price. There are lots of hotels across from the Gare. But Milan wasn't very expensive and we liked the small family atmosphere of this place, the ancient old elevator that creaks up and down, and squeaky stairs. Staff knew our names and recognized us right away to chat and see to our needs. I admit, we are a bit more tolerant of less than stellar accomodations so if you have the money and want to spend it on sleeping, go for a nicer place.

  • Liked — Close to transportation to Paris, restaurants near by & shopping
  • Disliked — Rooms small, linens & bedding needed updating
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sernja2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel des Belges
Hotel des Belges
#1,504 of 1,795 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Little Regina
Hotel Little Regina
#1,043 of 1,795 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Midnight Hotel Paris
Midnight Hotel Paris
#358 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Libertel Gare du Nord Suede
Libertel Gare du Nord Suede
#414 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#1,493 of 1,795 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
New Hotel Gare du Nord
New Hotel Gare du Nord
#1,305 of 1,795 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Milan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Milan

Property: Hotel De Milan
Address: 17 rue de Saint Quentin, 75010 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord , Entrepôt
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,690 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Number of rooms: 49

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing