We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse
Ranked #338 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Seven Sisters, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My husband and I visited this quaint hotel in July with our daughter, son in law and 2 grandchildren aged 3 and 5. The hotel was well presented with very friendly staff who were very helpful. The lift was very small but functional but no good if you unable to climb stairs because once you got out of the lift you then had to climb a little stairs to access your room which wasn't a problem. Our room was quite small but nicely decorated with a lovely new shower room. My daughter was happy with her family room which was a good size . We didn't eat there because there were plenty of places locally . The hotel was in a very good position for sight seeing and would have no problem recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathJb, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
We would like to thank you for your comment, it is very kind to you. It is always with pleasure that we treat our guests. As it is a old parisian building, it is impossible for us to rebuild the lift, which can be not very functional. But this aspect brings charm to the hotel in a sense, with is parisian typical style.
We are glad to offer to families our Junior Suite, ideal to welcome 4 persons.

We do hope to see you again !

Have a nice day !

Quentin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    310
    48
    6
    2
See reviews for
131
340
42
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Provided with good service, nice food and beverages as well as it is inside a famous hotel in Paris !!! Should have a try there although it is kinda expensive. Much higher than normal cafe but it worths the value of the money. There were many foreign and local tourists tried the food there while having their chit chat.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JamieTan03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Hi! So, I love Paris. No, my husband and I LOVE Paris. This time, we decided to stay in a different location from the "usual" Latin Quarter, Montmartre or Isle St Louis. We decided on Montparnasse. Now, he is a serious holiday planner and researcher-- location, price, more. He came across this hotel and booked us in at the end of a lovely long trip in France. The location is great-- between, and I do mean close between, two metro stops. The large shopping mall, a Saturday market and at least TWO very good restaurant are within a short block. The hotel itself is Paris Quaint-- read: slightly worn, a bit dated, a 1940-1950 type decorating theme, with a tiny typically Paris elevator that will only hold two people ( or one with two luggage bags) that stops between floors with a slight walk up or down to your room's floor. Yes. That is Paris-- old style and quaint. However the staff was among the nicest, kindest, more helpful we have ever had in the lovely bustling city. No, don't go there for elegance. But value for money, pleasant atmosphere, metro convenience and friendliness-- consider it! Really. Do.

Room Tip: If you are unsteady in your feet-- ask for a room close to the ground floor. The spiral staircase i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathJb, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you very much for your review ! We are delighted that you chose The Hotel de la Paix as last step of your French Trip. It is true that the hotel enjoys a great location near several parisian landmarks, good value restaurants, bars, and shops.
A great part of the rooms are going to be painted and a bit refreshed at the end of this summer.
The staff is always glad to welcome our guests the best way possible, it is always a pleasure for us to satisfy your needs.
It would be a pleasure to see you back !

Best Regards,

Quentin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Usa
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I am a pretty light sleeper, so a decent night's sleep for me in Paris either requires a room at the back of the hotel facing a courtyard or a room on the street side with soundproof windows and a quiet air conditioning system. During a late-July visit, I had a room on the street, but I slept like a baby because the windows kept out the street noise and the air conditioner functioned well and quietly. Now, add to this a comfortable bed and very friendly hotel personnel and you have a recipe for a fine experience. The hotel is not perfect. It is a bit long in the tooth, the rooms are small (although not by Paris standards), and the elevator is so small that you could film a comedy routine with it as people try to get themselves and their luggage in and out, but I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RNatha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathJb, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
We would like to thank you for your review, which help us grow. It was a pleasure to welcome you and allow you to sleep like a baby :) All our rooms which face the street are equipped with soundproof windows to provide rest and quietness after a long day of walk in the streets of Paris.
We hope to see you during your next trip in France !

Best Regards,

Quentin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Loved this little hotel. Small, personal, and friendly. The location is wonderful--near everything, and a very safe area. The staff was very helpful answering questions, setting up a taxi, even printing our boarding passes for us. The bed was super comfy, and everything was nice and clean. It's small, but that's exactly what we expected in Paris. There are several sizes of rooms to choose from, and if you're staying more than one night I'd recommend the upgrade.
The price was reasonable and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmom097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathJb, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, it is very kind to you. We hope you had a great time in the Montparnasse neighborhood. It was a pleasure to answer your questions and satisfy your needs by printing your boarding passes for example. We are glad to read that you enjoyed our beds, very comfy after a long day hanging out in the streets of Paris.
Hoping to see you back, have a nice day !

Best Regards,

Quentin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel for 5 nights. The room was clean and cutely decorated. The showers were small, but it's a Parisian hotel, so don't expect much different anywhere else. It had a great location to the Metro! The only negatives were the beds, which were very hard, and the breakfast was not worth 10 Euro. We found a nice bakery a couple doors down with great quiches and breads, so I would recommend eating breakfast there! The front desk people were polite and they have a shuttle that can take you to the airport. Not sure if they pick you up from the airport, as we didn't know about the service till we got there, but definitely worth checking out. Loved this hotel and if I ever go back to Paris, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Small elevators, so if you're claustrophobic or have a lot of luggage, I would suggest booking o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bizgirl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathJb, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you very much for your impressions, it help us to improve the quality of our service. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your 5 nights here, and we would love to see you back !
We are sorry for the bed, most of the time, the guests are pleased with this kind of mattress. The next time, do not hesitate to ask for softer mattress.
Regarding the shuttle service, the hotel only provide this service from the hotel to the airport.
Waiting to see you back, have a nice day !

Best Regards,

Quentin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed 4 nights at this charming hotel with our two children (aged 10 and 11). The staff is warm and welcoming and stored our luggage for us as we arrived on an early flight. We had a junior suite with a double bed and two single beds (one is more of a cot). The room was small but very clean and comfortable. We appreciated the fact that there were two bathrooms (although only one has a toilet). There is a tiny elevator which is handy to transport your luggage. We were on the 5th floor so there were a lot of stairs but we enjoyed the exercise. If we were feeling really lazy, one adult and one child would take turns using the elevator. We faced the street and there was a bit of street noise (i.e. the occasional police siren) but it never kept us awake. There are these great blinds/shutters which completely block out the sunlight if you like to sleep in. The location of the hotel was excellent - steps from the metro and lots of shopping/restaurants). There is an excellent bakery about a block down from the hotel - I wish I could remember the name but if you head away from the metro station you will find it. Lovely pastries and croissants. In all, we were very pleased with our choice of hotel and would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ginkybiloba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MathJb, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
We would like to thank you for your review, it is kind to you and it helps us grow. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your junior suite, which brings rest and quietness to your family after a long day of sightseeing. All our rooms, which are provided with soundproof windows and blackout shutters, were thought to give you the best conditions to enjoy your night. We would be delighted to see you back at the Hôtel de la Paix !
Best regards,
Quentin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Montparnasse
Hotel Le Royal
Hotel Le Royal
#269 of 1,801 in Paris
612 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Aiglon - Esprit de France
Montparnasse
Lenox Montparnasse
Lenox Montparnasse
#262 of 1,801 in Paris
1,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montparnasse
Hotel Odessa Montparnasse
Hotel Odessa Montparnasse
#438 of 1,801 in Paris
332 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Mistral
Hotel Mistral
#69 of 1,801 in Paris
790 reviews
Montparnasse
Hotel Le M
Hotel Le M
#370 of 1,801 in Paris
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse

Property: Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse
Address: 225 boulevard Raspail, 75014 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #338 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the very heart of the gathering point made famous by painters, writers and poets, just a stone’s throw away from the Tour Montparnasse and the Jardin du Luxembourg, the Hôtel de la Paix welcomes you to a warm and friendly setting.Whether for tourism or professional stays, the hotel’s 39 bright and soundproofed rooms will charm you with their comfort and equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel De La Paix Montparnasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing