We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family place”
Review of L'Encrier

L'Encrier
Reserve with
L'Encrier is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #749 of 17,155 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$71
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Bercy / Nation
Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Family place”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We have been there already many times. Menu is always changing and it is family cooking and service which still exists in Paris. The owners are most welcoming and the food is delicately prepared. Situated in the 11eme. Rue Traversiere....this restaurant is a must.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank pegi4349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    96
    17
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“delicious food, wonderful experience, great value”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

we had high expectations after reading the reviews on Daily Telegraph. this restaurant exceeded our expectations. although we speak limited french our host/ the owner was eager to help ensure we had a wonderful dinning experience. With our final evening in Paris we were unanimous in deciding to go back again. Everything we ordered was outstanding!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlexY3166PJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pleasant atmosphere, mediocre food”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The staff was quite friendly, the interior is nice enough, but the food is rather bland. I was rather disappointed, actually -after seeing the ratings, I thought it would be better. Most items were quite greasy (including the fish -described to us as grilled, but was actually deep-fried), and while the pear salad was good the profiteroles did not live up to expectations -they were ok, not spectacular, the desserts from most bakeries are better. They had some good whisky, but the wine was sub-par.
Bottom line: if you're in the area, it may be a good option for a quick bite, but it's definitely not worth going out of your way for.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadianInParis932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kongsberg, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Small, friendly, good French food, reasonably priced”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Suggested by our great hotel just round the corner, Hôtel Albe Bastille, this small local restaurant was a real find. Our very limited French was not needed as one of the older(!) members of the friendly staff spoke quite acceptable English. The "formule" menu (3 or 4 choices for each course, 2 or 3 courses) was good. I can thoroughly recommend the pear and roquefort dressing as a starter!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnEnglishmanInNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Local Restaurant”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Stood outside attempting to translate the dinner menu while another couple came along and helped us with the finer points. Good thing we went in when we did, as we were the last to get a table. Filled with locals of all age groups and, as others have noted, the owner seemed to know everyone. I had the duck, while my husband had the steak with roquefort sauce. Duck was a bit rare for my liking, but the owner took it back for a bit more cooking. Just fine then for me, the North American. House wine was fine. We finished the meal with a creme caramel - excellent. Lovely evening and just across the street from our Paris apartment!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Encrier also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to L'Encrier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing