We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy and dark”
Review of Hotel Lumen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Lumen
Ranked #353 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
“Noisy and dark”
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Many times during the night I woke up because of the sound of trucks and cars on the street. It is a very noisy area and the room doesn’t have any protection for that. It was impossible to have a good night of sleep. The superior room is very small and dark. It was very hard to pack in the darkness. I would never stay here again. The bathroom hasn’t any space to place our stuff.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diego H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    246
    74
    23
    14
See reviews for
83
322
61
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Sometimes you can't go by the star rating of a hotel. It's IMPERATIVE to read as many reviews as possible about the hotel before booking seven nights. Do my husband and I wish we would have done so.
We found Hotel Lumen on various hotel search engines, but Otel.com was offering the best rate/package. We got seven nights including breakfast buffet for two and wifi for $1,718 ($245 a night). We were pretty thrilled since it was a great rate for a hotel rated four stars; the best we could find compared to other four star hotels. The pictures on the internet were spectacular. We couldn't wait for the day to arrive for our European getaway.
Fast forward five months and we arrive at the Lumen around 11am. We knew our room wouldn't be ready, so they placed our bags in their luggage closet. We returned around 3pm and are taken to our room; number 302. Our luggage was already inside. When we walk in, we couldn't believe this was the room they gave us. Let me start by saying that the room must have been no bigger than 150 square feet. It was pretty pathetic. It was so small, we had to figure out for a while how to arrange our luggage to be most efficient. The lighting in the room was the poorest I've ever had in any hotel room (and we've traveled even to the poorest of countries). The walkway lighting was so terrible, I couldn't even use it to apply makeup. The quality of that light was so bad, every flaw of my body appeared and reflected in that mirror. JI wanted to shoot myself. It was depressing, for a pregnant woman like me, to see that. Plus, the mirror was shattered and had clear tape holding it together. You mean to tell me that a four star hotel doesnt have the funds to replace that mirror? What if someone gets hurt opening the closet door where the mirror is at?
The bathroom was super tiny as well. The bathtub was so tiny, I had to take a shower sideways in order to fit properly. Mind you, I'm 5'1 weighing 130 lbs. That tub isn't meant for tall and perhaps full shaped people. There was no space in the bathroom to lay down all my toiletries. I had to keep them in my toiletry bags. They did provide a tiny round table in the bathroom, but it was for the toiletries they provided. That is all that could fit there. Towels were provided for two, but after day one, they stopped providing us hand towels. Why? I have no idea. After each shower, the room got so hot and humid, we had to open the windows in order to feel cool and comfortable, but since it was freezing outside, we couldn't leave the window open too long. The carpeting in the room was pretty disgusting. Where the carpeting meets the tile of the bathroom, the carpet was always damp. I'm guessing from humidity. It was so gross, we had to wear our sandals all the time and we never walked barefoot.
Are you looking for a quiet place to sleep? Then don't get any room near the street. WOW, construction started at 6AM with construction men yelling at each other. If a car was in a truck's way, be prepared to hear his horn full blast for 10 seconds straight until the car in front of him moves.
This hotel has no travel converter, so if it's of utmost importance to do your own hair, buy European hair tools. Their hair dryer in the bathroom was very weak and our travel adapter and converter blew the moment we plugged it in. I was not happy. I had to go spend 60 Euros on a mediocre blow-dry because of it.
Buffet breakfast was OK. Hot chocolate was very bland and they served the same thing every single day. An assortment of pastries are offered along with cereal, scrambled eggs, and overcooked ham.
Internet service was great. Very fast, but a code had to be entered each and every time I opened and closed my laptop.
Overall, this place was very disappointing. I would never recommend this place to anyone unless you are looking to get ripped off and stay in the room that looks like a crack house in The Projects. Terrible.......

Room Tip: Stay away from street side rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lumen P, Director of Sales at Hotel Lumen, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Dear Madam,

We thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Hotel Lumen Paris Louvre.
I appreciate your comments and of course read with disappointment that we failed in providing you the experience you were expected.
Please know that we take all your comments in consideration.
Sincerely.
Adeline Surault.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo, Brasil
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

It s not a bad hotel, but you can find better hotels near there with the same price or cheaper. Lumen is well located, the bed is comfortable and the breakfast is good. But we stop here. The superior room it is not good as it appears in the hotel website. Also, it is a very dark hotel and needs some refurnish. I would say that if you choose this hotel it would had to be your last option in the neighbourhood. I'm sure there are better hotels near there. Some friends stayed at Mayfair Hotel and the location and the price and the breakfast are the same as Lumen but the room in Mayfair is much better. And I walked around and found many 4 stars hotels with the same price but superior places. Near Lumen we have very expensive 5 stars hotels or many 4 stars hotels like Lumen but Lumen is at the end of the best 4 stars hotels in this area. Avoid Lumen. There are Mayfair, Le littre and many others hotels in the area! Sorry, but it's my 7th time in Paris and the last one at Lumen....

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RCM1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lumen01, Responsable commercial at Hotel Lumen, responded to this review, 14 November 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Lumen hotel.
We are sorry to learn that you didn’t enjoy in general your stay whit us.
Please be sure we have taken your remarks into great consideration and that we continually work with our team to improve day by day the quality of service for our guests
We have different types of Superior rooms at the hotel. Maybe there was a misunderstanding with the pictures on our websites. The websites shows the two designs.
We really look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you in order for us to restore the last impression.

Yours sincerely,

Adeline Surault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

They turned a regular Paris building into a nice boutique hotel, so as others also mentionned, it's dark, but the staff will make you feel great, they are very attentive and helpful. Rooms remind you of regular apartments without kitchen, gives a really cozy feeling and the smell in the hotel...just amazing!
Location unbeatable. Next to Louvre, close to metro, bus and everything you need!
Restaurant in hotel is ok for breakfast, but for dinner try somewhere else (or make sure you don't take their saffron rice! Horrible!)

Room Tip: For quiet rooms take something on the side of the church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mahofan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Let me start with the good stuff....very convenient location - Metro right outside the hotel practically. Great lobby welcome and very friendly helpful staff. The restaurant is also good and staff friendly.

The dissappointments came when I entered my room. I asked for a room not facing the street as I know how noisy Paris can be, even the lightly trafficked street the noise can be dearening as this beautiful city is so old and often, noise travels right through the walls and windows of buildings. The reception assured me that my room was not on the street (facing the church in back) and was very quiet.

I was on the third floor. When I exited the elevator the hallway was dark and stank of some bad cleaning fluid trying to cover up some suspicous scents. The room was tiny!! And, I travel a lot. It was so small that I started to feel extremely claustrophobic. I was on the corner of the busy street and the windows faced the church (which had bells ringing regularly). The traffic noise was horrendous and I did not sleep a wink.

The room was also very dimly lit. I am always suspicious of bad lighting in hotel rooms because it is obviously covering up imperfections and the dinginess of the surroundings.

I would not stay in this hotel because for me, a hotel is a place to rest and get a good night's sleep, not feel like you are in a fading trendy nightclub.

My advice is stop by the restaurant for a meal, but skip checking in for a good rest.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 45Addison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

A very well located hotel, a stone's throw from the Louvre.
I guess they would like to consider themselves a bit of a boutique hotel, not that big, funky decor in public areas and bedrooms.
The room was small but I was a single traveller and it was a city centre hotel - it certainly had enough space for what I needed.
The room was nicely presented with a large, if slightly odd bathroom as it was surrounded by glass in the room itself.
My main complaint would be the noise - you could constantly hear doors closing (banging!) around you - take ear plugs. It's a nice enough hotel, just with thin walls!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hayleyrigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My first time in Paris and I went alone. I had an amazing time at this hotel. The service, food and location were fantastic! I would and have recommended this hotel to all who go to Paris. I will definitely go back when I return to Paris.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorontoAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lumen01, Responsable commercial at Hotel Lumen, responded to this review, 14 November 2011
Dear Guest,

What a wonderful review!

Thank you so much for your kind words. Please know that they have been shared with our staff.

We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back .

Kindest regards,

Adeline Surault
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Emeraude Louvre Montana Hotel
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Le Pradey
Le Pradey
#332 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Therese
Hotel Therese
#179 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Moliere
Hotel Moliere
#215 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
#187 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Brighton - Esprit de France
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lumen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lumen

Property: Hotel Lumen
Address: 15 rue des Pyramides | 1st Arr., 75001 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#226 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#343 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#369 Business Hotel in Paris
#422 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lumen 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant designer boutique hotel situated in the most sought-after area of Paris, the Hotel Lumen Paris Louvre is just a stone’s throw away from the Louvre, the Place Vendôme and the Opera House. Located on the corner of Rue Saint Honoré, a fashionable Paris shopping boulevard, the hotel is “the place to be,” either for a business trip, a romantic getaway, a shopping excursion or an entertaining evening in the City of Lights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, ACCOR, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lumen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lumen Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing