We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little secret hideaway”
Review of Hotel Verlaine

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Verlaine
Ranked #877 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This is a small two star hotel in the 13th Arrondisment in Paris. As a two star hotel, you won't find the usual comfort zones of larger hotels. There is no lobby to speak of only a small seating area next to a very smallish breakfast room. There is no elevator and if you have some luggage, you will have to carry it to your room a couple of floors up. The rooms are small, which is normal for Paris, the furniture has seen better days quite a while ago, but the bathroom is actually quite large and my room was spotlessly clean. The price (advertised on their website) is very reasonable for Paris - you usually pay double for not much higher standard. People at the reception are very nice. Just be aware that they don't really speak English, but French and Italian. The hotel is located next to a little beautiful square "Place Verlaine" and you're also next to that little village within Paris called "Butte aux Cailles". There are more restaurants, bistros, cafes, and little shops in the vicinity than you'll ever need and most places are reasonably priced for Paris since rather few tourists hang out at this spot of Paris. The Parisian Chinatown is also around the corner where you can find wonderful small Vietnamese, Laotian and other eateries. Metro station (Place d'Italie) is 3 - 5 minutes away, direct bus to Gare de Austerlitz next door. Maybe not recommended for first time visitors in Paris who rather prefer to be in the middle of the all the sites, but if you are a return visitor to the city and don't mind to stay a bit away from the major sites and enjoy a kind of everyday Paris, this is the truly a great place to stay.
You can have breakfast for 6.50 Euros, which you may prefer to spend outside in one of the cafes.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank natanTel_Aviv_Israel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2013

We stayed here for our second time and it is a brilliant place as a base to set off from. The Metro is three minutes away, restaurants and bars are great and nearby too. The hotel is clean and very safe.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

First time in Paris and it was great! The hotel was clean, good neighborhood and not far from a number of attractions. I felt safe staying at the hotel and the service was amazing! One of the gentleman at the front desk was amazing! His names is Rossen and he actually made my trip amazing! He made numerous reccommendations and assisted me with setting up the lodging and travel to another country. It was due to his efforts and time that I truly enjoyed my holiday. If and when I return to Paris, I would stay at the Verlaine. I hope Rossen reads this and realizes what a difference he makes.

Room Tip: Enjoyed my stay! The price was great and the service was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Hi, I 've spend a night at the "Hotel Verlaine". It's quite, clean, nice, the owner speaks italian too.
It feels like I was in countryside hotel, far away from Paris, but I was really near the center.
That's why the rates are very affordable. The breakfast is in option. And I was only 5 minutes from the Métro, 10 minutes from the RER Cité Universitaire, and 15m from China Town.
And "La butte aux Cailles" is at 2 minutes walking. So it's a good deal.
The service is corect and polite, they make things possible and are very helpful.
P

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilippeSunnyMIlliat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2010

The main advantages of this hotel is its cleanliness, location, and quietness. However if you want to stay more than 2 days I suggest you to take a breakfast everywhere else because it is always the same everyday and very limited. For 6,50 euro a person I think that a better service could be provided. Furthermore, communication with customers is limited to French and Italian. This hotel is managed by an Italian family (at least it seems). Finally, the only friendly people who can attend you are the madame and the young people. The others are very impatient. I was in Paris about 15 months earlier and I stayed at The Prelude hotel. That was a more interesting stay. By about the same cost you could get wifi and a buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RecifeBRTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2008

A delightful little hotel if you're looking for a quiet little place in an area just outside of the main action. Because this isn't listed in the main lists of hotels for the area it's very cheap and fantastic value for the money.

Verlaine is right on the doorstep of the Buttes Aux Cailles area - check out Chez Paul restaurant whilst there - and a minute's walk to tourist-free Rue de Tolbiac.There's also a shopping centre nearby to cater to all your needs, as is the Place D'Italie metro. That's a five minute walk away and is on three separate metro lines, very convenient. Chinatown is five to ten minute's evening stroll away.

The rooms aren't palacial but are perfectly functional with typical smallish bedrooms. I had booked two, and gave my parents the nicer of the two. It was on the top floor and had a bath, and more roomy than our one with just the typical Parisian small hotel room with tiny shower. If you're spending time in the room or incapable of a five walk to the metro then this might not be for you, but if you're after somewhere cheap, friendly and away from the hustle (but conveniently close to it) this hotel is very recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rizvaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2007

If you want a clean hotel perfectly located near the Place d'Italie Metro stop and its non-touristy restaurants, bakeries and shops, pick the Verlaine. It is so cheap you can't believe your good luck. The furnishings are worn and you can see through the towels, but the water pressure is good and the windows are brand new. Why not save your $$ for one of Paris' finest restaurants? The Verlaine is safe, too. Cash only.

Stayed: December 2004
2  Thank Piqua41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Gobelins
Ibis Paris Italie Tolbiac
Ibis Paris Italie Tolbiac
#895 of 1,802 in Paris
442 reviews
Place d'Italie / Quartier Asiatique
Hotel Tolbiac
Hotel Tolbiac
#1,470 of 1,802 in Paris
350 reviews
Place d'Italie / Quartier Asiatique
Amhotel Italie
Amhotel Italie
#1,335 of 1,802 in Paris
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gobelins
Hotel-Restaurant Le Vert Galant
Gobelins
Hotel Coypel
Hotel Coypel
#650 of 1,802 in Paris
544 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Aida Marais
Hotel Aida Marais
#441 of 1,802 in Paris
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Verlaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Verlaine

Address: 51 rue Bobillot, 75013 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Place d'Italie / Quartier Asiatique , Gobelins
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £58 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Verlaine 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Verlaine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verlaine Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing