We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Maree

La Maree
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
La Maree is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #697 of 16,870 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: US$32 - US$87
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Paris, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

I went to dinner with my husband and a business colleague. The service was exceptional! The waitstaff was very accommodating and spoke English to us, even though everyone spoke French at our table. The food was very good, we had the sea bass for two, it was displayed amazingly, and delicious. I had the foie gras for a starter and was very pleased. It was very pleasant and enjoyable experience and the atmosphere was great.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maddenkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    291
    94
    40
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“great food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

We went there for Christmas Eve, having pre-booked. We were met by Stephanie who was very friendly and confirmed our booking. We had chosen the Christmas menu at €89 each.This included a glass of Bolinger champagne each, and a bottle of wine between two - we chose one red and one white. The red was a 2007 Chateau Fourazade, Saint Emilion Grand Cru.
The first course was a delicious salmon tartare appetiser [which is not as slimy as you think]. This was followed by langoustine ravioli, also very tasty. For my main course I decided to be adventurous and tried deer. It was a great choice, the meat was very tender and the sauce really complimented it. My kids had the scallops and a bite confirmed that was as delicious as my own dish. The cheese course followed, and it ended with a chocolate mousse pudding with a gingerbread biscuit base.
Now for the service - excellent throughout. It was attentive without being obtrusive, water was always topped up and empty plates were cleared away - not so quickly that you would think they were in a hurry - juts great timing. Very polite, and were happy to acquiesce to my daughter's request for blue cheese which was not on the original cheese board.The waiting staff were all smartly dressed and guess what, they were all French! There wasn't a single thing that I could find fault with the service. Impeccable!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phitos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not worth to visit again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

We were here in 2012. And we are the visitor in there. As a Chinese couple, I actually can't read the French menu, and they don't have a English version. The manger came to us and try his best to explain every single details to gst is a perfect dinner. Service is beyond great. And food is good too. So in 2013 dec, we decide to go there again, it seems the ppl that work there in 2012 is no more working there. I tired to ask the manager some question but his look is like he's talking to some stupid. Any how, no one ever try to talk to is about the menu or even ask us is there any question about the menu. Food is not that good compare to before. But I'll say is still okay. As for service, a normal food court has better service than the night I went. Sorry, I wouldn't recommend the restaurant.

Helpful?
2 Thank EllaL533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
243 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Delightful dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

We were in Paris for just one night and wanted to go to a seafood restaurant with some friends who didn't want anything pretentious, where we would have to over dress and think of where to put our elbows. We just wanted a nice relaxing dinner in a truly Parisian establishment, somewhere close to the hotel where they were staying. This was our choice. I found it through a comparison of various websites and mostly the reviews were to my satisfaction. We were seated in the upstairs area, and I spoke whatever French I remembered (usually more after a couple of drinks) and ordered our food. We shared appetizers and had baked fresh sea bass if I am not mistaken. Overall the dinner was lovely, the atmosphere was nice, the food was splendid, and it was exactly what we wanted this occasion to be. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vonkhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
111 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Lovely comforting seafood restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Nestling in a very chic Art Nouveau building designed by Labro in the 8th district. FIlled with locals from the neighborhood, this restaurant, recently taken over by passionate gastronome Pascal Mousset, offers a seafood-based menu which changes according to the rhythm of the seasons and the flavours of the moment. The bouillabaise c'est magnifique! The wine list is one of the restaurant's key assets. There were a few odd notes, like rather inexpensive flatware but it didn't interfere with the enjoyment of my meal.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank duckleader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Maree also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to La Maree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing