We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing to beef about here!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chez Robert et Louise

Chez Robert et Louise
Ranked #412 of 16,717 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Steakhouse, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Le Marais
New York
Level Contributor
227 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nothing to beef about here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Found this place to be just wonderful. I had the t bone and my Cherie had a delicious omelet. We ate downstairs since upstairs was a bit hot with all that steak cooking on an open pit. Great service from Able added to our delight. Went back again later in our trip and unfortunately it was closed for vacation.

Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    464
    348
    88
    55
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent steak and wine. I'd strongly recommend for everyone.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Excellent selection of wine and food which is served in a cosy interior place with its fireplace. It's like you are eating in the kitchen and you can see everything behind the kitchen - 10/10 hygiene.

Tables at the entrance floor are usually reserved, so make sure to have a booking before you go - or the manager will seat you downstairs which is also full.

Portions are satisfying, wines and starters are excellent. About the prices, it's like 30 euros for a nice dish and 29-40 for a very good wine.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank denizrende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“anthony bourdain sent me here...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

If one thing Paris is not short on, it's great places to eat. But where do you go when you want to feel like you're at home among strangers? Robert et Louise. I first heard of this place at a bbq (in new york) where a friend heard that i was leaving for paris in a week and said "there's this great restaurant over there, you should try it". This not having been my first time to paris made the sarcastic remark of "well that narrows it down" :) ... Fortunately he was not put off by my sarcasm. instead he said "no, really, i saw it on anthony bourdan's no reservations and then i found it when i was there. it's the best steak you will ever have. it's called robert and louise" ... so being the carnivore that i am decided to give it a try. I literally cleared my calendar for a night and told my friend (who lives in paris) that we were going to this restaurant. she had never heard of it but said she would look it up so we knew how to get there. we walked in and i immediately felt transported to a cabin that made me feel at home. there is a huge wood burning stove when you first enter and the air is filled with wonderful smells and the sound of glasses being clinked and conversations that you may or may not understand but you can tell they are being had among friends. We were seated at our table and handed a menu. i ordered the escargot as an appetizer and the steak for entree. i didn't want to fill up on sides because i came for the steak. And steak is what i had. Served up on a beautiful wooden plank, it was cooked to medium well perfection. The seasoning was on the light side, but in that you could really taste the meat. Accompanied by a great glass of wine, I left a very happy woman. If you enjoy steak, that is not heavily seasoned, but delicious, this is the place for you. It gets really crowded so if you don't get a reservation cross your fingers that there's a table available. there is also seating at the bar, but it's right by the door and can present a challenge getting comfortable. But for a steak like this it may be worth it. :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
115 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Are you hankering for a steak?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Set in the delightful Marais, Robert and Louise is the place to go if you are hankering for a steak. It is housed in an ancient building with original beams and low ceilings. In the back is a brick woodburning grill with a cast iron slab across the grill. Although there are other items on the menu, we all opted for the entrecote which comes with roasted potatoes and a salad, served on a slab of slate. We watched as the chef smacked the steaks onto the sizzling hot slab. We had asked for different degrees of doneness and each steak was cooked to perfection. There were a few flaws. The meat is not at all seasoned, and there is only a pot of very strong French mustard on the table. We had to ask for pepper and salt. The roasted potatoes were delicious but inconsistent. Some were mushy, some were undercooked. Nevertheless, we really enjoyed the meal and would definitely go back. Reservations are a must. Ask for a table on the main floor so you can watch the chef work.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shutterbugdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwanchon-si
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“very good!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

tres bon! good service, good beef, I had a good time

Helpful?
Thank kyunghwas2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chez Robert et Louise also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Chez Robert et Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing