We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food but pricy and weak service”
Review of GALLOPIN

GALLOPIN
Reserve with
Save up to 20% when you reserve online *
GALLOPIN is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,508 of 17,290 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: US$18 - US$39
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Opera / Bourse
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
427 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Very good food but pricy and weak service”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I don't see to say a lot about the food: The food was amazing, I took the lamb as main dish for lunch and I enjoyed it a lot. Nice portion, great souce! Wow! Spending 35 Euros plus drinks for a lunch menu isn't that cheap but the quality was very good.

The only thing I very crictise is the service: We were not "allowed" to sit outside with the argument that they "only have two waiters and we are busy inside" although there were only four tables inside taken and outside the tables already prepared. Also for the payment we needed to ask three times until someone came (better we got up and paid there) and nobody asked us for a coffee or tea..

Too bad! Buf if you only care about good food: Please go there!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tmuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    175
    74
    47
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful Classical Brasserie”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My wife and I had dinner at Le Gallopin a few weeks ago during a brief Parisian visit; I have eaten there a number of times over more than 15 years and the restaurant has existed for more than 100 years under only a few owners. This elegant and somewhat formal brasserie features a lot of dark wood, mirrors and brass in its decor, with a large atrium over one of the rooms. Service is courteous and somewhat formal (not surprising given its location across from the Paris Stock Exchange). The menu is classical brasserie with a good selection of meat and fish dishes - such as sole meuniere, filet de boeuf, French mediteranean fish soup - and a variety of delicious deserts, We sampled their Roederer Champagne and Pouilly Fume wines before moving on to a Laland Pomerol with our main courses which was really excellent and well priced for its quality. The menu is reasonably (medium) priced and does provide fixed price options as well as a la carte. But it is easy to significantly raise the cost of the experience by one's choice of wine. Cost of a wonderful dining experience for us was about Eur 150 which we thought well worth it. We will certainly go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DRSCCCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Talybont, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Hungry 4”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We cruised the streets near our hotel and found this. We ate outside. Beautiful food and we all had the 35€ menu. We were given loads of time to enjoy our meal and staff were attentive. Will definitely go back again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Classic Parisian Restaurant”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Gallopin is a classic restaurant in terms of style and décor and presents traditional dishes in modern style. Staff are courteous and welcoming, wine choice extensive and affordable in the context and the whole dining experience is as one would hope for such an establishment.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 24Peter24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good food, odd atmosphere”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I decided to eat here because I had read about the elegant, old-fashioned atmosphere. The restaurant is indeed beautiful, but I found this compromised by an incredibly odd choice of music: a seemingly random selection that proceeded from hip-hop through to funk, then country, blues, blues-rock and then back to hip-hop again. It was very loud too. Needless to say, none of those musical genres exactly evoke fin-de-siècle Paris.

The food and service were very good. But you can get better food and a better atmosphere for less money elsewhere in Paris!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ermanaricus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed GALLOPIN also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to GALLOPIN? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing