We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food”
Review of Khun Akorn

Khun Akorn
Reserve with
Khun Akorn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,160 of 17,292 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Bercy / Nation
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

We had a great dinner last night: nice food, friendly atmosphere... Prices are rather high, but I guess not a big surprise, in a city like Paris: 191 Eur for 2 starters, 4 main courses, 4 apero, a bottle of wine, 2 cokes, 4 deserts.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vaneeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    132
    35
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
phuket
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

This a lovely place. We had a table in the terrace which provided a nice outlook. Both the food and wine were good. The lady who owns the place and the Thai student who serves as waitress were very cheerful and made us feel most comforatable with a genuine Thai smile. They understood that eating in Thailand is a happy pastime, not a grim business, unlike our sad experience at the Sawadee in Avenue Emile Zola.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hari b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We had seen how busy this restaurant was during a Thursday lunch time as we walked past and decided we would return for the evening. We arrived at 1930 as the restaurant opened and was asked if we had a reservation - which we didn't. By the booking list we could see the place was going to be very busy. The waiter found us a table - apologising it was not outside ( although this did not bother us). By 2000 the place was packed with couples, families, businessmen.
Our food arrived very quickly and was delicious - a Thai beef red curry and a house special - 'George's recommendation'. Both were accompanied by a vegetable dish and 2 dishes of rice.. We like spicy food and this suited us both well - very fragrant with a bit of a kick.
The meal was not cheap ( Euro 60 for two of us) for the meal a beer and a coke - and we were in and out in less than an hour - but, the food was excellent, the staff helpful and a really lovely atmosphere.
Located a minute or two walk from Nation Metro up a side street this is a real find and we would definitely recommend it to friends and family and return there in future visits.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RHGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orléans, Centre, France
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A delicious thai lunch”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

On a beautiful summers day it was delightful to sit on street level with open windows overlooking the avenue. Eating a business lunch with a client who knows this restaurant wee, and a first-time visit for me. Really fine thai food, very fresh and delicious. My only criticism might be that for my British palate the food was maybe not fiery enough, but I think it's tailored to suit French preferences. Another time I would ask for some extra chilli. We shared seafood brochettes, which were prawn, scallop and some white fish in a sauce-delicious! Then we both had a salad with calamari and vegetables. Again lovely. Not huge, but it was a hot day and I am not a big eater.
Prices are higher than in a Thai traiteur, but for quality seafood quite acceptable. I look forward to returning.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidGarnierWiseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excelent Service. Honest Thai kitchen. Good value.”
Reviewed 25 April 2013

This is what I call a honest type of cuisine. Where the value comes not from things that are artifically set. But from a gentle service and a reduced but good quality food. I prefer places with not so many options but all options of good quality that loooong menus where only a few options are acceptable. To cap it all, the room is excelent. Get a window table if you can and you will enjoy a beautiful light setting where the neghboring table is not under your knees like many restaurants in Paris. Tables are close but not insultingly close. Service will always come with a simple honest smile and give the right advice. Great!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pere0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Khun Akorn also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Khun Akorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing