We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice small hotel in Montparnasse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse
Ranked #358 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Porvoo, Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice small hotel in Montparnasse”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The room was quit small and this was especially true for the bathroom but that is not unusual in central Paris. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful in all ways and spoke a rather good English. Breakfast was fine and WiFi worked although it was quit slow. The location of the hotel was perfect for us who like to stay in the heart of Montparnasse. There was a little misunderstanding by the cleaning staff about the changing of towels but the hotel apologized very much for that. The only negative comment is concerning the departure day when all the towels(!) where taken away from the bathroom as we went out for a short walk in the morning so we couldn´t take a shower before checking out at 12 a´clock.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eurover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathJb, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for you comment, we hope that you enjoyed your trip in Paris.
It has been a pleasure for the whole team to welcome you and try to fulfill all your expectations.
The wifi system was changed a week after your went, and it now give you a fast connection in the different parts of the hotel.

We would like to apologize for the issue with the towels, and we would like to thank you for pointing it out. We have seen it with our staff and this problem won't happen again.

We really hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again for your next stay in Montparnasse !

Enjoy your day !

Quentin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    308
    48
    5
    2
See reviews for
130
333
42
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This little hotel is located in a great part of Paris; near a Metro stop as well as lots of restaurants and cafes. The hotel itself is very clean and decorated in an interesting way ( school desks and recycled furniture). We stayed in a standard room on an upper floor. The bathroom was modern and the shower was quite cramped. There is ample storage in the room for your luggage. The window opened and it was quiet.

We tried the 10€ breakfast one day and found it adequate, if not exciting...(canned fruit.)

Paris is exceedingly expensive, so finding a place for under 130€ per night was lucky. I recommend this hotel if you are looking for a budget hotel in a fab neighborhood.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EuropeTerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathJb, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you Terri for taking your time to leave us a review. It was a pleasure to welcome you in our establishment, and we hope you enjoyed your stay with us.
The rooms were fully decorated to give you the impression to stay in a quiet and comfortable house rather than in a standardized hotel.
Concerning the breakfast, we are sorry to read that you didn't really enjoy it, but I would like to add that our fruit salad is entirely made of fresh fruits.

Have a nice day !

Best reagrds,

Quentin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Hotel de La Paix Montparnasse for 5 nights in May 2014. The hotel is great, staff is really helpful and polite. The room and the bathroom are small, like they all are in Paris, but comfortable, clean and had everything we needed during our stay. Breakfast is 10 euros per person and it is really good. Hotel's location is pretty good, with Raspail's Metro Station (lines 4 and 6) just a few steps from the hotel. You are a 20/25 minutes walk from the city's important museums and attractions. We will definetly go back to Hotel de la Paix in our next trip to Paris.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Priscilla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathJb, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review, it is always pleasant to hear compliments about his establishment. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us !

We do hope to see you again at the Hôtel de la Paix Montparnasse

Best Regards,

Quentin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

A little off the beaten path but very accessible to all transportation. The decor is charming as can be, rooms are small but they all are in Paris. Bathrooms are really small as well, our shower door did not open correctly and there are no drawers or much room for any clothing. We stayed four nights and the beds were fabulous. It's very clean - elevator is so small it only fits a suitcase at a time. We did not do their breakfast - at 10E per person it was not worth it and is not included. There is a McDonalds Cafe close by with great, cheap breakfast and a pastry bar. All in all, I would definitely return to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teporama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathJb, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear sir or madam, thank you for your time and your comment.
We are glad to hear that you would come back to Paris and especially in our hotel ! The hotel was decorated so that you can feel like home !
Thank you again for the information on the shower door, our maintenance crew will fix it. Concerning the breakfast, which was not worth for you, it might cost 10euros per person but it’s an unlimited breakfast buffet.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again !

Best regards,

Quentin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This is my favourite hotel in Paris. Good price, great location and clean. The rooms are not enormous, but it's Paris! I especially appreciated the refurbished bathroom.
Service was very friendly, polite and spoke English.
I will definitely come back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cloe321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathJb, Responsable relations clients at Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Thanks Cloe for your message, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. The Bathrooms were recently refurbished in your interest and we are glad to learn that it suited you !
It was a pleasure to welcome you in our establishment and we do hope to see you again !

Best Regards,

Quentin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

A great option if staying in Paris for a few days.
It is very well located, close to everything from day to night life.
All the public transportation services available within a small distance.
The hotel is nice and clean, small romos as in most of Paris.....
Great Price and money value.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NiarfeGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathJb, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Hello Niarfe and thank you for your time ! It is always nice to hear good reviews ! It is true that our hotel is ideally located in the neighborhood of Montparnasse close to bus and metro station ! We do try to have the best price and money value for the satisfaction of our guests!

We hope you enjoyed our stay among us !

Quentin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights due to the good reviews on TA, it being in a good location and only a few stops on the metro to the main sights.

The hotel itself was pleasantly decorated, had a nice ambience and friendly staff. Our room and bathroom were clean but tiny which is not unusual by Parisienne standards, however the bed was too hard (we're used to a firm bed) and actually kept us awake.

We went to breakfast every morning which was perfectly fine for a buffet. However on checking out we were charged an extra €60 as the breakfast was not complimentary (despite the high room rates). I explained that this was not made clear in the booking confirmation, or indeed when I'd specifically asked when checking in. Unfortunately the Receptionist showed a distinct disregard for my dissatisfaction and continued to argue with me that it is clear on the website.

It stated nothing about additional breakfast costs on my booking confirmation, the website or anywhere in the hotel. Whilst I was not refusing to pay, had he applied his customer service skills by apologising for the confusion and listening to what I said rather than arguing the point, then I would have left feeling a little less annoyed and posting more positive feedback.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank LadyLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathJb, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear LadyLong, it was a pleasure to welcome you in our hotel. Thank you for your time and your comment. Every review is good to improve our service.
We are glad to learn that the room suited you except the bed. Concerning the breakfast, it is written in the breakfast area, on your room’s door, and on your reservation that the breakfast is not complimentary. We apologize for the confusion and the troubles.

We hope you enjoyed your stay in Paris

Best regards,

Quentin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Hotel Le Royal
Hotel Le Royal
#271 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Aiglon - Esprit de France
Montparnasse
Lenox Montparnasse
Lenox Montparnasse
#267 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Mercure Paris Montparnasse Raspail
Montparnasse
Hotel Mistral
Hotel Mistral
#69 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Montparnasse
Max Hotel
Max Hotel
#131 of 1,797 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse

Property: Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse
Address: 225 boulevard Raspail, 75014 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #358 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the very heart of the gathering point made famous by painters, writers and poets, just a stone’s throw away from the Tour Montparnasse and the Jardin du Luxembourg, the Hôtel de la Paix welcomes you to a warm and friendly setting.Whether for tourism or professional stays, the hotel’s 39 bright and soundproofed rooms will charm you with their comfort and equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing