We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good experience”
Review of Chez Georges

Chez Georges
Reserve with
Save up to 40% when you reserve online *
Chez Georges is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,095 of 17,300 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: US$53 - US$76
Cuisines: French, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Batignolles-Monceau
Description: Located right next to the Palais des Congres convention center and the Avenue des Ternes, Chez Georges offers the elegance and conviviality of an authentic Parisian brasserie. Here, the great classics of French cuisine are brilliantly executed as tasty, refined meals. A legendary meeting place for the 17th arrondissement, Chez Georges dates back to 1926. Its up-market, traditional cuisine and tableside service have made it one of Paris' must-visit brasseries. Designed by the architect and decorator Slavik, star of the 70s, the decor at Chez Georges pays tribute to Art Nouveau, with leather banquettes, silverware, wood and copper to give the restaurant a warm and elegant atmosphere.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A very good experience”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Everything from service, ambiance, food and wine list was a "4" or better. Can't say that any one element was exceptional but a very good experience that we would repeat.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eugene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    199
    53
    26
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“One of my Favorites in the World”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Whenever we are in Paris we eat every available opportunity we can in this place. It opened in 1926 and survived an occupying army and everything else you could throw at them. The food has never disappointed and I doubt it ever will even into its next century. Tried most of its menu over the years. The herring in oil, with onions and carrots; the white asparagus; the lamb; the variety of fish and last time the Iberian pig in a plate licking sauce. Went nuts over the tartare as near as good as the best in the world in Calgary,Alberta Canada. The wait staff is super as attentive as you could possibly expect. Tried the profiterole roles covered with a great chocolate sauce. This place is so good it required a two day stopover in Paris en route to our destination in Ellmau Austria. This is by far the best value for money in all of Paris in terms of great food.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank faral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edina MN
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“To Be Avoided”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Expensive, mediocre food and too fast yet inattentive service (which is hard to do) makes for a very unhappy experience. The escargot were tough, the meat of poor quality and the service was unsmiling and focused on getting us out the door as quickly as possible. Excellent location, but there are so many better places to go.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank russr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So delicious!”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Upon walking round the whole of Paris this December, we were desperate for dinner and happened to remember a review of this restaurant. Everything about the meal, from start to finish, was delicious. Even the bread and butter was sublime! The duck lasagne was possibly the most amazing thing I have ever eaten, my friend even said she didn't want her meal to end because she was enjoying it so much.

We left really stuffed and really happy. The waiting staff were really friendly, and happy to talk to us and give us menu recommendations. I would plan a trip back to Paris just to eat here again

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice -- All Elements Present for a Great Meal”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

There are endless choices of places to eat in Paris. It is not meaningful to compare a 3-star to a bistro. Chez George has been around a long time and in the bistro/French Comfort Food class--this is one of the better choices.

Food: Excellent. Great range, including many French classics. The appetizers (particularly the truffle macaroni), entrees (filet, sweetbreads and chicken--all were spot on for seasoning). There are daily specials, but they run out before 8 pm. Execution on every dish was spot on. As to those who complain about "medium" being too "rare" -- this is just how it is in France. Tell them pink, not red--and they understand.

Service: Pleasant--easily handle English--and friendly. Well trained staff.

Ambiance: Excellent. The interior probably has not changed much since it opened in the 1920's, but still it is clean and the decor fits the menu. A bit of step back in time. A lot of Parisians were present.

Wine List: Short, but very reasonably priced.

We enjoyed this meal much more than some of the more famous choices like Brasserie Lip, other choices in 5th and 6th and were thoroughly impressed. Worth the effort to get here.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chez Georges also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Chez Georges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing