We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Convention Montparnasse
Ranked #691 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Lisboa, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“A very pleasant Hotel”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

The fact that the hotel is next to the subway is very helpful, it's location in Montparnasse is excelent and it makes the possibility of a walk in the parisian night possible! Fast food chains, supermarkets all is very close to the hotel! The Staff is very helpful and speak very good english! Will go back!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    195
    49
    16
    11
See reviews for
75
153
27
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Good location for a hotel, especially with the Eiffel Tower being 30 - 40 minutes walk away. However, if you don't want to walk, you could always take the Metro from across the station. Perfect for taking you anywhere you wish to go! The service was good even though the rooms were a bit small. But if you only go for sightseeing, then this shouldn't be a problem.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We stayed 8 days in an apartment rented by the Hotel Convention Montparnasse with a family of 4. The apartment is in a residential building less than 5 minutes from the hotel. We initially had problems getting the internet to work. It took 3 days to get it fixed, but after that it worked well. The apartment is adequate, but has no ventilation except opening the windows. This subjects you to a lot of noise from where people are discarding their trash. Especially the noise from breaking glass as bottles are placed in the recycle bin is particularly disturbing. The bedroom with two single beds has a window that opens up to some type of smoking area from below. If that window and to some extent, the kitchen window is opened up, the room is filled with the odor of cigarette smoke. If you can overlook these items, the weekly rate is very good for a Paris Hotel. Our stay was in late May with mild temperatures. Fans for the rooms would be a requirement for summer months.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rijeka, Croatia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Perfect location! The metro station is just few steps away - in 10-20 minutes You can get anywhere in Paris. The rooms are big enough and what is the most important - very clean. The area arround the hotel is very nice and calm and has everything You need while You stay there: a faboulous boulangerie - patisserie just on the corner of the street, a good pizzeria and few grocerie stores. Would definitely come back here!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Barny113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012 via mobile

When we booked the hotel we were concerned that it may be too far out of the centre of Paris, but we we wrong. 

Convention is a lovely part of Paris, and we felt very safe at all times. A 20 min walk though some lovely tree lined streets to the Eiffel tower and about 30 mins on the metro from Gard du nord, I would recommend this hotel, for anyone looking for a cheap good hotel in a nice location. 

My only criticism would be that the double room we had could have been a little larger, and the addition of a bath a decent breakfast could have added a star to my rating. 

The hotel is tucked away on the street were there are a couple of brassieres and whilst it did not bother me, the noise in the evening did keep my wife awake.

Would I go there again...on balance yes

Enjoy

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

My wife and I stayed first stayed here for two weeks in 2010 on our first trip to Paris and stayed again for a few days this year. The neighbourhood, residential and close-knit, can't be beat. It's safe, relatively quiet, and the metro (Convention - line 12) is steps away and makes for easy connections to a number of important locations. There are plenty of amenities nearby - Asian restaurants, a French cafe, a laundromat, an awesome bakery next door, fruit stands, pharmacies, a Monoprix, and a street market 3 days a week. Contrary to some of the other comments, we have never had any issues with the service and have found the staff to be congenial and pleasant.

We ended up with a much larger room this time - and I mean *much* larger. Last time, our room was tiny, even by European standards. This time, our double room was easily twice the size of the previous one, which was also a double. If you look at the floor maps, room numbers ending in 5 and 6 are the largest (we were 305 this time), while ones ending in 1 (201 last time) are tiny. Other room numbers (2, 3, 4) fall in the middle but also seem to be quite small. The lesson - request a double room ending in 5 or 6 if you can!

Our only issue this time was with smoke. Many of the room windows open up on the patio of the cafe next door, which can make for cigarette smoke and noise in the evenings. This wasn't an issue last time because we just turned on the AC and kept the windows closed. This time, visiting in May, the AC system hadn't been switched on yet, so we had to either enjoy the heat in our room or the smell of smoke from the cafe. We chose the former, which wasn't too bad since it wasn't all that warm, but we'd stick to a summer visit next time.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Resaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I stayed in this hotel before, but I don't know if I will stay there again. Yes, it is a modern hotel compared with other in this category, the metro is super close and the area is safe. And, yes, the accommodations are good by american standards. But: 1) My single room was microscopic even for parisian standards. 2) The staff is NOT service oriented at all. Except Laurent, the only one who is helpful and agreeable (Hi, Laurent, hope you got the gift I left you). And 3) It is impossible to take a daytime nap; every little noise is amplified by the hotel structure. Tip: If you stay here, go to the nearby Belisaire restaurant. The food is good and the service is great.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alicia_Boricua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
0.1 mi away
Ibis Paris Convention 15eme
Ibis Paris Convention 15eme
#690 of 1,802 in Paris
426 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Abaca Messidor Paris
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mercure Paris 15 Porte de Versailles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chouette Hotel
Chouette Hotel
#305 of 1,802 in Paris
304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lutece
Hotel Lutece
#1,317 of 1,802 in Paris
52 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de la Paix Paris
Hotel de la Paix Paris
#834 of 1,802 in Paris
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Convention Montparnasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Convention Montparnasse

Property: Hotel Convention Montparnasse
Address: 41 rue Alain Chartier | 15 Arr., 75015 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #691 of 1,802 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Convention Montparnasse 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Convention Montparnasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Convention Montparnasse Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing