We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not for the faint of heart...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Montana La Fayette
Ranked #1,742 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not for the faint of heart...”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I booked this hotel off the internet from Australia, going by the pictures and the price. 'That was silly' I hear you shouting at your computer. Maybe, but because I was travelling by myself I thought it would be ok. Well it was ok, but that's all it was. I'm a big guy - over 6 foot and have eaten plenty of ice cream - and the room was just not made for a big guy. Also, it was a bit on the dirty side, and very worn with minimal comforts. Let's use the word practical to describe it.

I needed then wi-fi to work which was very touch and go (and wound up in trouble with my wife who was expecting my call when I arrived - she thought I was lost, but no, just trying to get the internet working with the manager!)

Overall, if you are just using it for a bed and not expecting any comforts then this is a good price and location. If you don't want to walk out the door in front of half of the Paris criminals, and would like a comfy pillow and bed that is wider than a bench seat, then I suggest looking elsewhere for a hotel. This is not for the faint hearted.

Regards, Ken Knox (3dcityexplorer.com)

Room Tip: Don't choose any if you're looking for a good room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    5
    13
    13
    57
See reviews for
11
18
20
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

As most reviews say it all, the location is just unbeatable! 3 minutes walk to Gare Du Nord and Gare de L'Est and the wifi is working fine. Those are the only two plus points. Room is small and the lift is even smaller. You can't put one big luggage and one person together. I got a clean room with no air-conditioner nor heating working. It was a cold night. Toilet flush pipe is broken and i got a flood after the first business. Receptionists are rather rude (met 3 different ones and they are all the same attitude. Are they trained to be rude to guests?). They wouldn't call me a taxi at 4am. They just asked me to walk to the train station. Didn't even bother to try the breakfast. I'm sure there are similar price hotel in the same area that are nicer. This one doesn't deserve a second chance. Stayed in May 2013

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jbdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Stayed here for one night in order to catch an early morning train from Gare du Nord station. In terms of location, excellent for transport links. Room was very clean and the furniture in good condition, and a hairdryer supplied in the bathroom. Can't comment on wi-fi, didn't use it.
Apart from the above, my experience was rather negative. Although it was cold outside, I would expect inside to have been warmer than it was. I was on the fourth floor and there's only one little radiator in the room, which was on but not doing a great job of heating the room. The bathroom adjoining the bedroom was absolutely freezing, making any possibility of a shower crazy. Wouldn't have liked to try the towels anyhow, they were very hard, almost like sandpaper. The bathroom door wouldn't close either, adding to the coldness of the bedroom. A flatscreen tv provided in the room had no remote. So, not a great nights sleep in the cold, and no entertainment to wile away the hours.
Oh, and beware. There is the smallest elevator/lift I have ever seen. My size 10 frame and handbag took up the whole thing, so if you've luggage, forget it.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

I'm not very picky on this particular trip to Paris, as I just needed a place to stay for the night so I can make it to my train to Amsterdam the following morning. One, it's cheap, and two, it's about a three-minute walk to Gare du Nord train station. Of all the hotels near the train station, I possibly had picked the worst hotel to stay in. I stayed during the summer, and my room doesn't even have a fan, just a small window. I got bitten by bedbugs/gnats! I read from another site that a guest complained about this as well, so I know that I can't possibly have gotten this from the next hotel we stayed in. Don't stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aida205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

I was choosing between 2 hotels to book. I chose Montana only because in the description there was written that I will have a hairdryer. Unfortunately, there wasn't but staff was able to find a solution and I could dry my hair in the morning.
I had a very small single room. It was impossible to close the bathroom doors.
The location of the hotel was good. It's just walking distance from Monmartre. Underground stations is very close too so it was very fast and easy to get to tourist attractions.
The hotel has free wi-fi which I really appreciated.
Not sure if I would like to come back here again or recommend it to anyone, but it was good enough to just to spend a couple of nights.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saulala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

It was a last minute purchade and I was quite tired and emotional,at the time, but booking this place was the biggest mistake I've made since buying some shares in RBS before the banking crisis in 2008!
It really does pay to read TA before you book an hotel....and all hotel booking sites must take this one off the shopping list like yesterday!
We turned up at the Montana around 7-00pm and were shocked at the state of the reception area. To be honest we were itching before we even spoke to the guy who sort of greeeted us. We guessed he might have been the receptionist, but we're not sure.
After a slight communication problem (he couldn't find our reservation) he told us that there was a problem as they'd had to close the 6th floor....to be fumagated....and as our rooms were on this floor we'd been relocated to another hotel! What a relief!
See my next review.....
,

Room Tip: Don't even consider this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PoundMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

A friend and I traveled to Paris in 1993 and she made reservations at this hotel. When we got there it was totally derelict. The elevator didn't work well then and we were also placed on the 5th or 6th floor. I remember that there was an old stained (YUCK) mattress in the stairwell that we dragged our suitcases up and up and up.
When we saw the room / bathroom and how horrible it was, I told her I was not going to spend the night there. We tried to get part of our money back, but did not prevail. I don't remember the name of the small hotel we stayed in now, but the name of the Montana is etched forever in my mind.
I greatly enjoyed reading the reviews today!! Nothing has changed it seems!

Room Tip: Avoid booking this one at all costs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel des Belges
Hotel des Belges
#1,511 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#1,501 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Entrepôt
Hotel Albert 1er
Hotel Albert 1er
#611 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
New Hotel Gare du Nord
New Hotel Gare du Nord
#1,271 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Entrepôt
Hotel Cambrai a Paris
Hotel Cambrai a Paris
#1,575 of 1,797 in Paris
3.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Entrepôt
Mercure Paris Gare Du Nord La Fayette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montana La Fayette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montana La Fayette

Property: Hotel Montana La Fayette
Address: 164 rue la Fayette | 10th Arr., 75010 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Entrepôt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,742 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Montana La Fayette 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Montana La Fayette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing