We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really reasonable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Paris Terminus Nord
Ranked #1,140 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really reasonable hotel”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I stayed at the hotel as part of a package booked with Eurostar. The cost was £380 for rail tickets and a three night stay. My estimate for the hotel was around £70 to £80 per night. The hotel is really convenient for the Gare du Nord: you just step off your train and cross the square. The hotel staff were excellent and coped with my primitive French. The breakfast was excellent: a huge variety of stuff including hot food and the staff in the restaurant bar were very efficient. The only downside was that the room needed a bit of refurbishment. If you just require a base for sleeping and not a place for living all day then I would really recommend this hotel.

The hotel is conveniently situated close to two Metro lines and an RER line so you are at worst only fifteen minutes from some of the main attractions. If you like seafood then try the Terminus Nord Brasserie next to the entrance: I had a sublime meal here with some friends.

Room Tip: Try and get a room that overlooks the square if you are interested in people watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Louis D, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Terminus Nord, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Darrel,

Thank you very much for sharing your hotel experience you had with Mercure Paris Terminus Nord with others here on TripAdvisor.
The fact that you mention that you really recommend our hotel means a lot to us!
We love to read that you enjoyed our excellent staff and breakfast buffet !

We hope to welcome you back soon with us.

Kind regards,

Jean-Louis Descoins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    884
    682
    304
    148
See reviews for
267
669
356
772
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I stayed in hotel from 13th July to 19th July. Best hotel in Gare du nord area.
I will again stay in this hotel in my next visit. Service staff are also well supportive.
Good Wifi facility and clean room.

Room Tip: Good price Good Room Good breakfast Most conveninent to Catch early morning train
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bubai1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Louis D, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Terminus Nord, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your hotel experience you had with Mercure Paris Terminus Nord with others here on TripAdvisor. The fact that you mention that our hotel is the best in the Gare du Nord area means a lot to us!

We love to read that you enjoyed our service staff and facilities ! Because that is exactly what we want for you and our visitors.

We hope to welcome you back soon with us.

Kind regards,

Jean-Louis Descoins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The hotel is convenient if you need to be near the Gare du Nord but there are better locations in Paris, even when looking for more modest hotels.

I had a large room but the bathroom was very tired and although they put a Nespresso machine in the room more essential items such as convenient lights, shaving mirrors etc were all missing.

Pros: helpful staff, good breakfast
Cons: rooms need refurbishing

Room Tip: Front rooms have a view of the station and are not too noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingFoxes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Louis D, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Terminus Nord, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your hotel experience you had with Mercure Paris Terminus Nord with others here on TripAdvisor.

We love to read that you enjoyed our helpful staff and our good breakfast buffet !

We thank you for your compliments that have been shared with the entire team.

On the other hand, we truly regret your disappointment regarding the condition of your room. Comfort of our guests being our main priority, be assured that we feel very concerned about your dissatisfaction and we already look necessary arrangements to avoid such inconvenience in the future.

We hope to welcome you back soon with us.

Kind regards,

Jean-Louis Descoins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We booked the Mercure Gare du Nord the evening before we were due to arrive as we needed somewhere for one night and we were arriving on the Eurostar at 10pm. The price was £70 and we weren't really expecting much to be honest.
When we arrived the staff were very helpful and asked if we wanted an internal or external balcony room. We asked if the external room would be noisy given the location and were assured it would not be. It wasn't.
By Paris standards the room was a good size, we've stayed at much more expensive places which felt like sleeping in a cupboard. The room was clean and our main criticism would be the standard of the bathroom which had chipped tiles by the shower and was well worn.
The other plus was that it felt like a secure environment given its location.
We would stay here again if we needed a room for an evening close to the station.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TopherTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Louis D, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Terminus Nord, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving your feedback on your stay with us.

We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed our very convenient location for taking eurostar.

We hope to have you back soon with us.

Kind regards,

Jean-Louis Descoins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Terminus Nord is so very close to Gare du Nord you can see into the station entry hall from the breakfast/dining room. It has a very grand old reception area and the staff are very good and understanding. That just leaves the standard of the rooms - our room was very small (a crab-like manoeuvre was required to squeeze between the bed and desk to enter the bathroom) and very much in need of a refurb ( scratched paint, worn sink and bathroom, general worn out condition of the whole room).

The staff deserve a special mention as they were so excellently understanding and helpful re our late check out (due to my wife being ill with food poisoning during our stay).

Room Tip: Be aware that some of the rooms are small and in need of a refurb - ask for an alternative if necess...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crowd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Louis D, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Terminus Nord, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your hotel experience you had with Mercure Paris Terminus Nord with others here on TripAdvisor. The fact that you mention that you found our staff excellently understanding and helpful means a lot to us!
We thank you for your compliments that have been shared with the entire team.

On the other hand, we truly regret your disappointment regarding condition of your room. Comfort of our guests being our main priority, be assured that we feel very concerned about your dissatisfaction and we already look necessary arrangements to avoid such inconvenience in the future.

We hope to welcome you back soon with us.

Kind regards,

Jean-Louis Descoins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My partner arrived here the day before I did and paid an extra €30 to upgrade the room, when i got there the next day our room smelt of vinegar, the air conditioning was leaking, the paint was peeling from the bathroom door, the hair drying fell apart every time you touched it, there were stains all over the carpet, tiles in the bathroom were cracked and the wifi wouldnt stay connected (last one not a biggy i know). Also they maid hadnt cleaned our coffee cups from that morning.

I went to see the manager who apologised profusely and said that the money we paid for an upgrade was only for a larger room, which this one didnt actually seem any larger and he said to go out for the day and by the time we got back, our luggage would be moved to their prestige room at no charge and he gave us 2 free drink vouchers for the bar. It seemed very generous until we got home and the hotel had charged us for the drinks in the bar despite not even mentioning those charges on check out at all.

All in all this is a shoddy run hotel, with bad maid service and the rooms are in desperate need of an upgrade!!

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichGoesRoaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Louis D, Directeur général at Mercure Paris Terminus Nord, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to advise of your recent stay at Mercure Paris Terminus Nord. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the service that we provide to our valued guests.

I was very disappointed to read of your experience during your stay with us. Whilst an apology will regrettably not alter the outcome of your experience on this occasion, I do extend it with all sincerity. I certainly empathise regarding the points you mention in your review, especially the fact that your room was not fiting your expectations. This level of service is certainly not acceptable and will be addressed with the concerned party.

We remain at your entire disposal to organize your future stay among us. Therefore feel free to contact me at jean-louis.descoins@book-inn-france.com.

We will be in contact to discuss further with you . Again, please accept my apology, and I hope that this hasn’t put you off a return stay with us again.

Kind regards,

Jean-Louis Descoins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Paris hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Entrepôt
Hotel Hor
Hotel Hor
#178 of 1,801 in Paris
570 reviews
Entrepôt
Mercure Paris Gare Du Nord La Fayette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Libertel Gare du Nord Suede
Libertel Gare du Nord Suede
#420 of 1,801 in Paris
699 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Whistler
Hotel Whistler
#525 of 1,801 in Paris
53 reviews
Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Ibis Paris Gare du Nord
Ibis Paris Gare du Nord
#777 of 1,801 in Paris
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Paris Terminus Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Paris Terminus Nord

Property: Mercure Paris Terminus Nord
Address: 21 rue de Dunkerque, 75010 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#467 Luxury Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Paris Terminus Nord 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel with 236 airconditioned rooms, located near the Gare du Nord (Eurostar & Thalys), Stade de France (5min), Paris Nord Exhibition Centre (15 min), Roissy & Le Bourget airports (20 min). Dedicated to business & leisure, this hotel will seduce you withits high level of services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Paris Terminus Nord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Paris Terminus Nord Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing