We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why?”
Review of La Cerisaie

La Cerisaie
Ranked #1,209 of 17,420 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Montparnasse
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Why?”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We booked because we liked the look of the menu. On holiday I go to a restaurant to enjoy the experience and pass a pleasant evening and enjoy good food. This do not happen here.
An American couple squashed beside us said they had never seen such a crowded restaurant. They counted 25 people inside a very small room. Most diners were couples and the tables were so arranged that those on the inside were served ( eventually) by the waitress leaning over the outside couple so one dodged passing food. Customers and the waitress could only pass through the place with greatest of difficulty. The room was so small that tables and people had to be crammed in so as to make a living. There were 2 sittings. At one time I looked around and saw that only 5 of the 25 had something to eat. I'm afraid that, for me, the food did not make up for the discomfort, the portions being very small and undistinguished. My companion and I left without regret and had an excellent cheese board and drink in the bar D ' Odessa luckily just up the road,thus rescuing a dismal evening.
Of course some people may relish the intimate atmosphere.


Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank CHRIS C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    85
    22
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania, Aust
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Highly a Recommended”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My husband and I found this restaurant through TA and could not have been happier. We asked our hotel concierge to make a booking and realize that we would have been turned away without this. We enjoyed a bream pâté win truffles, a pork fillet and a goose main, followed by a shared raspberry crumble. The maître marched our courses with suitable wines, all very enjoyable. This restaurant is very tight and you will find yourself seated very close to other diners. However we loved our meal there and would not change a thing. It felt like a uniquely Feench experience, affordable and with a lovely choice of dishes.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bellalab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria oregon
Level 6 Contributor
1,706 reviews
1,080 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 732 helpful votes
“Very French small intimate busy with authentic dishes focusing on Pyrnees roots of owners.”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Small lively restaurant that we could not get into until 10:00 pm
or 2200. Folks truly enjoyed food here. Lingered and visited and enjoyed every morsel.
Tripe, duck, pigs head, foie gras, snails are some menu items.
I had milk lamb buddy had tripe.
Fish bisque, and very good deserts of rhubarb and berry cream compote and a great warm cherries with pistachio ice cream dessert.
Good wine selection and beer, too.
Return? Yes.
Recommend? Yes.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Journeyman644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Repeated and multiple taste bud orgasms”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

A most pleasant surprise in a spot that is not on the typical tourist or business path. I found it while looking for a hotel near Gare Montparnasse. The chef (Cyril Lalanne) and his wife are making the most of a tiny store front on Blvd. Edgar Quinet. If this restaurant were in Los Angeles or San Francisco there would be a line a block long to get in. Aside from the creative and savorous dishes, the service is friendly and knowledgeable in both what they offer food-wise as well as in their wine suggestions. Lastly, the prices are most reasonable. I will make a point of stopping in again next time I'm in Paris.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mondotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fantastic Southwest French food”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

One of the best meals I have ever had in Paris, maybe in the world! This place is small, but very efficient. The staff were very friendly and the food is excellent! Every thing is fresh and prepared very well. I highly recommend this place. You will need a reservation.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CDB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cerisaie also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
 

Been to La Cerisaie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing