We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but no 4 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Lumen Paris Louvre
Ranked #337 of 1,803 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I went to Paris in June and booked this hotwire via hotwire so got it on the cheap. I do believe if you can get it for under 150 euro a night it's worth it. The bed is comfortable, roomes are clean, concierage is helpful. However, one thing did stand out is its location. 5 minute walk to the Louvre and 2 minutes to the metro is wonderful, plenty of brassaries nearby as well for good, reasonably priced French food (don't eat at the restaurant, there are better food around). The downside I think it's it's not really a 4 star hotel, besides a comfortable room it has zero amenities. The rooms are also very tiny (I don't mind since I'm traveling alone but for a couple it can be a squeeze). So all in all, I think for what I paid (130 euro) it's a good deal but would I pay 200 euro for it? Probably not.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuqingZhang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (689)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

235 - 241 of 689 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

I was initally to find that there were pretty good reviews on Trip Advisor so I excitedly booked the hotel. The hotel was quiet pricey but I thought that the reviews would make up for the price.

First, please pay attention to many of the negative reviews posted here. It is very accurate. I should have paid more attention. However, there were some pros about the hotel.

Let's start with the Pros because there were some positive things about the hotel.

Pros- The first concierge who greeted us was very nice. Her name was Anaeed (not sure of the spelling). She was really sweet and helpful. The room was nicely kept and modern. We had a nice view of a church and partial view of the Louvre Museum which was about 4 blocks away. The location was excellent and safe and quiet. The best part about this hotel was the location as it was very close to the Louvre Museum and Pyramides subway stop.

Cons- The hotel was very expensive for what it was not. The hotel appears to be trendy and modern but you could definitely see that it was very superficial. Other than the first concierge being excellent and wonderful, the other staff members were not very welcoming much less greeted us as we entered the lobby. One lady had such an unwelcoming face that I was scared to even ask her a question. It appears that many of the staff should be retrained in customer service. The rooms were actually ok however I noticed some stains on the pillow covers which I thought was a little distasteful. Also, the shower does not have a full shower door so the water sprays all over the bathroom floor. The shower also was missing a side tile that was being hidden by a trash can that was placed by it so it looked very distasteful.
The connecting restaurant was ok for breakfast but if you have to pay for the breakfast it is a waste of money as they charge 22 euros per person for some croissants and pastries.
This hotel would be ok if it was priced for what service and value you receive. I don't believe that I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room that is on a high floor and not facing the street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Hotel Lumen is the type of hotel you want to stay at in Paris. It's intimate, has everything you need, it's in a great location and it has a sense of style that actually intices you to hang around and enjoy.

Despite some negative comments about room sizes, I thought the rooms were a great size for Paris (I've stayed in some tteny tiuny rooms for a lot more money). The little design touches make it just that little bit more special and give it that "boutique feel" they are famous for.

If I had 2 negative things to say it would be the following: I was in Room 206 and the shower sprayed all over the place because of the moving semi-glass door. It was actually quite annoying having a wet bathroom all of the time.

My other criticism is the breakfast room. The staff are perfectly nice but I wouldn't say that they were overly "buzzy" or welcoming. The restaurant where the buffet is served is quite large and a little more cocktail lounge like therefore you need someone to tell you where everything is, where to sit and generally make you feel like you aren't walking into a semi-closed restaurant.

Other than those 2 minor things, I would defintiely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone heading to Paris. It's really quite beautiful!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stefanok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lumen P, Responsable commercial at Hotel Lumen Paris Louvre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear Stefanok,
Thank you for sharing your kind comments with us and future travellers.
I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
However, there are some issues that you mention that need to be adressed. Allow me to comment on some of your observations:
The bathroom of our standard single room ,
I took good note of your comment and we will work on it to find a way to fix this problem.
Our breakfast room,
Our breakfast is served in our restaurant " Oscar", enjoying a nice sitting area and a beautiful terrasse with a view on Saint Roch Church. I will share your comment with our restaurant team as I totally understand what could be the feeling when you come in for the first time.
I hope that we will have the pleasure in welcoming you back to Hotel LUMEN Paris Louvre in the future.
My best regards
Adeline SURAULT
Director of sales.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This hotel has the best service! They make you really feel like home, yet its exclusive! Great breakfast and the beds are superb. We were 3 couples staying and all had the same experience. The location couldnt have been better.

Room Tip: get room on 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beejan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lumen P, Responsable commercial at Hotel Lumen Paris Louvre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

Thank you so much for your kind comments and for sharing your experience with fellow travellers.

We are very pleased to read that your stay with us was such a success and it would be a pleasure to welcome you back to Hotel Lumen Paris Louvre in the future.

Best regards,
Adeline SURAULT
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Beautiful hotel , in the heart of the city, the room is so comfy and nice , it can be your own bedroom in your house. The decoration is very warm and makes you feel at home. Nice biew from the room, we are on the 5 th floor. The staff are very nice and helpful.
Really really like this hotel and defenitivly recomanded to everybody for their stay in paris.

Room Tip: Take higher floor,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taffoolie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lumen P, Responsable commercial at Hotel Lumen Paris Louvre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you for your kind comments and for taking the time to share your impressions with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay wih us and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,
Adeline SURAULT
Director of sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We had just the one night in Paris and so were delighted with the amazing location in order to see the main sights within a day. Literally a couple of minutes walk from Le Louvre, Tiuleries gardens etc. Felt like a nice part of Paris with many high end shops nearby. Rooms were small - as I expected from the other reviews - but were nicely decorated and comfortable. The noise from the road not a problem at all and being able to open the window to the small juliette balcony was great. Breakfast was fine if not outstanding, beautiful orange juice is worth noting! Service from one of the Receptionists was terriffic, from the others was perfectly OK. I'd contacted the hotel in advance to ask them to book a table at L'Ardoise which they did extremely efficiently and we were glad we did, the food was delicious. Would highly recommend this hotel for a short break.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hughes_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lumen P, Responsable commercial at Hotel Lumen Paris Louvre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Dear Sir, Madam,
Thank you for your very kind review of our property. It is with great pleasure that I read your comments and I will make sure to pass them on to our staff as I know they will be very pleased with the positive feedback!
I am thrilled that we met your expectations.
We do pride ourselves with the quality of service we provide and we work very hard every day to offer genuine, professional and friendly service and it is always nice when we get such reviews!
Thank you once again for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel LUMEN Paris Louvre in the near future.
Best regards,
Adeline SURAULT
Director of sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Have just spent 2 nights at the Hotel Lumen in Paris whilst attending the French Open. The location of this hotel is perfect, a stone's throw from the Louvre, Tuilieries Gardens, Rue St Honore and Champs Elysee. The rooms are small but perfectly adequate; normal for Paris; but beautifully decorated and equipped. If you want something different to the normal chain hotels this is it. Staff were friendly and helpful, arranging taxis etc for us. Would definitely go back and have already recommended to friends who are thinking of visiting Paris soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spinks49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lumen P, Responsable commercial at Hotel Lumen Paris Louvre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and fellow travellers, it is much appreciated.
We are thrilled to read that your expectations were met and that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel LUMEN Paris Louvre in the future.
Best regards
Adeline SURAULt
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Emeraude Louvre Montana Hotel
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Le Pradey
Le Pradey
#286 of 1,803 in Paris
404 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Moliere
Hotel Moliere
#273 of 1,803 in Paris
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
#219 of 1,803 in Paris
789 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Therese
Hotel Therese
#147 of 1,803 in Paris
527 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Le Relais Saint-Honore
Le Relais Saint-Honore
#270 of 1,803 in Paris
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lumen Paris Louvre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lumen Paris Louvre

Address: 15 Rue des Pyramides | 1st Arr., 75001 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#224 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#343 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#369 Business Hotel in Paris
#422 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range: £139 - £550 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lumen Paris Louvre 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant designer boutique hotel situated in the most sought-after area of Paris, the Hotel Lumen Paris Louvre is just a stone’s throw away from the Louvre, the Place Vendôme and the Opera House. Located on the corner of Rue Saint Honoré, a fashionable Paris shopping boulevard, the hotel is “the place to be,” either for a business trip, a romantic getaway, a shopping excursion or an entertaining evening in the City of Lights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, ACCOR, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lumen Paris Louvre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lumen Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing