We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, price, staff and look!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse
Ranked #354 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Oviedo, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location, price, staff and look!”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

What a wonderful hidden gem!! Our first trip to Paris. There were 7 of us, staying in 3 rooms. The rooms were perfectly furnished and the staff was very helpful. It was such a great location. What a wonderful introduction to Paris. Would highly recommend it and will definitely stay there again on our next visit to Paris!

Room Tip: All rooms were quiet...even those facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pattig61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    308
    48
    5
    2
See reviews for
130
333
42
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
197 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

As a solo traveler, this was my first time to Paris. As a big city with many hotel options, my choice to stay at this hotel was a suitable one considering travel time and budget especially since I went for New Years.

I stayed in a single room. For some it would be considered very small but in my head since I’ve cruised many times, the size is comparable to a room on a cruise ship. The room was adorable and very comfortable for just me. My room was toward the back so street noise was not an issue. Sometimes I would hear the early risers (hard core tourists) in the morning but that’s my fault for snoozing in late in the morning. The bathroom was a good size but the shower was tiny.

The staff were extremely friendly. They greeted me all the time and provided great restaurant recommendations as well as helped with overall directions and city suggestions.

Location couldn’t be more ideal as least in the mindset of getting around the city – literally in the center of Montparnasse. The building was two blocks away – just look up. We all wish to be staying on the Champs Elysses (too expensive to do so) but with easy Metro access literally one block away was great. The Raspail metro has 4 & 6 lines which took me directly to the Eiffel Tower, Arc de Triomphe, Notre Dame, and more. After a while, I didn’t need my map cause it was easy to navigate throughout the city. (tip: purchase a booklet of 10 carnets and keep in pocket – makes it easy to go in and out without always being in line to buy a ticket.) Walk 10 minutes and you’ll have access to Rer B which took me directly from airport and to Gare Nord train station (for Amsterdam). If you walk up on Raspail Blvd towards the direction of the Siene, you’ll find many restaurants, St. Germaine area and a visit to the Le Grande Epicurean at Bon Marche is a must. Walk the other direction and you’ll find the entrance to the underground catacombs, Paul (bakery yum) and other good places to eat near the Defense.

Overall, this boutique hotel met my expectations, I was very pleased with my stay and I totally recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank jetsetMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

What a lovely hotel! I stayed with my other half last weekend, a total of two nights. We got a superior (larger!) room after reading other reviews on here; it was on the 2nd floor and contrary to some of the other reviews on here we didn't bother with the lift, the stairs were really not a problem even with luggage.

The room was, of course, not huge. Paris is mostly old buildings and you won't get masses of space anywhere unless you're paying hundreds of euros per night. Its best to just plan to have no space in your room, pack lightly if you can or ask the hotel to stash some of your luggage downstairs to keep it out of your way. As per some of the other reviews, my 6ft 4 200 lb boyf found the shower small. I found this tres amusing.

We had the breakfast both days, out of pure laziness and not wanting to rush around. Its 9 euros per person and bearing in mind you're pretty much going to pay 5 euros for a coffee anywhere in Paris its about the right price. You could pay more, you could pay less. It was worth it, totally French and very nice indeed.

The best two things about Le Hotel de la Paix for me were the quietness and the location. There was no noise at all, I had no trouble sleeping. This is a good thing for Paris, it can be very noisy. The location was on 2 metro lines so you could hop on outside and get anywhere very easily.

I wanted to do two things - the Grand Epicery de Bon Marche (French Whole Foods, woo!) and the Eiffel Tower. The Grand Epicery was a 15 min walk and the Eiffel Tower was 4 metro stops with no changes. You can easily walk up, through the Jardin de Luxembourg, to St Germain de Pres and all the nice places to eat and shop in that area. Around there are also some bars which show sport (this was important to my boyfriend; look for Rue Princesse near metro stop Mabillion and try Eden Park or the Frog and Princess). Both sides of the Bvd St Germain have shops, cafes, restaurants on cute little streets. This is what Paris should look like!!

Additionally the RER B train from the airport stopped at Port Royale which was a 10 min walk from the hotel, and the train journey took about 45 mins. Its much easier than driving or being driven.

I can't fault the hotel, it was clean, quiet, petite in a nice way and the staff were very pleasant and helpful. Would recommend highly!

Room Tip: They have the square foot measurements on the website, check them out and don't be surprised by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank wellbeingnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Stayed with the family (2 young kids), room was ready when we arrived before schedule.
English speaking staff helped a lot, clean room but a bit small buy hey this is paris :-)

AMAZING location! I repeat AMAZING location!

safe with a lot of restaurants near by.

Room Tip: Plan on doing a few rounds up and down on the elevator as it is TINY...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Milan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
293 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in late December and early January for a total of 3 nights. Some observations:

RER stop from CDG Airport: 600-700 meters
Metro: About 50 meters
Heat/TV: Very good
Elevator: Very small but romantic!
Front office: Excellent service
Bathroom: Good size and very clean
Rooms: Small but clean
Noise: Did not notice any problem
Breakfast: Additional, 9 Euro
Cancellation: 48 hr notice
Safe area with many restaurants
Overall: Very good buy for Paris for 99 Euro we paid for a std room.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ryokogasuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodrum City, Turkey
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

Excellent location, very good deal and staff exceptionally nice and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AgnesbBodrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

I absolutely adored this hotel! The location is great, just steps away from the Raspail Metro stop, which is on 2 different lines. The staff was wonderful...very patient and helpful and their English was easy to understand. They even arranged for a shuttle to take me to the airport. The room was just lovely, I loved how each room is decorated in a different way. There are lots of restaurants and shops nearby, including a great patisserie at the end of the block (I can't remember the name). I would not hesitate to stay here again!

Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnaConda27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Hotel Le Royal
Hotel Le Royal
#245 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Aiglon - Esprit de France
Montparnasse
Lenox Montparnasse
Lenox Montparnasse
#269 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Mercure Paris Montparnasse Raspail
Montparnasse
Hotel Mistral
Hotel Mistral
#73 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
Montparnasse
Max Hotel
Max Hotel
#132 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse

Property: Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse
Address: 225 boulevard Raspail, 75014 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #354 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the very heart of the gathering point made famous by painters, writers and poets, just a stone’s throw away from the Tour Montparnasse and the Jardin du Luxembourg, the Hôtel de la Paix welcomes you to a warm and friendly setting.Whether for tourism or professional stays, the hotel’s 39 bright and soundproofed rooms will charm you with their comfort and equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing