We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty meal”
Review of Lao Tseu

Lao Tseu
Ranked #2,276 of 16,971 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Tiburon, CA
Level Contributor
178 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 533 helpful votes
“Tasty meal”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Excellent pepper beef, and decent five flavor duck. It's hard to find good Chinese food in some countries, so Lao Tseu was a welcome find.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank toolworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    54
    22
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“One of the best Chinese restaurants in Paris”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

If you're in the 7th "arrondissement" (or anywhere else in Paris, for that matter) and you have a sudden craving for Chinese food, this is a destination that can't be beat. Yes, there are fancier Chinese restaurants in Paris, but the only difference will be their higher price. Lao Tseu's small dining rooms are modern but very comfortable and warm, as well as spotless. The menu has something for everyone, and the food is creative and delicious. The owner is a doll, and his staff are all incredibly friendly. The portions are somewhat smallish, so you'll need an appetizer and a main course, with a side of rice or noodles, to feel full, but that's not unusual for Paris. Reservations are helpful, as this place is usually full between 8:00 and 9:30 pm. And, one other thing: My wife and I usually dine once each week, and we have always noticed that at least half of the customers are tourists, yet they are treated as well as the "regulars" and always seem to be enjoying themselves.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NYC_Expat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Half Moon Bay, California, United States
1 review
“Really Quite Good”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We've been "living" in the 7th for over ten years, a month here, a month there, and we love knowing that Lao Tseu is there for the times we're looking for high quality, fresh, light, and flavorful Chinese fare. As others have mentioned, there are times when you need a break from even the best French fare, and this is the place to do just that. We're from San Francisco and have been spoiled on the huge variety of Asian food, and I'll say that Lao Tseu holds its own with the best of them.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best Chinese dish ever”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Chicken in a Skillet comes sizzling in a hot pot full of stew-like browned chicken goodness. Restaurants open at 7pm while the brasseries and bistros are open most of the day. You won't regret trying a little Lao Tseu while in Paris.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bernie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Aussies from Newcastle NSW”
Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

After a long walk trying to find a chinese restaurant that we liked the look of we ended up just down the road from our awesome hotel st germaine at Lao Tseu. We have great chinese in Oz and this food was easily up there with the best, we recommend this to anyone wanting quality aisan food, good prices for us anyway as our exchange rate to the euro has been strong.

Helpful?
Thank michael w
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers who viewed Lao Tseu also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Lao Tseu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing