We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for- and more!”
Review of Le Terrage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Terrage
Ranked #1,670 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You get what you pay for- and more!”
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Don't expect glamour, a five star hotel with a jacuzzi and views of the eiffel tower. Expect friendly, reliable service, clean rooms with a good working television and nice small bathroom a short distance from gare de l'est (a convenient metro/ train station to anywhere). If you think about the money you are spending then this is the absolute best you could hope for ( if not better! ) for the price you are paying. Highly recommended :)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beckji_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    11
    17
    13
    15
See reviews for
9
18
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We arrived near midnight, exhausted. Got turned around and it took awhile to find the hotel from Gare L'Est. The man at the front desk took pity on us and carried our bags up to the 5th floor...probably because we looked like we were going to collapse. When I made my reservation I was not able to get the same room for all five nights, so I was aware that we were going to have to change rooms twice during our stay. I was leary about this and thought it might interfere with our trip what with packing and moving and waiting on the next room, however, the staff continued to go above and beyond. We just left our packed bags in our room and they moved them to our new rooms for us. After that first night they also made sure our rooms were on lower floors. The staff was always very helpful and friendly. The rooms were decent for the price and the proximity to the train station was great. There is a laundromat just two doors down that was very convenient. The internet was accessible only on the first floor but it was very reliable there. Overall it was a good experience and a good value for the money.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cghsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

While the hotel staff was nice enough, the rooms themselves were less than stellar. You really do get what you pay for, which is a cheap place to stay that's conveniently located next to the Gare de l'Est.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanc2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

As students, my friend and I had our eyes out for cheap places to stay during our European tour. The price of Hotel Terrage was quite low for the city of Paris, so we booked a room. However, staying at this hostel did major damage to my overall experience in Paris. Although it is conveniently adjacent to Gare de l'Est, it's in a less desirable area of Paris. There are no elevators and the staircase is spiral and very narrow, making it difficult to go up and down, particularly with a suitcase. The room is tiny, worn, and not terribly clean. Bring your own blankets and pillow because theirs appear so frayed and used that you won't feel comfortable touching them, let alone sleeping in them. The bathroom is even worse. The windows literally cannot close, so you are forced to listen to all of the street noise which continues throughout the night and into the morning. Internet is only available in the lobby. All this being said, the gentlemen working the reception were all extremely friendly and accommodating, going out of their way to help and advice us as we explored Paris. I just wish they worked at a different hostel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

The faint smell of bleach in the room as we arrived was a comfort, indicating that at least it was clean. It was the cheapest hotel we could find and that was important to us, and however visually unplesent the room was the staff were friendly and the location was perfect - close to the Gare Du Nord station and the Saint Martin Canal.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fificanfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Hotel le Terrage was the cheapest hotel we could find on a tight budget. We saw two receptionists during our stay and one was more pleasant than the other, but they let us leave our bags there before check in so we could explore which they didn't have to do. The room needed a bit of updating and a good clean. However it was perfectly fine if you just wanted a place to rest your head. The bathroom was clean but you had to sit in the bath and hold the shower which was a bit of a challenge. The hotel was extremely close to the train station which was really handy. We found it easy to get around. The room was quiet at night and there was a supermarket just around the corner or in the train station. If I was going for a proper holiday in Paris I wouldn't choose to stay here, however for a flying visit or for people on a budget I think its absolutely fine.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shar1906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2008

BEWARE! Disgusting. Dirty rooms and bathroom. Elevator not working, we had to carry all our luggage up a tight staircase to the top floor. Very sketchy part of town, especially at night. Lots of beggars around and very noisy from the street at night. Manager tried to charge us for 3 nights when we stayed 2, then tried to charge us for the deposit we had already paid by booking online. I felt very dirty staying here and there is much better value for money in other hotels around Paris. Also, cash only, no credit card facilities while we were there.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
4 Thank societyanxiety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Liberty
Hotel Liberty
#1,550 of 1,801 in Paris
277 reviews
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Hotel Ermitage
Hotel Ermitage
#1,446 of 1,801 in Paris
142 reviews
Belleville / Pere Lachaise
Hotel Des Vosges
Hotel Des Vosges
#1,238 of 1,801 in Paris
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Amiot Hotel
Amiot Hotel
#1,597 of 1,801 in Paris
590 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Grand Hotel de Paris
Grand Hotel de Paris
#1,613 of 1,801 in Paris
359 reviews
Le Marais
Hotel Picard
Hotel Picard
#1,496 of 1,801 in Paris
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Terrage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Terrage

Property: Le Terrage
Address: 25 rue du Terrage, 75010 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Canal Saint-Martin , Entrepôt
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,670 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Terrage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Terrage Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing