We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Example for hotels worldwide”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon
Ranked #586 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We spent 3 nights in a cornerroom on the second floor, paying the minimumrate. The room and the bathroom are compact, what is to be expected in Paris, in this hotelcategory. Bathroom closet-size, but shower good. To sit on the toilet with the door closed is quite difficult if you are a large person. We 'improvised' without a problem.
Nice roomdesign, not the usual 'hotel-art'. Bedding very good. You can open a window. Windows are soundproof, proven during the Techno Parade 2013! Free bottle of water every day, free wifi. Save is not in the room but near the reception, seems odd but works perfect. We didn't use breakfast, there are plenty alternatives around Gare de Lyon, nice neighbourhood.
We would have liked a kettle in the room and not at the reception. The hotel does't have a parking garage, but there're several expensive ones at Gare de Lyon (4 min. walk).
Last but not least: the hotel has an amazing app for your smartphone. It offers an off- and online map of Paris and lots of really original information, very useful for travelers. An example for other hotels worldwide. I would go here next time visiting Paris.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pluskat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie B, Responsable commercial at Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Good afternoon from Paris,

We would like to thank you for taking some time to write an advice about hotel.

Our hotel was designed to optimize the space available. We are aware that it might not correspond to every country's standard but we tried to make our rooms as comfortable as possible.

Concerning the safes, putting them near the reception is a choice made after several years of experience. Some guests have difficulties to use them. Putting them at the reception allows us to show how it works to whom wishes to use it.

Concerning the app, I am very glad to inform you that it is now avalaible on the Android Market too.

We will be more than happy to welcome you again for your future trip to Paris.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2013

We spent 2 nights in the Hotel in early August. This hotel was about 5 minutes from the Gare de Lyon and easy to find and walk to. The hotel has been recently redecorated and was very clean and comfortable, we got is as a special with London/Paris Eurostar tickets which was a discounted price. Looking at the standard price then it is perhaps overpriced.
Our only complaint was the lack of breakfast, it appeared that if you were not first into the dining room food was not replaced and we had to make do with what was left.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bikehikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie B, Responsable commercial at Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

We would like to thank you for taking a little of your time to write a comment on the hotel.
Concerning the breakfast service, we are really sorry to read that it did not correspond to your expectations and we will work hard to improve our service.
We are glad to read that you enjoyed the comfort of our hotel we hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

My wife and I spent three weeks in France. We stayed at the Elysee four days in the beginning of our vacation, toured the south of France and returned to our same room for two more days at the end of our trip.

Our room was spotless, quiet and comfortable. Small by U.S. standards, but more than adequate.

For newcomers to Paris, the entire staff was kind and helpful. They offered suggestions for what to do, eat and get around Paris as well as Lyon. Their suggestions helped us save time and money.

Our French is limited, but all the staff of the Elysee spoke English and were patient with new comers to their country.

We would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie B, Responsable commercial at Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
We sincerely thank you for your message. It is a great pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your stay. Your comment reinforces our efforts and our desire to respond to an ever better service. We hope to welcome you back to Elysée Gare de Lyon

Sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We choose this hotel because we wanted to be close to la Gare de Lyon based on the booking.com reviews.
It is indeed really well located, close to Lyon, Austerlitz and at a relatively walking distance of the city center, which is great.
However, for the price, the hotel lacks a bit of something.
Indeed the staff is very friendly, and you are nicely received to a room that has everything you need, a clean and well-equipped bathroom, a nice and really comfortable bed, good wifi connection and chocolate and water.
That is all good.
However, it has other details. The room is small and the carpet is not very clean, the breakfast is not included, you are supposed to have a daily bottle of water, but we stayed 3 nights and got it only once, and the elevator smelt very bad.
These are not important matters, so if the hotel has ~80 euros/night it would have been the best ever, if it was 100 it would still have been super good, totally recommended. But we paid close to 200 euros/night. If only the breakfast was included and the water was in fact delivered, it still would have been an awesome deal. Without that, it feels that the booking.com score (higher than 9) is undeserved.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ec_grs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie B, Responsable commercial at Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Dear Madam,

We are disappointed to read that your stay did not happened the way you expected.
Concerning the bottle of water, we do offer a bottle in room per stay (upon arrival). But if you need another bottle, we provide free bottles of water and hot drinks (coffee, tea, chocolate) in the lobby upon request.
If you had prefered a Bed & Breakfast rate, you could book our special offer Bed&Breakfast avaible on our official website.
Concerning the bad smell of the elevator and the dirty carpet, I can assure you that we are doing our best to keep a standard of cleanliness. Next time that you find something dirty, please, do not hesitate to warn us.
Thank you anyway for the nice remarks about the staff's kindness, the quality of the beds, room equipment...

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Reception: very attentive, helpful and quick. Always ready to help. We had to leave our suitcases when checking out and they have everything under control. They even put a tag with your name and room so they won´t get lost.

Room: I asked for a quiet room. I had it. Yes, they are a bit on the small side but when in Paris you don´t spend your time in the room! So it is fine. The TV has lots of channels in many languages. There are extra pillows ( great ). And the decoration is nice. Great illumination in the room too.

Bathroom: Compact but good. The shower has a good pressure and temperature. The cabin door closes very well so no splashing out. And there is something I never saw before: in the shower there is a line for you to hang small clothes in case of need!

Cleanliness: perfect everywhere.

Location: very close to Gare de Lyon.

Personal opinion: I will always try to book this hotel for my next trips to Paris. There is another point I liked - they don´t make the rooms first thing in the morning so you are not under the pressure to leave because you are hearing the vaccum cleaner outside.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marga2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie B, Responsable commercial at Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

We would like to thank you for your kind message.

We are trying to welcome our guests the way we would be welcomed ourselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012 via mobile

It's good for what was intended, close to Gare de Lyon, the staff were helpful, beds comfy, room a bit on the small side. In a bit of an odd neighbourhood but the metro makes it easy to get anywhere and we just walked across the Seine to get a train to Versailles.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizzylambert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie B, Responsable commercial at Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2013

We would like to thank you for your review. We are doing our best to help our guests to have a lovely time in Paris.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Compare the lousy reviews on trip advisor to the 170+ really good reviews on booking.com before making a judgment on this place. It's not cheap at EUR 119/night single occupancy with a single bed, but the pictures show it exactly as it is. The hotel is absolutely spotless, tastefully done, modern and friendly. Two chaps at reception gave me lots of tips on getting around and places to eat. Internet is free and the road noise is minimal. You might be able to get a slightly better price by going straight to their website at www.elyseegarelyon.com.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
3  Thank Walter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie B, Responsable commercial at Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2012

Good evening from Paris,

We would like to thank you for this nice comment about our hotel. As we might have told you during your stay the hotel is brand new and such comments show that our efforts to provide the best welcome are paying.

Sincerely,

Sophie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Terminus Lyon
Hotel Terminus Lyon
#457 of 1,802 in Paris
1,051 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Palym Hotel
Palym Hotel
#477 of 1,802 in Paris
650 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Holiday Inn Paris Gare de Lyon Bastille
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Lyon Bastille
Hotel Lyon Bastille
#921 of 1,802 in Paris
229 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Bel Oranger Gare de Lyon
Hotel Bel Oranger Gare de Lyon
#1,135 of 1,802 in Paris
92 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Viator - Paris Gare de Lyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon

Address: 234 rue de Bercy, 75012 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #586 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £92 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Elysee Gare de Lyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing