We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for French food around here”
Review of Le Berthoud

Le Berthoud
Reserve with
Save up to 40% when you reserve online *
Le Berthoud is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3,199 of 17,155 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Quartier Latin
Paris, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent value for French food around here”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

I have eaten here half a dozen times in three years. Compared to the many eateries around, this is the best value, even though it might not be as packed as other places. It is also the best place for having a conversation, and for a traditional parisian restaurant decor and layout: this was a well-known restaurant which fell into disfavor over the decades, and was finally bought and resurrected by a young chef a few years ago.

The food is usually an excellent value, the wine somewhat less. The menu is small, and has not budged in years. If you just experiment with French food, be careful to know what you order. The lamb shank and the boeuf fondant seem to agree with many people. As dessert I recommend the passion fruit with icecream.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank uburex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    59
    13
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We happened across this restaurant as we wandered from Notre Dame to the Pantheon and decided to give it a chance. The atmosphere is actually quite nice and feels fairly homey and inviting. The food on the other hand was by and large disappointing. I just noticed a prior review describing the steak au poivre as almost inedible and I would go one step further... I literally could not cut through the steak sufficiently to even attempt to eat it and what few pieces I could manage reminded me of how difficult it had been to cut through it. Fortunately, I was more shocked than disappointed at that point. As a starter, I had the mushroom Casollette, which was half cold and half warm and needing a dash of salt, though showing some promise. Credit where credit is due, the pots de creme was delicious. On one hand a nice way to end the meal, but too little too late. Perhaps I ordered the wrong things and a different selection would result in a different impression, but that was among the worst meals I've had recently... and when the goal is to have French food in Paris, there are surely plenty of other options.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank QuantumPeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent food; Good service, relatively expensive wine”
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We ate there when our favourite restaurant was closed. The food was fresh, beautifully cooked and excellent value for money although there was a lack of vegetables which is often the case in French restaurants. Lovely atmosphere and lots of French people eating there. The wine was very average, however, and expensive.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
54 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food in a great location”
Reviewed 13 February 2013

I went here on a Sunday evening so it was pretty quiet, but we enjoyed a delicious meal with charming service. Hughly recommended if you're looking for a classic French bistro that's not over-priced and is in a great location.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellente!!!”
Reviewed 12 January 2013

I visited on a recommendation of a colleague whilst working in Paris. Took a little while find, but well worth it!! I had the Boeuf fondant, which was cooked beautifully!! Great little Bistro, very unique with bags of French style. Highly recommended!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Iain L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Berthoud also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Boulogne-Billancourt, Hauts-de-Seine
 

Been to Le Berthoud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing