We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Paris Bastille Saint Antoine
Ranked #752 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent ”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hotel. Very very helpful staff. And very accommodating. I love this hotel and it's location. Breakfast was ample and rooms comfortable. I was on a terrace room with private area which was lovely. Would strongly recommend to anyway wishing to stay near Bastille

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Scottydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mathieu C, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Bastille Saint Antoine, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear guest,

What a pleasure to start this week with your great comment about Mercure PAris Bastille Saint Antoine !

All the staff and I thank you very much for sharing your feeling about this stay among us,

We'll be proud to see you again for your next stay in Paris,

Very best regards,

Mathieu Chaigneau
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    212
    84
    24
    12
See reviews for
49
218
31
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights on business; not a bad location, and near a metro station for easy access to the tourist sites. Bit of a pain to take the metro from the airport. So we ended up taking a taxi (about €40).
Rooms were very nice, and included breakfast which was really good; filling and allowed us to start the day well. Toilet is separate from the bathroom, which is a shower-tub combination. All very modern, and really liked the included coffee machine, and free mini fridge. Big, modern TV, and very comfy bed with memory foam pillows.

Will book and stay here again!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Max L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mathieu C, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Bastille Saint Antoine, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Guests,

What a great pleasure to read your comments about your stay with us.
We are delighted that you had a great time,

Pending the pleasure of welcoming you on your next trip to Paris,

Very kind regards,

Mathieu Chaigneau
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I lived in Paris for 12 years, and since moving away have had to go back many times for business. At first I felt a little pain at the idea of being in a hotel like a tourist in a city that used to be my home. But on my very first trip I had to fortune of stumbling upon this hotel through an online booking site. Back then it was called "Paname", which is a kind of working class slang nickname for "Paris" that sent chills up my snobby bourgeois spine. But it was the only place in my price range that was available. I expected the worst -- a cigarette-smelling dive of a hotel with indifferent staff. I mean, given the low price there was no way it could be nice.

And then I walked in, saw the Corbusier chairs, the smiles on the staff's faces, and realised that I had stumbled upon a real gem.

This hotel is the Paris of today at its best. The staff (many of whom I still recognize from back when it was a privately-owned hotel) are just wonderful, authentically nice and hospitable people. It's a modern building respecting the style of the neighbourhood. The decor, from the furniture, to the carpets, to the artwork are inspired, tasteful, sometimes provocative (I stayed in a room with a rather risqué Lachapelle painting once) but always classy and of astonishingly high quality given the reasonable price of the hotel.

I read over some other comments about the area, and what you must know before staying here is that it's in a popular neighbourhood for going out at night, and next to a lively street market that operates on the weekend. So you'll hear drunk youngsters singing on the street as they walk past, and there will be stuff all over the street after the market. But that is very typical of this part of Paris, and despite that it's a safe and great neighbourhood to stay in. And well located for your metro rides to the sites.

Honestly, this place is my home away from home in Paris. I've probably been back 10 times in the last 5 years, and would recommend it to anyone whether they're in town for business or a vacation.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the front have larger bathrooms with a tub, and the top floor has balconies. The r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mathieu C, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Bastille Saint Antoine, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks a million for your honest and exceptionnal comment about the hotel, the staff and thank you for sharing this with all the Tripadvisor travellers.

So glad to make you enjoy Paris as an "ex-parisian". Good to know the way you feel good among us at each time.

You really have felt what we want each guest to feel, like "at home".

One precision, the market "Le Marché d'Aligre" is a daily market, except on monday.

Awaiting the pleasure to welcome you for your next stay in Paris,

Very sincerely,

Mathieu Chaigneau
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed here late last year and I enjoyed it. The rooms are nice, newish and comfy – and compared to where else I've stayed in Paris, a decent size (yes, you won't trip over your suitcase once you walk in)! Make sure to check out the rooftop and, if you love food, this is a good spot, because it's near Marche Aligre (a great food market) and excellent eateries (such as La Gazzetta, which is only a street away and does a fantastic lunch). It's close to Bastille, which is handy, but not in a touristy area, so that's nice, too. Sometimes they will have macarons and donuts in the lobby for guests, too. Staff are friendly and helpful.

The only slight downside is sometimes the wi-fi is a bit slow - you kind of have to try and use it in not-so-busy times. But otherwise, everything else is pretty good for a hotel of this type and price range. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ltlSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mathieu C, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Bastille Saint Antoine, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear guest,

My team and I are very glad to read your comments about you stay in oct 2013.

You are totally right, the neightboroods offer a large choice of food and beverage places, in a friendly and simple place of Paris, away from the ambiance of tourist groups.

Our very small hotel of 34 rooms help our guests to feel "at home", and we knowr, recognize and consider each guest in the hotel.

We are here to make you enjoy Paris, and to help you to,

Awaiting the great pleasure to welcome you again & again,

Kind regards,

Mathieu Chaigneau
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Fantastic location! Only a 5 min walk to the M8 station Ledru-Rollin, and about 10 min to the larger Bastille station by the opera house. There are tons of great bars and restaurants nearby (Barrio Latino nightclub if you like salsa dancing & Le Berbère for some of the BEST Moroccan in Paris). Also to note, one of the oldest covered markets in Paris is just steps away from the hotel on Rue d'Aligre! There is also plenty of shopping along Rue du Fauberg-Saint-Antoine, including stores like Maje, Kookaï, L'Occitane, and the Kooples.

The hotel itself is calm and comfortable, the front desk staff is polite and helpful. They provided us with directions and helped with dinner reservations, and ensured we were well cared for during our stay. Our room was a corner room with a sufficiently large bed (sized somewhere between an American king/queen), large bathroom and separate w/c. We had breakfast served in-room a couple of days, and it was typical French fare consisting of several different options. Overall it was quite good but a little pricey. After all, you pay for convenience!

Room service for dinner was a little disappointing. We ordered it one night after an evening dancing at Barrio Latino, as it's available until 1:30am. It took nearly an hour and a half for it to arrive and was pretty bland for the price. I ordered a chicken salad sandwich which was on regular sandwich bread and came with potato chips that arrived soggy.

Aside from the meal, everything else about our stay was great. We loved how close we were to various landmarks and sites. We were walking distance to the neighboring Saint Paul/Le Marais district and loved how accessible we were to the rest of the city. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jiffner22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mathieu C, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Bastille Saint Antoine, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear guests,

We are very glad to read your nice comments about your stay among us.
And thank you for taking the time to do it.

We really hope to see you again to enjoy all the neighborhood bars and lovely restaurants.

... and Happy New Year !

Mathieu Chaigneau
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The hotel has been renovated recently. The decoration is really nice, the rooms are practical, very clean, spacious for Paris standard.
I stayed there twice and each time it was a nice experience.

The Pro's:
Location:
Near to metro station Ledrun-Rollin (line 8). Surrounded by plenty of eat places, shops.
Facilities:
The breakfast buffet is a very good start of the day.
On the 4th floor rooms with private terrace - the neighbours are offices so nobody watching you after business time. And for those without private terrace, there is a common terrace on the roof floor with design outdoor furniture.
Rooms have a bath and a separate toilet.
Staff:
Very welcoming. I was there 1 week in 2 months, and they recognised me the second stay.

The Con’s:
Check-out takes time. Foresee some time, especially if you are on business trip and have morning meetings.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fyfy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mathieu C, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Bastille Saint Antoine, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience in Mercure Bastille Saint Antoine hotel.

All the staff and I are very pleased to read your positive comments about the hotel,

Awaiting the pleasure to welcome you again and again, for your next trips in Paris,

Very kind regards,

Mathieu Chaigneau
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

A short walk from La Bastille. Surrounded by a large number of restaurants and bars. The area is full of life. very near from Aligre market and within walking distance from Gare de Lyon.
The room was ok, the bathroom a little bit small. I had breakfast in the room and it was great, they even bring a newspaper free of charge. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank molino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mathieu C, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Bastille Saint Antoine, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you for sharing your opinion about your stay among us,

My staff and I will be very pleased to welcome you for your next stay in Paris,

Best regards,

M Chaigneau
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
République
Mercure Paris Bastille Marais
Bercy / Nation
Color Design Hotel
Color Design Hotel
#680 of 1,797 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Golden Tulip Gare De Lyon Le 209
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bercy / Nation
Hotel Albe Bastille
Hotel Albe Bastille
#616 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Bercy / Nation
Ibis Paris Bastille Faubourg Saint Antoine 11eme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Paris Bastille Saint Antoine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Paris Bastille Saint Antoine

Property: Mercure Paris Bastille Saint Antoine
Address: 64 rue Crozatier, 75012 Paris, France (Formerly Paname Hotel Bastille)
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bercy / Nation
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#377 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Paris Bastille Saint Antoine 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Paris Bastille St Antoine is located close to the Gare de Lyon and Bastille. Enjoy the quiet of its 34 rooms with renovated bathrooms. An invitation to travel back in time to enjoy a neighborhood of Paris with its still authentic bistros and Paris Market. Dare to discover a quiet location in a "true and living" area, near the Marais and 7 minutes from the Gare de Lyon. On the roof, terrace and summer furniture will offer the charm of Paris rooftops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mercure Paris Bastille Saint Antoine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paname Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing