We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Appalling service, mediocre food”

La Fermette Marbeuf
Ranked #2,205 of 18,488 Restaurants in Paris
Cuisines: French, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Champs-Élysées
Description: La Fermette Marbeuf 1900 restaurant in Paris just a few steps from the Avenue George V and the Champs-Elysees is also the shortest route into Belle Epoque Paris of a century ago. This jewel of a restaurant, dating from 1898, was rediscovered in the course of renovation thirty years ago and it must have been like opening King Tut's tomb. There are wonderful things here: Art Nouveau mosaic and stained glass sunflowers, peacocks, dragonflies, beautiful women, cast iron pillars, and a soaring glass ceiling. Chef Gilbert Isaac mainly sticks to French classic dishes, like chicken liver pate with onion marmalade, whole grilled seabass flamed in anise, and rhum babas. This is a hotspot for celebrity France to see and be seen.
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I chose this restaurant to celebrate my birthday in Paris on 23May as I was really drawn by the art deco setting. However the whole dinner turned out to be the worst experience part of my Paris holiday.

Firstly i called in twice to make the reservations, yet my reservation was screwed up. I had reserved for a table of 4, yet only a table of 2 was registered.

When we were finally ushered to our table, this male waiter came along and hurried us twice to make the food order even when we told him we weren't ready. The waiter who served us was absolutely snotty, with the most condescending attitude i have ever come across. He literally rolled his eyes when we just ordered the tasting platter and was terribly rude and assuming. We were so appalled with the level of service that we did not bother to proceed with the wine order as we just wanted to get out of the restaurant - fast.

To top it off, as we were seated at the back nearest to this back door, the same waiter came along and insisted on opening the backdoor to let cool air in, at the expense of freezing us (im surprised the establishment does not have air conditioning?) . He obviously had not bothered to consult us and the guests seated nearby if we were feeling cold. Mind you it was 15degrees outside.

The worst, shocking experience i had and it had to happen on my birthday.

PS : I have a photo of this male waiter and i am willing to forward it over if necessary.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank Jolique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clients S, Responsable relations clients at La Fermette Marbeuf, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Guest,

many thanks for sharing your review about La Fermette Marbeuf. We're truly appalled and surprised by your comment. The lack of service you experienced is truly not our house standards. Our waiters are acknowledged for their kindness and helpfullness.

Our Director would like to discuss this recent meal with you. We will be very much obliged if you could give us your phone number and the best moment to reach you.

Kind regards,

Chloé P.
Customer Relations Manager
chloe[a]blanc.net

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

253 - 257 of 1,189 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

I love the place , that is an old small underground station . Food was good and drink too . fortunately we didnt wait so long , as we were a big group so they were waiting for us to be seated . I personally didnt pay but I guess it was quite expensive due to the kind of restaurant and the location .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clients S, Responsable relations clients at La Fermette Marbeuf, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Anita,

thanks for sharing your review about La Fermette Marbeuf. We're glad you enjoyed our Belle Epoque atmosphere and traditional French cookery!

We hope to welcome you again someday.

Kind regards,

Chloé P.
Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Paris has its fair share of poor restaurants normally full of tourists hoping but failing to secure the French culinary experience. La Fermette Marbeuf is the real thing - the restaurant was full for a Tuesday evening mainly with French clientele. The food was good and the portions fairly big for French standards. This is not haute cuisine but tasty and authentic food in a very pleasant setting.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SPJ1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clients S, Responsable relations clients at La Fermette Marbeuf, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Guest,

many thanks for sharing your review about La Fermette Marbeuf. We're glad you had a great time among us and enjoyed our cuisine. We hope to welcome you again someday.

Kind regards

Chloé P.
Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

How this place has received mixed reviews is completely beyond me. Everything was perfect from the service to the ambiance to the food. If you want to sit in the back room here is a tip - ask to do so when you make a booking! The restaurant was full at 8pm with a mixture of Parisians celebrating as well as tourists - which is early for the continent, and bears testament to La Fermette's wide appeal. I never got the feeling the staff were babysitting tourists, they spoke English when needed, but were pleased to muddle through with schoolboy French if that it what you preferred. The 5 course degustation was amazing, and for 50 Euros you can spend a great deal more on a meal like this in Paris. Forget the haters, soak up the atmosphere in this Art Deco masterpiece. We were there for a 60th birthday, and they even brought an extra dessert with a sparkler in it with a low key French rendition of Happy Birthday. It was practically perfect, and left Mum literally skipping down the Champs Elysee.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clients S, Responsable relations clients at La Fermette Marbeuf, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Ben,

many thanks for sharing your review about La Fermette Marbeuf. We're happy we made your mother's birthday a special moment! Glad also to read your enjoyed our cookery and our restaurant atmosphere! We hope to welcome you again someday.

Kind regards,

Chloé P.
Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

If you think to visit Paris you have to go here. You will eat traditional french food in a glamour restaurant. You can choose between fresh fish,
succulent meat and fantastic desserts (for example crepes suzette).
Service very friendly.

Thank Campinense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clients S, Responsable relations clients at La Fermette Marbeuf, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Guest,

many thanks for sharing your kind and lovely review about La Fermette Marbeuf. We're glad you enjoyed our restaurant's atmosphere and its cooking! We hope to welcome you again someday.

Kind regards,

Chloé P.
Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Fermette Marbeuf also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to La Fermette Marbeuf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing