We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty spicy Chinese food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lao Tseu

Lao Tseu
Ranked #2,155 of 16,717 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Elk Grove, CA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Tasty spicy Chinese food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

After 2 weeks in France, I was craving spicy food & it had been raining all day & really wanted soup. I was so excited to see this Chinese restaurant, which was very elegant & the food was wonderful!
The hot & sour soup was one of the best I've ever had & the spicy scallops were also delicious.
If in Paris again, in the St Germain area, I will definitely try to eat here!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    53
    22
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tiburon, CA
Level Contributor
178 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 531 helpful votes
“Tasty meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Excellent pepper beef, and decent five flavor duck. It's hard to find good Chinese food in some countries, so Lao Tseu was a welcome find.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank toolworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“One of the best Chinese restaurants in Paris”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

If you're in the 7th "arrondissement" (or anywhere else in Paris, for that matter) and you have a sudden craving for Chinese food, this is a destination that can't be beat. Yes, there are fancier Chinese restaurants in Paris, but the only difference will be their higher price. Lao Tseu's small dining rooms are modern but very comfortable and warm, as well as spotless. The menu has something for everyone, and the food is creative and delicious. The owner is a doll, and his staff are all incredibly friendly. The portions are somewhat smallish, so you'll need an appetizer and a main course, with a side of rice or noodles, to feel full, but that's not unusual for Paris. Reservations are helpful, as this place is usually full between 8:00 and 9:30 pm. And, one other thing: My wife and I usually dine once each week, and we have always noticed that at least half of the customers are tourists, yet they are treated as well as the "regulars" and always seem to be enjoying themselves.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NYC_Expat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Half Moon Bay, California, United States
1 review
“Really Quite Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We've been "living" in the 7th for over ten years, a month here, a month there, and we love knowing that Lao Tseu is there for the times we're looking for high quality, fresh, light, and flavorful Chinese fare. As others have mentioned, there are times when you need a break from even the best French fare, and this is the place to do just that. We're from San Francisco and have been spoiled on the huge variety of Asian food, and I'll say that Lao Tseu holds its own with the best of them.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best Chinese dish ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Chicken in a Skillet comes sizzling in a hot pot full of stew-like browned chicken goodness. Restaurants open at 7pm while the brasseries and bistros are open most of the day. You won't regret trying a little Lao Tseu while in Paris.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bernie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lao Tseu also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Lao Tseu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing