We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Lumen Paris Louvre
Ranked #343 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Avoid this hotel!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We booked this hotel during our stay in Paris at Easter '14 . After traveling through Amsterdam, Rotterdam, Antwerp and Brussels, we planned to end our vacation with three nights at Hotel Lumen Paris Louvre. I have travel quite a bit and have stayed in all kinds of hotels, and never been so disappointed!

Hotel Lumen Paris Louvre promise through their website to be a four-star boutique hotel with elegant design and carefully designed rooms. It is not even close to be what they promise. Sometimes you cannot go by the star rating of a hotel. Read as many review as possible about the hotel before booking. We wish we had. This is definitely NOT a four-star hotel, as you will expect it to be.

We arrived early with train from Brussels and went to Hotel Lumen to check in our luggage. It took 20 minutes before we got any help at all. The receptionist Jean-Claude, was stressed, in a bad mood and rude. We didn't get the help we expected when we asked him to help with dinner-reservations. We had to book all of our restaurant visits on our own, from our own mobile phone, outside of the hotel.

After a good lunch, we came back to the hotel and went to our room, a junior suite. The layout of the room was terrible. The junior suite consisted of a small bathroom, a narrow passage with a dirty sofa and a bedroom with worn furniture, crooked pictures on the walls and lamps were missing light bulbs.
The bathroom, which may not have been larger than 5 square meters was cold, towel rail was broken, there was nowhere two put our things and the bathtub was minimal. The shower, which was located in the small tub, was so small and narrow that you had to stand sideways to be able to fit there. (And we're not big at size) The showerhead was broken, it sprayed water everywhere and the paint was peeling from the ceiling. The bathtub was clogged and the ventilation didn't work. Further
the small bathroom was full of dew which did not disappear and the floor was freezing.

We notified the receptionist, about the issues with our room, hoping to get another one, which was better. They had no other rooms available that night. We asked to speak to the manager, Lucie Sayrin. She was on vacation and was not available to her staff. None of the employees had been given authority to make any decisions in her absence. We insisted that they had to contact her.
We waited until the next day and tried to eat breakfast, which consisted of sweaty topping, dry pieces of bread and horrible coffee. The orange juice was good. We went back to the reception to hear what solution they had come up with. The hotel asked me - as a customer to show the room and all the things that didn't work to an hotel employee. Their solution was to send a handyman and his toolbox. He tried to sparkle over the paint peeling and desperately injected silicone around the shower head. We were offered to switch rooms to a smaller one than we had originally booked - a superior-room for the following night and then switch to the largest suite for the last night. We asked to see the superior-room before we took any decision. It was even smaller, had two separate beds, was worn and generally as dirty and terrible as the junior-suite we had already spent a night in.

I could not imagine that the suite would be in any better condition. At least not after reading through all the reviews here on TripAdvisor.

After the first night and no acceptable solution from Hotel Lumen, we choose to pack your bags and leave the hotel. We rolled our suitcases 200m up the street where we found a large and wonderful five-star hotel. Here we got a lovely room, twice as large as the Hotel Lumen and with stunning views of the Opera. Breakfast was varied, fresh and consisted of good ingredients. The service on the new hotel was impeccable. This room was considerably cheaper than the rooms at Hotel Lumen. Lumen is absolutely overprized!

I've been to Paris many times. And I know that there are many other great hotels to choose than Hotel Lumen. You will find better hotels with great rooms and friendly staff for less than Lumen with charge you.

I will highly recommend you not to stay at Hotel Lumen.

After our holiday, we decided to contact the manger Lucie Sayrin. We expressed our frustration about how we had been greeted by her staff, lack of service, poor complaint handling and the lack of staff who could make decisions in her absence. We explained that we had taken pictures of how our room and questioned the stars they've been given.
Lucie Sayrin met us in any other way than with understanding. She took no criticism of herself or her employees or on their behalf. She didn't apologized on the rude receptionist, Jean-Claude behalf. Instead, she referred to a lot of positive feedback on TripAdvisor and cast doubt in our experience.
We demanded a refund on the prepaid hotel room since it in no way fulfilled our expectations and they failed to come up with an acceptable solution. We were offered a free dinner at their restaurant on our next visit to Paris. This restaurant is the same as they server sweaty toppings, horrible coffee and dry bread for breakfast.

We will never return to neither the hotel nor the restaurant and want to warn you to stay as far away from the hotel as possible. You will be disappointed. So, don't take the risk of ruin your vacation when there are so many other great hotel to stay at in Paris.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank kewe80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    253
    80
    23
    13
See reviews for
84
327
63
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Leandro, California
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for five days and chose it for its proximity to the Louvre and other attractions. Right around the corner are a small but well stocked grocery store for snakcs, wine, champagne, etc., numerous boutique stores and tons of retaurants. Of course, the Louvre is a short walk away and if you want to rent a car, there is a Hertz inside the Louvre compound. We went to celebrate our 50th birthdays, and we were so surpised - we were upgraded to a superior room from a standard room (bigger bed, more space and light) with a beautiful bottle of Bordeaux waiting for us when we checked in, and a special gift of macaron to wish us a happy birthday. The staff was friendly and gave us great advice on how to make our sightseeing efficient and our dining enjoyable as we explored the city. Don't expect a "big box" feel or service. The hotel is small and we liked the intimate atmosphere - you knew who to talk to and they know who you are. When we called for service of any kind, we didn't have to wait like you would at a large hotel. The restaurant - Oscar - went out of its way to make an iced latte for us - even though this is not a normal drink in Paris - and made one for my wife every morning for breakfast. Again, try getting that kind of intimate service at a large, snobbish hotel. Our many, many thanks to Jean Claude, the head concierge who welcomed us and helped us on our first day and made our 50th birthday celebration in Paris memorable! Merci beaucoup!

Room Tip: Always say hello/bonjour/bonsoir and goodby/au revoir when you leave - it's called bookending yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lumen01, Directrice Générale at Hotel Lumen Paris Louvre, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear John M
First of all thank you so much for having chosen our hotel for celebrate your 50th birthday in Paris
Our staff strives to leave everlasting memories with all of our guests, and I am happy to hear we achieved that on your recent stay.
I have been delighted to share your kindly words with all the members of the team who have contributed to the success of your stay with us.
We look very much forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future.

My best regards,
Lucie SAYRIN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I can't quite put my finger on why, but there is something really creepy about this hotel. It probably didn't help that we arrived on a wet evening. The receptionist was strange and pursued us into the very small lift. The rooms were clean but very grey and masculine. In no way is it a design hotel. It's functional (although all three of us flooded our bathroom floors with the shower), but there is nothing special about the decor. None of us slept well, probably because of the traffic but also because of the bad vibes.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonAnt65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lumen01, Directrice Générale at Hotel Lumen Paris Louvre, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest ,
Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay with us.
I regret that you did not fully enjoy your experience.
I am truly sorry to hear that you felt bad vibes in our hotel
We respect the beliefs of everyone but positivity remains our motto
My best regards
Lucie SAYRIN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galloway, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed at Hotel Lumen for our paris trip, one week. Recommendation by our travel agent.
If you take the entire package, the Hotel is a great value - Good breakfast included, nice and clean rooms (either quiet church facing room or street view), comfortable bed, location-location-location!

Staff is very friendly and helpful to answer any questions or run something up to your room in no time.
Location was great, between Rue Rivoli and St Honore, you can walk to metros, buses, Louvre< Tuliers, etc...

Overall a great value and I would not mind staying here again when we return.

Thank you to the entire hotel staff for a nice experience!

Room Tip: Quiet (church side) or a bit busier (street side) - either you cant go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RRM1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lumen01, Directrice Générale at Hotel Lumen Paris Louvre, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Guest ,
Thank you very much for sharing your most recent experience at the Hotel Lumen .
I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay amongst us.
Thank you so much for your kind words towards our rooms, our service our location and the hotel in general.
The entire team looks forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

My best regards,
Lucie SAYRIN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I decided on the Hotel Lumen because I was meeting up with friends who took the train in from London and they were staying in the Place Vendome, Louvre area. They happen to be 5 star luxury hotel addicts and when they visited me at the Hotel Lumen they thought is was very good for the price compared to the luxury hotels in the vicinity. I arrived very early and was able to check in my room by 9am. The gentleman at check-in was super kind and helpful. The breakfast buffet was included and the staff was efficient and the selection of fruit and croissant, cereal, cheese, eggs and meat were plentiful. Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Paris.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJP880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lumen01, Directrice Générale at Hotel Lumen Paris Louvre, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor concerning your stay at The Hotel Lumen Paris Louvre
We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and you appreciated our staff , and all our services
It is an honor and a real pleasure for us to know that your friends who are "addicts" to 5 stars hotels also appreciated our hotel
Be assured that we will share your kind comment with all our team.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best Regards,
Lucie Sayrin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

If you don't mind spending a bit and you have come to visit paris with your over half then this place is perfect. First off the room is decent nice double bed, sound system, TV and jacuzzi so you can imagine all the good times you can have already ;) walking distance to museum, eiffel tower etc

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrAPham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lumen01, Directrice Générale at Hotel Lumen Paris Louvre, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear MrAPham,
I graciously thank you for your Five stars Tripadvisor review.
We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay in the Suite Zen and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you once again from London
My best regards
Lucie Sayrin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We went to Paris to celebrate our Ruby Wedding Anniversary and had a wonderful time. The Hotel Lumen is in an excellent position, near the Louvre and the Seine for access to both the river boats and hop on hop off buses. The hotel overall is very good, but a constant smell of drains spoils an otherwise excellent hotel. The rooms are well appointed and furnished with all the facilities one would expect of a good class French hotel. The breakfasts are extremely good with a good choice of food and an attentive waiter service. An overall excellent holiday with little to complain about.

Room Tip: Pick a room at the back overlooking the church if you are a poor sleeper. Despite good quality doubl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salisburys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lumen01, Directrice Générale at Hotel Lumen Paris Louvre, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Salisburys
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience .
I am delighted to hear that you appreciated the location , the room facilities and the breakfast
However, I sincerely apologize for the constant smell of drains spoils. I do not know what that smell, our guests have ever reported this problem before I will be very careful so that it does not occur again
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.
With my best regards,
Lucie Sayrin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Emeraude Louvre Montana Hotel
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Moliere
Hotel Moliere
#318 of 1,801 in Paris
207 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
Hotel Royal Saint-Honore
#227 of 1,801 in Paris
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Le Pradey
Le Pradey
#372 of 1,801 in Paris
372 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Therese
Hotel Therese
#159 of 1,801 in Paris
497 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Duminy Vendome
Duminy Vendome
#404 of 1,801 in Paris
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lumen Paris Louvre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lumen Paris Louvre

Property: Hotel Lumen Paris Louvre
Address: 15 Rue des Pyramides | 1st Arr., 75001 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#224 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#343 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#369 Business Hotel in Paris
#422 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lumen Paris Louvre 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant designer boutique hotel situated in the most sought-after area of Paris, the Hotel Lumen Paris Louvre is just a stone’s throw away from the Louvre, the Place Vendôme and the Opera House. Located on the corner of Rue Saint Honoré, a fashionable Paris shopping boulevard, the hotel is “the place to be,” either for a business trip, a romantic getaway, a shopping excursion or an entertaining evening in the City of Lights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, ACCOR, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Lumen Paris Louvre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lumen Hotel Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing