We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A value for money "Triomphe"”
Review of Phenix Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Phenix Hotel
Ranked #1,363 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A value for money "Triomphe"”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

If you are looking for great "value for money" then this is it. Remember where you are as location is everything. If you fell out of bed then you would almost land on the Arc de Triomphe. The reception area is clean and bright and the staff welcoming and very helpful. The single lift just holds 2 people up very very close or 1 person and a case.

O.K. the corridors do look a bit on the tired side with the carpet a bit frayed in places and yes the bedrooms are on the small size and you might have to be a bit flexible sitting on the loo or getting in the shower cubicle. However, the room was cleaned with the beds made every day. Unless there is a blizzard outside you don't come to Paris to stay in the hotel.There is so much to see and do. Near by are some very nice inexpensive restaurants and it is great fun exploring the back streets off the Champs Elysees where prices are affordable! The hotel had everything we wanted as my son was running the Paris Marathon we only wanted a clean comfortable inexpensive place to stay - and we certainly found it!

Room Tip: a room at the back might be quieter but the road at the front is not busy so I cannot see a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank malcolm a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    21
    14
    4
    8
See reviews for
11
17
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

You only stay in your room to sleep whilst in Paris to much to do and see:-)

Fab location for Paris, 2 mns walk to CDG metro/rer/airport bus/Champs Elysees bliss. Easy walk to the Eiffel Tower and the Bateaux Mouche at the Seine.

For Paris rates its a gem, breakfast is continental no probs rooms are clean if basic staff very helpful and friendly rates are great for the location, go to Marriott or Charles V etc if you want to pay for 5* accomodation in the same area?

Lift is quaint two persons at a time! luggage optional! We had a room with a small balcony with double doors opening onto the street below very atmospheric.

Will be back so much still discover may need a # of vists to see them all!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor for a balcony to view the sounds of Paris.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VinRouge79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolus-d'Oleron, France
Level Contributor
149 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

Just 2 minutes walk from the airport bus stop and 3 minutes walk to the top of Champs Élysées, this hotel is just perfect for a short stay in Paris. We stayed only one night and found the staff friendly, the room good enough. Breakfast was simple, but adequate. The price of our room was only 80euros and that is quite extraordinary at such a location.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FHN21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veliko Turnovo, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2011

I stayed at the Phenix for five nights during a business trip. The hotel was recommended by the hosts because of the location - near the Arc and the Champs. The rooms are not very big but were enough for one person. Some of the other guests complained about the noise from the street but for me it was OK. The bathroom was really small but clean. The staff were friendly, answered all my questions. Breakfast was basic but enough.
As a whole I would recommend it to people who are on a budget. The truth is, I only slept there. After all you don't go to Paris to stay in ahotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mir929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2008

I stay in Paris at least once a year, as I am a travel consultant and tourism instructor, and French is my native language. I had Emailed my credit card info to the manager months ago, and had received a written confirmation online, signed by "the manager" ,for 3 nights. My husband and I were returning from a 10-day whirlwind drive through Switzerland and France, and arrived at the hotel after returning our rental car, exhausted and loaded with luggage at 9 pm. The night man told us we had no reservation, refused to call the manager at home, finally did so to be told my reservation and credit card info were never received (although I was brandishing print-outs of their confirmation in my hand), etc. I had to call the police, who came immediately, but told me that although what the hotel did was absolutely dishonest and unprofessional, there was no police case as there was no crime committed (They had not charged my card). At that point the night attendant suddenly found out that a room might be available (for one night) at midnight because "a client might be leaving" but since they were booked for the next days, they would take pity on us and give us shelter (not free of course) for that night. To make a long story short, my husband and I walked around in the neighborhood another half hour (it was almost midnite by then), found another hotel nearby, and stayed there 4 nights at a higher rate. There are several small but clean hotels on the little streets between Avenue Carnot and Avenue MacMahon (an area which I prefer because of its proximity to the Air France Airport bus terminal at Etoile. Don't even try to reserve lodging at the Phenix, because they do not honor even written reservations, and you may well end up like us Sleepless and Roomless in Paris !

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank FranceSpecialist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2007

There were 4 of us who stayed at the Phenix Hotel at the recommendation of a co-worker who stayed there several years ago. We should have checked with Trip Advisor to see other recommendations. We had 2 rooms on the 3rd floor. The lobby appeared very clean and gave no clue of the condition of our rooms. We knew this to be a budget hotel and didn't expect much. Safety and cleanliness was our main objective. The hotel is in a safe area, but cleanliness was just as important to us, and we were sorely disappointed. Both rooms were very substandard to say the least. The old furniture didn't bother us. Our disappointment was from the condition of the rooms. The hallway and the rooms stenched (carpet probably does not get cleaned regularly), shower curtains were old and mildewed with black spots all over. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. I would rather pay more to have a clean place to stay.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — lack of cleanliness
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank SanJosean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2007

We stayed here several years ago and I'm glad it is still getting good reviews. It is a bare bones hotel but clean andfriendly. Great location near the Arch de Triumph and just off the Champs'. It can't be beat for the money!

  • Liked — Location - Price
  • Disliked — Small elevator
  • Stayed May 2003, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NevadaRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Elysee Etoile
Hotel Elysee Etoile
#1,132 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel des Pavillons
Hotel des Pavillons
#1,046 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Marmotel Etoile
Marmotel Etoile
#1,140 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Troyon
Hotel Troyon
#1,293 of 1,797 in Paris
3.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Champs-Elysees
Hotel Belfast
Hotel Belfast
#1,066 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Acacias Etoile Hotel
#258 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phenix Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phenix Hotel

Property: Phenix Hotel
Address: 5 rue du General Lanrezac, 75017 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Champs-Elysees , Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,363 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Phenix Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Phenix Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phenix Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing