We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food”
Review of Lao Tseu

Lao Tseu
Ranked #2,195 of 17,020 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Lovely food in a small restaurant with a good atmosphere. Clean restaurant with friendly staff.
Vegetarian options available. Only negative was very small portions, we ordered extra food once our dinner had turned up just so we had enough food!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gemma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    56
    22
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
548 reviews
335 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Average Chinese Food”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Tried this place since it was close to our hotel. It was convenient after a long day of walking Paris. The food was good, but overly priced and very small portions for what we ordered, but that's Paris for you. We had spicy beef, chicken, fried rice and wine. Would have tried eating outside but the weather didn't permit it. If you're hankering for Chinese food in the Latin Quarter you might want to check it out knowing up front that it's a little pricey for what you get.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very nice out door sitting”
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

First night in paris early october, light supper in well protected out door cafe with cloth napkins table cloths. Had the chicken curry and beef with onions. enjoyed both very much, nicely spiced for a cooler evening. Servings were a bit small for,price but all we were looking for. Red house wine by glass light an pleasant glass seemed small again but reasonably priced at 5.5 euros.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove, CA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Tasty spicy Chinese food!”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

After 2 weeks in France, I was craving spicy food & it had been raining all day & really wanted soup. I was so excited to see this Chinese restaurant, which was very elegant & the food was wonderful!
The hot & sour soup was one of the best I've ever had & the spicy scallops were also delicious.
If in Paris again, in the St Germain area, I will definitely try to eat here!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiburon, CA
Level Contributor
180 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 533 helpful votes
“Tasty meal”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Excellent pepper beef, and decent five flavor duck. It's hard to find good Chinese food in some countries, so Lao Tseu was a welcome find.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank toolworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lao Tseu also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Lao Tseu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing