We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hotel That's Just Right” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Convention Montparnasse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Convention Montparnasse
Ranked #705 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“A Hotel That's Just Right”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

I stayed at this hotel when I was in Paris over Christmas.

The staff were wonderful; every single one of them were friendly, helpful and forgiving about my poor French skills. A special shout-out goes to "Santa" who was particularly helpful even though he didn't understand my broken French/English request for a fork. The cleaning staff on Christmas day (which I suspect were different from the normal staff, who were fine) could have been more careful with my belongings in my room.

The location of the hotel is perfect. Right next to the Metro station so I didn't need to drag my suitcase far, and it was well positioned on the Metro map as well. The hotel claims to be a 15 minute walk from the Eiffel Tower but I didn't put this to the test.

The room was bigger than I had expected after hearing horror stories about small Paris hotel rooms. My room was 201 and was next to the elevator. I had a lot of noise from the elevator and so I suggest asking to switch if you get a room in the same location. The walls are very thin and I could hear everything that was happening in the next room on the days that I had neighbours.

The only downsides to the hotel would be that the rooms are a little dark - there was just one light on the wall so the middle and far side of the room was pretty dark. And there was a kettle and set of tea there but no mugs with which to drink the tea. My friend who also stayed at the hotel also mentioned this so I suspect that the tea is not intended to be drank. Luckily I'd been given a mup cup for Christmas - you can't stop a Brit from drinking tea!!

I didn't have the breakfasts - in my opinion why pay 9 euros a day when there are plenty of lovely bakeries and restaurants in the area?

As I left the hotel I said quite honestly to the man at the desk that I was sad to leave the place. I wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else next time I'm in Paris.

Room Tip: If you have a room ending in -01 then you'll be next to the elevator. It's pretty noisy so y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miss_igirisu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    185
    47
    15
    11
See reviews for
72
148
25
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zoersel, Belgium
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

The hotel is located right next to a subway exit so it's very reachable from within city centre. Staff were not very polite. And it's not because we don't speak French because we do. The receptionist was rather uninterested and the lady working at the breakfast area (which is tiny by the way) could not hide her frustrations for whatever reason.
Rooms are ok, but could definitely need some rework here and there.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thomasvochten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

Arrived very late in the hotel, after 23:00. In matter of minutes we were checked in, no hasle with passports and what not. Had a nice room on the top floor, small, like most french hotels of the priceclass but the furniture was top quality. Breakfast was decent and staff was helpfull.
Location is great, no noise from outside.

When in doubt about the huge amount hotels in Paris, take this one, you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seb-leuven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

Perfect location. Hotel is just a few steps away the Convention subway station. If you are looking for western food, KFC and Mcdonalds are just across the road. Marche Franprix (convenience store) also across the road. Starbucks Coffee is 3 blocks away.

We arrived at the hotel around 9am and was able to check-in right away. Will definitely consider this hotel again. The wifi internet was blazing fast, but it slowed down during our last 2 nights.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nikkonikko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

We really liked this hotel and we have stayed in several in Paris. It was about 120 euros per night, a great price for the season.breakfast is not included but there is a delightful patisserie nearby. Metro Convention is right there, and you don't have to go far to find great food. To save some money, though, get your cafe somewhere other than that corner, those three cafes were really expensive.

Room Tip: Room 106 was really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChiChiinEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisboa, Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

The fact that the hotel is next to the subway is very helpful, it's location in Montparnasse is excelent and it makes the possibility of a walk in the parisian night possible! Fast food chains, supermarkets all is very close to the hotel! The Staff is very helpful and speak very good english! Will go back!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

Good location for a hotel, especially with the Eiffel Tower being 30 - 40 minutes walk away. However, if you don't want to walk, you could always take the Metro from across the station. Perfect for taking you anywhere you wish to go! The service was good even though the rooms were a bit small. But if you only go for sightseeing, then this shouldn't be a problem.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karla W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Abaca Messidor Paris
0.1 mi away
Ibis Paris Convention 15eme
Ibis Paris Convention 15eme
#786 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chouette Hotel
Chouette Hotel
#289 of 1,794 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel de la Paix Paris
Hotel de la Paix Paris
#817 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Montcalm
BEST WESTERN Montcalm
#341 of 1,794 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mercure Paris 15 Porte de Versailles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Convention Montparnasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Convention Montparnasse

Property: Hotel Convention Montparnasse
Address: 41 rue Alain Chartier | 15 Arr., 75015 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #705 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Convention Montparnasse 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Convention Montparnasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Convention Montparnasse Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing