We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic French cuisine within elegant surroundings” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bouillon Racine

Bouillon Racine
Reserve with
Bouillon Racine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #635 of 16,717 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$65
Cuisines: French, European, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Odeon / Saint-Michel
Description: The famous Bouillon Racine is in the district of the celebrated Parisian university of the Sorbonne. This splendid brasserie was created in the art nouveau style by the Chartier brothers in 1906. The building itself is a listed building and the interior has been painstakingly renovated to its former splendour. The chef Alexandre Belthoise proposes a menu mixing modern and traditional French with specialities such as stuffed milk pig, beef stew or the creme brulee flavoured with maple syrup. The Bouillon Racine takes you on a wonderful journey through time back to the Paris of the 1900s.
london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Classic French cuisine within elegant surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Wonderful French cooking and service in elegant surroundings - at a reasonable cost - and without the silly pomposity that would accompany an equivalent meal/surroundings in London

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank poggielondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    419
    487
    188
    85
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent prix fixe for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Approx 15-16 euros, with an appetizer + main, main + dessert, or main + coffee/tea. Solid French food in a lovely setting.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ayearofbritishcuppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Going Downhill”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We have family in Paris, so Bouillon Racine is somewhere we have gone every few years. Each time we go the meal seems to get worse. The restaurant is absolutely beautiful and worth a visit perhaps for a drink only. Our last visit, service was very slow. Meals came out at different times, kids were served last. Food was terrible. Because we waited so long for the meal we spent time managing the kids, we sat near a window (which is not child friendly) and my daughter picked up a rodent trap that was tucked behind the curtain. At that point I just wanted to leave......
Go for a drink and see the restaurant it is worth a visit but maybe pass on the meal with Remy...

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KMech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
162 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“How about a little art nouveau?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Our travel book had this restaurant rated as "the pick" of the district, so we figured we owed it to ourselves to have dinner there. It is one of the restaurants in Paris that still has much of the original interior, in this case classic art nouveau, so the enviornment was a plus. The menu was classic French cuisine, but with only 5 or 6 entrees. We generally don't eat red meat, but against the other options, the steak entree seemed to be the best pick for us, and we admit the cut of beef was very nicely prepared, tender and tasty. The one distraction to our meal was the heat. The evening we visited Bouillon Racine was on a day in the low 90's, so it was still in the sultry mid-80's at 8PM, and there was no A/C. The restuarant has large doors that open to the sidewalk, and they were ajar to let what little breeze there was come in. Paris in general is not big on A/C, and if you haven't experienced Paris in a heat wave, you may want to seek out places that use A/C, and save this restaurant for a cooler evening.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank snorkelingfan46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Art Nouveau restaurant in the heart of Paris!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Absolutely loved this. Walked in on a Tuesday night and got seated even though I had no reservations. The waitstaff was very friendly and the food was traditional as well as more contemporary french. Lots of locals having dinner with a few tourists (including myself)
It's is a trip back in time!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aroundtheglobe99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bouillon Racine also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Bouillon Racine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing