We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like I was living in the 1960's”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Paris Gambetta
Ranked #1,413 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Felt like I was living in the 1960's”
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed there for 2 nights.
PRO's
The reception staff (different person each night) were helpful and spoke English.
The hotel is located very close to the Metro station.
The bed was comfortable.
The room was quiet.
AGAINST
The decor of the room was very old fashioned. Some tiles missing from side of bath.
Had to ask for additional towels (as only one set in room!)
Was allocated room with bath even though we booked (and wanted) a room with a shower. However they didn't charge us any extra for this.
Seemed expensive at €91 a night.
We had room looking into a drab central part of hotel

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veganboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    27
    16
    4
    4
See reviews for
8
21
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Green Valley, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I came for my nephew's wedding. I was joined by my brother and his wife, and my sister and her husband, all staying at the Gambetta Hotel. The staff were VERY helpful, the rooms were clean, and fairly large by Paris standards. There was everything you could need within about two blocks, including Metro and bus service to anywhere in Paris. This is close to the Pere-LaChaise cemetery, where many notables are interred, and which is also a really nice park to walk. I did not try their breakfast, which was extra....as there are so many restaurants, bistros, and of course a McDonald's very close. An excellent two star choice. I'll try to attach pictures later

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Even though the hotel was far far from the area we wanted to be, they were the only ones to welcome us and our two small children with open arms. Truth be told they were mere feet from the subway and therefore a very practical place to stay. The room was very pleasant and clean with a lovely big windows to open up to air it out ( it needed some airing out at first because someone had been smoking in there even though it was supposed to be non smoking), but after a day of open window it was fine. The street noise was also pretty brutal, a taxi stand outside had cabbies blasting radios in the wee hours of the morning, but with the windows shut you didn't hear a peep. Considering everything I think that the hotel was great and good value for Paris.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LovestoBandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2011

If you are not afraid of a little travel, on a budget, I would highly recommend this place. It's about 5 mins from the Metro station and it's clean functional. It's not 5 star but it's respectable and in a nice neighborhood with lots of bistros, bars and cages (of course). The staff are friendly and speak reasonably good English. Oh! Did I mention free wi-fi?

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MitaDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2010

If you're expecting bells, whistles and lots of frills, this is not the hotel for you. It's a basic hotel a little outside of the main attractions of Paris, but very close to the Metro. I reserved a single room and got a room with a lot of space, a fridge with cold drinks and a TV (although CNN is all I could watch given that I can't speak french - yet). I love the fact that it is a little out of the way because it gave me the chance to experience the vibe of a more down to earth Parisian neighborhood. If you are not used to sleeping to 'city sounds' ask for a room away from the street as there are bars and restaurants along the hotel and it can get pretty loud til about 1 am. The people working reception are nice and very helpful , and I was told that I could use the pc in the lobby for internet needs. I can't emphasize enough how I appreciate the standard of cleanliness they have maintained esp. for a 2 star hotel. Highly recommended for the traveller with a limited budget.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2010

Only metres from the Gambetta metro and about 200 metres from the Pere Lachaise cemetery (the reason for my visit). A good value no frills clean hotel that would be fine for a short stay if you need to be in that area of Paris. Near-by metro will get you into the centre and the other sights etc quickly. Recommend having breakfast in one of the many near-by cafe/bars.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AvalonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2009

This is a lovely family hotel in the up and coming 20th. It is located near the metro and ner the lovely Pere Lachaise. Staff are very helpful and the hotel is clean and warm. Rooms are a bit bigger than the average paris hotel but not spacious by UK/US standards. The area is lovely with nice restaurants and shops and with excellent connections by bus and metro to all the sights. a good deal in Paris.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seamount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Super Hotel
Super Hotel
#1,354 of 1,801 in Paris
113 reviews
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Hotel le Paris Vingt
Hotel le Paris Vingt
#1,390 of 1,801 in Paris
53 reviews
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Nadaud Hotel
Nadaud Hotel
#602 of 1,801 in Paris
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Hotel Palma
Hotel Palma
#1,082 of 1,801 in Paris
114 reviews
Belgrand Hotel
#1,439 of 1,801 in Paris
140 reviews
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Hotel de la Perdrix Rouge
Hotel de la Perdrix Rouge
#1,217 of 1,801 in Paris
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paris Gambetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paris Gambetta

Property: Hotel Paris Gambetta
Address: 12 avenue du Pere Lachaise | 20th Arr., 75020 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,413 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Paris Gambetta 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Paris Gambetta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing