We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice price”
Review of Hotel Tolbiac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Tolbiac
Ranked #1,507 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We chose Hotel Tolbiac based on the location, which we know to be pleasant from previous travels, and the fact that children under 16 are allowed to sleep on an extra bed in the larger, en suite, double rooms. The hotel website clearly informs it is a “hotel without a[n] elevator” so we were prepared to climb stairs and after reading some reviews we also brought own towels (which we were prepared to leave behind as our suitcases have a tendency to shrink in Paris…)

Our room was on the second floor, in the corner of the building, so the traffic was quite noisy. Next time I’ll ask for a room on a higher floor. We had a small hallway between our room and the corridor so we heard absolutely nothing from the other guests. The room was clean and equipped with both a fan and a heater, the beds were comfortable and the en suite bathroom was really good, except for the lack of large towels.

Staff was friendly and helpful, breakfast was OK and there was a hotel cat that spent most of his time sleeping on the coffee machine. Metro and bus stops are close and the large shopping center Italie2 is within walking distance. We visited the food market near place d’Italie (Marché Auguste-Blanqui) and can also recommend the one at Avenue d’Italie (Marché Maison-Blanche). On the last morning we were allowed to leave our suitcases in the lobby, and after a day in town we took a taxi to Orly. The taxi turned out to be cheaper than three metro tickets and of course a lot more comfortable.

Room Tip: Use the window shutters, les volets, to keep out the sun and the traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank shegeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

This place was ideal for sightseeing and the budget price. We pre-booked a room with toilet and shower before arriving. Yes it is a little noisy at night time, but nothing that a good set of ear plugs couldn't sort out. Staff were super friendly and helpful on arrival and throughout our stay. Very close to Metro and surrounding area seems to be quite safe and busy. Would recommend to people who are visiting Paris on a budget.

Room Tip: Pre-book room with toilet and shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank paperparametrics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
1  Thank Gitte O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 July 2014

A hotel enjoying a great location in China Town. Many Vietnamese, Thai and Chinese restaurants on the doorstep. The patisserie across the road must have magnets because we went in twice a day. I don't know why people moan about this place, those people should go elsewhere and pay 3 or 4 times the price if they want to be molly-coddled. Yes the stairs are a pain, gets you fit though. We had a room with en suite, no problems at all. The only downside is the traffic noise, just bear that in mind. The staff are efficient and helpful and have a gsoh.
Another plus as others have mentioned is the proximity to metro stations therefore access to all the sights within a short tube ride.
Go and see Sumon, barman in the L'Age D'Or bar, located to the right and behind the hotel. My wife recommends the Mojito cocktail; I recommend the local bier. It stays open late and atmosphere is great.

Room Tip: Free wifi is very iffy at best unless near the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This hotel has no elevator but six floors. Depending on what room you choose, you will have to carry your belongings up several flights of stairs. Most rooms have no en suite shower or toilet. This means that you'll have to walk down the hall.

I chose one of the few (pricey) rooms with toilet/shower. It was miniscule. The wifi works when no one else is using it.

I stayed at this hotel for several days and found the reception staff's sense of humour delightfully "dry" - so be forewarned. They will explain how to open the door when they are not there. Breakfast is simple coffee/croissant but you can take it to the small open courtyard. The hotel is close to a Metro Station.

Most clients seemed to be French from outside Paris.

Room Tip: Remember, no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gko35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
2  Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Here is the list of why you don't want to stay in this place

1. Incredibly loud street noise , forget about sleeping
2. No toilet in room
3. Shared shower in hallway was dirty
4. Just a sink in the room , thats it, and you would think they would include a towel....NO towel
5. At night you have to use a special exterior lock to get in , that was broken
6. Stairway that is extremely hard to get luggage up to room
7. Rooms are dirty , small and bed is hard as a rock

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldtraveler2876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel T, Gérant at Hotel Tolbiac, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Hello,
When Paris is found choked per too many events the same day, it happens that the hotels accommodate customers seeking hopelessly or to place itself.
When the variation is too large between the practices of the traveller and the category of the place, that always poses a problem.
At the time of your arrival we knew that there was an error.
The room had been booked by one of your friends. You did not know that you arrive in a Hotel 1 star without elevator and that the booked room was individual economic: equipped with a wash-hand basin, a bed of one person.
This long list of negative points, irritable, which you write is exactly the reflection of the example explained to the top.
Your previous travel shows your practices of 5 stars.
We are sorry that you spent a bad night and we hope that you will choose your Parisian Hotel according to your tastes at the time of your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Batignolles-Monceau
Art Hotel Congres
Art Hotel Congres
#766 of 1,805 in Paris
540 reviews
La Villette
Ibis Budget Paris La Villette
Opera / Bourse
Perfect Hotel & Hostel
Perfect Hotel & Hostel
#1,011 of 1,805 in Paris
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Saint-Martin
Absolute Hotel
Absolute Hotel
#865 of 1,805 in Paris
146 reviews
Montparnasse
Patio Brancion
Patio Brancion
#1,210 of 1,805 in Paris
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tolbiac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tolbiac

Address: 122 rue de Tolbiac, 75013 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Place d'Italie / Quartier Asiatique
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,507 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: £43 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Tolbiac 1*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Tolbiac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing