We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chez Rene

Chez Rene
Reserve with
Chez Rene is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,873 of 16,717 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: US$0 - US$88
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Odeon / Saint-Michel
NY, NY
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

My wife and I are New Yorkers in Paris for a week, Several Parisian and NYC friends recommended this place. Most of the people here seemed local. We do not speak French and the staff was overly accommodating and helpful, which put us at ease. The food was wonderful. I had foie gras and my wife had salad with beets. Excellent. For dinner we had beef bourguignon and my lovely wife had some sort of fish. Both were fabulous. We had a side order of French fries. My wife asked for KETCHUP and the older French woman looked at us, horrified, and said in clear English, "I am sorry". It was kinda funny.

Chocolate mouse and strawberries for dessert.

Sincerely, if you come to Paris - or if you live in Paris - you MUST eat here. You will NOT BE disappointed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LGRNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    124
    37
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Classic French Bistro - highly recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Chez Rene is a on of Paris' longest established Bistros offering a great atmosphere and some classic Bistro food. The place was packed out on the Saturday evening we went, but you can reserve a table on-line at Lafourchette.com.

We went for the most traditional items on the menu (Coq au vin, Boeuf Bourgignon) and they did not disappoint. Huge portions and a wonderful rich dark sauce. Friendly service, tiny closely packed tables. Good value for money and a great experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
117 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Mixed reactions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Chez Rene was highly recommended on the net. It was close to our hotel in Paris, so we went for dinner. We were offered a table (Tuesday), despite no reservations. Staff was polite & went the length to offer us the table without reservations & then to translate the menu in English for us. The wine suggested was very good. The potage( soup) was very average & disappointing. The main course was Coq au vin for me ( disappointing, but maybe it's supposed to taste like this!!) & Canard roasted legs (duck legs) for my wife ( very good). We did not order for dessert.
To sum up, a good place for French food, if one knows his way around ordering. But not so, if one doesn't. Best of luck.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alhadraje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
453 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We made a reservation thru La Forchette (The Fork) French version of Open Table. We were seated right away. Our server, Daniel, was very friendly and accommodating. We had white asparagus for appetizer and I had coq au vin for main course and my husband had beef bourginon. The beef bourginon was tender and delicious. The coq au vin was a bit tough but the sauce was good. We shared an Ile Flottante (meringue floating in creme sauce) for dessert. You will find lots of locals here. This was our second visit--we went several years ago with our sons and also enjoyed it--and we'll be back

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinjep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding bistro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

A favorite Paris bistro with outstanding service (merci! Daniel) with traditional food & wine. Would highly recommend.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank doctorfungus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chez Rene also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Chez Rene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing