We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh seafood”
Review of Leon de Bruxelles

Leon de Bruxelles
Ranked #1,652 of 17,155 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: US$22 - US$25
Cuisines: Belgian, French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
545 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 455 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Leon de Bruxelles is famous for its seafood and our party of four ordered mussels, fish and salad.
All our dishes came with frites done to perfection. We skipped dessert as we were quite full and had some excellent coffee to complete a very nice meal .

Prices were reasonable too. Service was polite and efficient. Ambience so-so.

I would go here again if I was in the mood for fresh, high quality seafood.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roshni2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    241
    112
    52
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“It is a chain... but I like it!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Leon de Bruxelles! Les moules!

Originally a Brussels institution... Then they went large with many branches in Europe... And quite a few in Paris!

I'm staying not far from Montparnasse, and fancied a straight forward dinner, there was a lively "chez Leon" on the Boulevard Montparnasse!

The welcoming was fast and polite, the menu offers many alternatives.... "Les Menus" are a mussels plus a dessert... I went for a la carte:

1- Fried calamari: very good, soft, not rings, they were lovely! Too tender, I wonder if they are "reconstituted". I enjoyed it!

2- Pelfort Beer with the starter, was not as cold as I would like too... Small glass 300cl

3- Main course: Cocotte de moules mariners, I'm a purist: just white wine, salt and pepper... Nice some tiny many of a decent size!

Very good for the price muscadet white wine: 1/4 litter for €5!!! This was nice and chilled!

Nice detail: when I had only 2 fries left in the bowl, the server brought a fresh portion for free!

It is a good venue for a solo traveller, as it is busy and quirky, you don't feel weird! 8/10!!!!

Last minute tip: as you are left only with the juice (broth?) tip your fries bowl on the juice and grab a spoon and fish the soggy fries! They are delicious! Also the waiter will see your bowl is empty and will hurry with a fresh bowl of fries!!!

If you still have room: I did not! The old fashion ice-cream coupes looked nice!

Total for a solo dinner, starter, beer, main course, quarter of wine and a coffee for €34.70 ... €38 with the tip!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tzingote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
444 reviews
307 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“An OK Food, Average & Fairly Priced”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The place is OK, but not more. Average food, average service, nothing memorable. The focus of the menu is mostly on mussels and beer. Quite cheap, but not especially interesting. You might as well avoid it or go there for a quick snack.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amk2f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camaiore, Italy
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A nice, quick eatery.”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The first thing I thought when I entered, was that it was the closest thing to a Denny's I'd seen in the past five years I've lived in Europe. Obviously, it's not the highest quality food, but it's not trying to be. It's a place where you can get a quick bite to eat or a coffee and have various- decently priced options.
It isn't necessarily the most authentic experience, but it's convenient.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ggmusicista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always a good outlet for late dinners”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Been here since i was a student a decade ago.
Multiple chains in paris and well known for their mussels!
No complains! still the same all these while!
Comes with unlimited fries. Good place for people who likes mussels or seafood.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chef_John_Saw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Leon de Bruxelles also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Leon de Bruxelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing