We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Allard” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Allard

Restaurant Allard
Reserve with
Restaurant Allard is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #998 of 16,717 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Odeon / Saint-Michel
Paris, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Allard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Very expensive. The sole and escargots was great. The sole for two was priced at 50 euros a piece, which seemed high. The profiteroles for dessert was very good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RNetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    211
    117
    90
    67
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
95 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Alain Ducasse has ruined a great french bistro”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Our first experience with Alain Ducasse was at Louis XV and was suburb. And we come to Paris several times a year and always had Allard in our plans. Tonight the experience was completely different from the foods that that have been drawing bistro lovers, and us, for years. It was less tasty, less interesting and priced to gouge the customer unfairly. Dishes for two were quoted at one price, and the bill arrived with the price doubled. Nowhere on the menu did the dishes say per person. The favorite smoked duck salad was gone, the chicken was ok vs suburb. I will say the profiteroles were Devine. But not worth a return visit alone. We came expecting the traditional experience that one has received for 80 years and got another. We are sad to see things we love change so much.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Desiree F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Parisian Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

This is a great place to go if you're looking for a medium to high-end restaurant that serves a great sampling of all of the popular French dishes. The Duck for 2 is INCREDIBLE! They have menus in both French and English, which is nice. The food is great and the location is great. After dinner, there are many bars/cafes where you can get an after-dinner drink. This is a must-do for any first or second-time Paris visitor.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PapaBear2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
92 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Way Over Priced, Way Underwhelming!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

NOTE TO SELF: Just because a 3-star uber-chef's name is attached to a new acquisition, doesn't mean its going to deliver on the name! Thus it was that we went to Alain Ducasse's newest purchase, the 60-year old traditional bistro, Restaurant Allard in the 6eme. There were 4 of us, and we had different entrees - escargot, haricot verts Parisian (2 of us), saumon marinee. OK, but nothing special. All four of us ordered the sole meuniere, and that's where the shock came at the "addition" time. On the menu, there was a section for items that were for 2 people - one being the sole meuniere - price listed as 50 euros. We were each served a sole meuniere, which was quite large and delicious, BUT when the bill came, we were each charged 50 euros, so the fish total was 200 instead of 100 euros. The menu absolutely did not say that. Only one of us had dessert, so no comments there. Wine, which was nice, was 45 euros, among the cheapest bottles we could find. Service was perfuctory and not very attentive. In short: a 400 euro (for 4) dinner that delivered no more than 200 euros (for 4) of value. We certainly will not go there again, and urge Trip Advisor readers to pass this place by .... even though, it is now in the Alain Ducasse stable of restaurants.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank foodie78247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atherton, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Different Experience, This Time...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

We have dined at this classic Paris restaurant on multiple occasions over the last 20 years. A favorite for us in Paris. This dinner was not such a good experience. Since our last dinner here in 2010, the menu changed and was more limited. We got English menus which seems thoughtful, but we are competent in French and prefer a French menu as part of the experience. Our friends had fish (per 2 personnes) at €50, where single main dishes ran between €22 and €35. We assumed that the €50 was for 2 people and only learned that €50 was per person, so we bought a €100 fish. We asked after reviewing the bill, got over our surprise and paid without further question. Still do not know if the issue was ours. Based on all of this, we sadly will move this restaurant down on our list, as there are lots of great restaurants in Paris that you leave with a great taste in your mouth, not a bad one.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Francophile94027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Allard also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Restaurant Allard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing