We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, overall ok hotel, a bit overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon
Ranked #563 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Excellent location, overall ok hotel, a bit overpriced”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We choose this hotel because we wanted to be close to la Gare de Lyon based on the booking.com reviews.
It is indeed really well located, close to Lyon, Austerlitz and at a relatively walking distance of the city center, which is great.
However, for the price, the hotel lacks a bit of something.
Indeed the staff is very friendly, and you are nicely received to a room that has everything you need, a clean and well-equipped bathroom, a nice and really comfortable bed, good wifi connection and chocolate and water.
That is all good.
However, it has other details. The room is small and the carpet is not very clean, the breakfast is not included, you are supposed to have a daily bottle of water, but we stayed 3 nights and got it only once, and the elevator smelt very bad.
These are not important matters, so if the hotel has ~80 euros/night it would have been the best ever, if it was 100 it would still have been super good, totally recommended. But we paid close to 200 euros/night. If only the breakfast was included and the water was in fact delivered, it still would have been an awesome deal. Without that, it feels that the booking.com score (higher than 9) is undeserved.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ec_grs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie B, Responsable commercial at Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Dear Madam,

We are disappointed to read that your stay did not happened the way you expected.
Concerning the bottle of water, we do offer a bottle in room per stay (upon arrival). But if you need another bottle, we provide free bottles of water and hot drinks (coffee, tea, chocolate) in the lobby upon request.
If you had prefered a Bed & Breakfast rate, you could book our special offer Bed&Breakfast avaible on our official website.
Concerning the bad smell of the elevator and the dirty carpet, I can assure you that we are doing our best to keep a standard of cleanliness. Next time that you find something dirty, please, do not hesitate to warn us.
Thank you anyway for the nice remarks about the staff's kindness, the quality of the beds, room equipment...

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    136
    21
    6
    13
See reviews for
93
108
18
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Reception: very attentive, helpful and quick. Always ready to help. We had to leave our suitcases when checking out and they have everything under control. They even put a tag with your name and room so they won´t get lost.

Room: I asked for a quiet room. I had it. Yes, they are a bit on the small side but when in Paris you don´t spend your time in the room! So it is fine. The TV has lots of channels in many languages. There are extra pillows ( great ). And the decoration is nice. Great illumination in the room too.

Bathroom: Compact but good. The shower has a good pressure and temperature. The cabin door closes very well so no splashing out. And there is something I never saw before: in the shower there is a line for you to hang small clothes in case of need!

Cleanliness: perfect everywhere.

Location: very close to Gare de Lyon.

Personal opinion: I will always try to book this hotel for my next trips to Paris. There is another point I liked - they don´t make the rooms first thing in the morning so you are not under the pressure to leave because you are hearing the vaccum cleaner outside.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marga2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie B, Responsable commercial at Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
We would like to thank you for your kind message.

We are trying to welcome our guests the way we would be welcomed ourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012 via mobile

It's good for what was intended, close to Gare de Lyon, the staff were helpful, beds comfy, room a bit on the small side. In a bit of an odd neighbourhood but the metro makes it easy to get anywhere and we just walked across the Seine to get a train to Versailles.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzylambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie B, Responsable commercial at Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon, responded to this review, 10 February 2013
We would like to thank you for your review. We are doing our best to help our guests to have a lovely time in Paris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Compare the lousy reviews on trip advisor to the 170+ really good reviews on booking.com before making a judgment on this place. It's not cheap at EUR 119/night single occupancy with a single bed, but the pictures show it exactly as it is. The hotel is absolutely spotless, tastefully done, modern and friendly. Two chaps at reception gave me lots of tips on getting around and places to eat. Internet is free and the road noise is minimal. You might be able to get a slightly better price by going straight to their website at www.elyseegarelyon.com.

Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Walter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie B, Responsable commercial at Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon, responded to this review, 29 November 2012
Good evening from Paris,

We would like to thank you for this nice comment about our hotel. As we might have told you during your stay the hotel is brand new and such comments show that our efforts to provide the best welcome are paying.

Sincerely,

Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Terminus Lyon
Hotel Terminus Lyon
#514 of 1,801 in Paris
915 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Lyon Bastille
Hotel Lyon Bastille
#961 of 1,801 in Paris
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Viator - Paris Gare de Lyon
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Bel Oranger Gare de Lyon
Hotel Bel Oranger Gare de Lyon
#1,076 of 1,801 in Paris
84 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Mercure Paris Gare de Lyon TGV
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon

Property: Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon
Address: 234 rue de Bercy, 75012 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #563 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing