We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location, good food, slow service and it's next to d'Orsay.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Fregate

La Fregate
Reserve with
La Fregate is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #799 of 16,717 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$32 - US$54
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Bar Scene, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
63 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Convenient location, good food, slow service and it's next to d'Orsay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Well...a prior reviewer wrote that wait staff giggled at them. Our waiter did not. In fact my professional restaurant critic wife questioned him on our order, thinking she had not been given the exact dish ordered, and he very patiently explained how this particular duck dish is prepared in France and it was a reasonable enough explanation. IOW he was polite and very helpful. We had a very tasty escargot prepared just right; the Blanchette de Veau (veal in cream sauce); and the time honored Crocque Monsieur for our teenager. I would rate lunch at this place a solid B for a cafe right next to a major museum (Musee D'Orsay). Yeah, a lot of tourists but we ate with a number of French citizens as well. Elsewhere in Paris the place could be 2-star mainly for the sloooow service. It's a lovely place inside, we got stuck in a back room b/c it was little late or lunch. Our bad, not theirs.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dfoote13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    211
    62
    30
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, food, service and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

This was our first experience of dining in Paris and being so close to attractions such as the Louvre and Musee d'Orsay we expected a tourist experience: not so. The food downstairs was excellent and, if you arrive early for dinner, had some great cheap two and three-course options. Standard French dishes such as onion soup and creme brulee were perfect, as well as several other options we tried over three dinner experiences here. Being on the corner of two main thoroughfares on the left bank was a bonus as we could dine and watch the passing parade of Parisians and tourists. We didn't need to look anywhere else for dinner dining.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MoesArt2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
954 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 391 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

There are 2 options at this restaurant - casual cafe dining or restaurant. We chose the restaurant dining and the food was delicious. Service was great, attentive, prices were reasonable, and location is great opposite the Louvre.

Would eat here again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank KylieIsTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
91 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice relaxing meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Not a cheap find. Great location in St Germain, across the bridge from the Louvre and a couple of blocks from Musee D'orsay. Tasty food. Fine Dining. Good Service. Loved every dish.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, rude service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This restaurant could be lovely: great location (at the Quai Voltaire), cosy atmosphere and a menu of good options.

But the service is so rude that it is impossible to leave the restaurant with a positive impression.

I've been to this place in June 2014. We were walking along the Quai in the evening and looking for a place to have a light meal. We arrived at La Fregate and had a seat outside, but the streets were noisy (it was World Cup and Algeria team had won that day); there were lots of car horning outside and we asked to move inside. Always speaking in French.

The waiter - his name was Damian - looked at us with hate in his eyes and for a moment we thought he would just say no - even though there were several free tables inside the restaurant.

Then we ordered our options and the waiter didn't make a sign of kindness to us. We were clearly disturbing him. To be honest, we thought twice before ordering our second desert wandering what would be his reaction. We asked for a tea, but couldn't understand what was one specific flavor he mentioned: he refused to explain.

When we asked the bill, we couldn't decide if we should tip him or not. We did. This was the only moment when the rude waiter demonstrated any sign of good education.

We left feeling that it was such a shame that this cosy place had such a horrible service. All we wanted was politeness and all we got was discourtesy.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank keilaguimaraes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Fregate also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to La Fregate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing